We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Family run property in the centre of Milan!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 22 Marzo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added 22 Marzo Hotel to your Saves list
22 Marzo Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santa Maria del Suffragio 3 | Angolo Bonvesin de la Riva, 1, 20129 Milan, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #27 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Mosta, Malta
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Family run property in the centre of Milan!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Having just come back from a 5 night stay at the 22 Marzo hotel, I can safely say that they exceeded all our expectations. Michele and his family run this property perfectly. Their hospitality and friendliness is certainly something one cannot put a price tag on. Having arrived a few minutes before the room was ready, Michele treated me and my two travelling buddies to an espresso and a bottle of water. He also gave us a map, and told us how to get around with the local transport etc. There's a bus stop in the square just outside the hotel. Buses run every 4-5 mins all day till late. It takes about 10 mins to get the Duomo by bus, or a 20 min walk. We opted for the latter choice most of the time as its a pleasant stroll, there are plenty of shops along the way, and its a great way to people watch. If you're visiting to watch a football game, it takes about 45 mins, by public transport, to get to San Siro. The staff at the hotel will tell you how to get there.

The room was spacious, and it came with an en suite bathroom. Rooms were cleaned everyday, and towels changed too. WIFI in the room never let us down, and the AC was a godsend. An elevator is also available.

Breakfast was a pleasant surprise too! Normal, affordable, hotels in Italy usually have a limited selection of items on the buffet. This 2 star property however has 4 different types of cereal, 3 different types of croissants ( or brioche as the Italians refer to them), 2 different pastries (usually a jam tart and a pain au raisin), a nice selection of bread, as well as cheese and ham. Creamy cheese was also available, nutella and other jams, as was a toaster and a microwave. There was a juice dispenser with orange and multivitamin, and 2 other juices in their carton pack. It is a small dining area, but this never proved to be an issue for us, as a table was always readily availble.

A number of restaurants are also in the vicinity of the hotel. A Mc Donalds outlet is a 2 min walk from the hotel, but a 10 min walk away is another family run trattoria which Michele recommended. This restaurant has a special lunch & dinner set-menu, available only for the guests staying at the hotel. The dinner one is priced at €15, consisting of a choice of 3 different pasta as a starter ( a substantial portion), and for mains, its either meat or fish, with a side order of potatoes ( heavenly) or vegetables. Ice-cream was always served to us as dessert, with coffee and liquors after that. The liquor bottle, ice-cold, was always left on our table to help ourselves.

Michele also arranged to have a taxi pick us up on the day we checked out. We simply cannot thank these people enough for their superb hospitality, and we will certainly opt to stay here the next time we're in Milan. Grazie Mille!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    112
    31
    9
    4
See reviews for
47
92
38
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I looked for an affordable hotel close to the city center of Milan, and was pleasantly surprised by the 22 Marzo Hotel! It is clean, well-kept, and close to the tram stop. The best feature, though, is the helpfulness of the owner/manager. He could not have been more accommodating - he answered every question we had and even walked us to the corner to show us where to get the tram ticket. I definitely recommend this hotel as an alternative to bigger and more expensive places...it's great!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

In 2008 I had the most marvelous experience at the Hotel 22 Marzo on a tour of Europe. I stayed briefly at the hotel in Milan on my way from Chambery to Florence. The owner was so kind, that he found me a bottle of white Milanese wine for the next leg of my journey, out of the goodness of his heart!

The rooms were comfortable, clean and the hotel is very well maintained, providing breakfast in the morning. I give it a 5 star rating, as an off-the-beaten-path, hidden GEM!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Only stayed for 2 nights but the service we had was fantastic.All our questions had been answered.we got a bottle of wine. The room was queit big for us. they changed the towels. It is not far away from the citycenter. Absolutely worth's its price.Recommend it everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and 4 days and are pleased overall with our experience. The breakfasts were plentiful and included an array breads, cereals and and condiments to choose from. The hotel owners were friendly and were very willing to give directions/assist us in any way possible. The only downside was that on our arrival, even though we booked a room with twin beds, we were told that this was no longer available and that we had to share a double bed. Not pleased to say the least. But the next day all was amended as the manager personally apologised for the mishap and upgraded us to a bigger twin room. I would recommend this hotel, but be aware you get what you pay for as it is budget.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The location is fairly easy to get to from Milano Centrale with the bus stop located in the square directly in front of the hotel. The service here was immaculate, the staff lovely. They allowed us to check in early, fed us a complementary breakfast on that first day and were very helpful throughout. They also were super nice about my grabbing a croissant or two after breakfast was finished- I'm not much of an early riser!!

Overall this hotel was a great value and I would totally stay here again, the rooms have no frills but for a 2 star hotel this is to be expected. Location wise, using the public transport in Milan is a must, otherwise its a fairly long walk to the main sights.

Thanks again for a great stay and for the bottle of wine at checkout!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights in the hotel and had a very good time. The rooms are relatively small and simple, but very clean with good room/cleaning service everyday. The breakfast offers everything you need and they make wonderful cappuccinos etc for you!
Everything they don't have compared to a three or four star hotel they totally compensate by their super nice service! The staff is extremely friendly, helpful, service-oriented and make you feel welcome from the very first minute. Perfect hotel for a weekend get-away if you are travelling on limited budget!
From Malpensa Airport take the Malpensa Express (30min; 11 Eur) to Cardorna and from there take the tram (#27) or a taxi (approx. 9 Eur). Enjoy la dolce vita!;)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to 22 Marzo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 22 Marzo Hotel

Address: Piazza Santa Maria del Suffragio 3 | Angolo Bonvesin de la Riva, 1, 20129 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Milan
#41 Best Value Hotel in Milan
#46 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#55 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — 22 Marzo Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 22 Marzo is situated in a top and strategic location, in one of the beautiful street of Milan, full of shops, stores, and public gardens. This excellent position, optimally served by bus, tram and subway ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 22 Marzo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 22 Marzo
22 Marzo Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 22 Marzo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.