We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atena Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Atena Hotel to your Saves list
Atena Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Piave 5, 20129 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #273 of 432 Hotels in Milan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

There is nothing about this hotel that screams amazing but then again that's not what it's trying to do this hotel delivers on what is expected of it it's clean comfortable and in a relatively good location with plenty of public transport around to get you around. The staff were friendly and let us have a late check out which was good as we were in no rush to be moving on.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    24
    22
    13
    5
See reviews for
9
21
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

For the price we paid (€49), you can't expect much. The staff are half asleep all the time, there were three different staff within the space of one night (one on at a time). They are not helpful at all. We ordered a taxi for 8am and we were downstairs at 7.55am but the taxi was already at €8. Our room was close to reception, it was at times noisy when the receptionist was talking on the phone.

Loud noises throughout the night and early in the morning, other customers I think, also reception.

As for the rooms, small bathroom, small room with tv (no English channels) two single beds pushed together for a double and a balcony. There is an odd smell when you walk into the room and an even worse smell in the bathroom. Stains on the bed covers.

Good location, ten minute walk to Duomo and to a big shopping street. Have to buzz reception on the intercom, go through two giant doors and upstairs to the second floor.

Good place if you just want a cheap place to sleep.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Booked this as our final stop in Italy. Confirmed air conditioning and got none.
No screens either...bug city. The location was just a bummer...the 24 hour desk staff was very nice and that was good. Everything else listed as amenities was really terrible.

Room Tip: get your money back when you roast in your room and leave with dozens of bug bites from the windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

very nice hotel for 2-3 night stay. Clean rooms, balcony, normal breakfast (not a big choice so but good if you stay 3 days there). Location is reasonable, by foot 20min to Duomo. Don't expect 5* hotel if you pay 50 euros! Very good hotel for 2 star quality. Will stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treviso, Italia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We took advantage of a very cheap offer (45 euros for a night). The hotel is in a very good location, near Palestro metro stop and Corso Venezia, but of course nothing special. You get whay you pay: tiny rooms, a tiny bathroom, yet everything was ok except for a few hair in the blankets. Staff is friendly but talks loud during the morning and you can hear it from the room. Continental breakfast is enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is pretty far from Milano Centrale. However, instead of taking a taxi or the metro (like we did), take the tram that stops right outside the station. It takes you a block away from the hotel. Which brings me to the location. It is excellent for seeing the center of the city. It's about 5-7 blocks from a street that takes you right through the center of Milan. We easily walked there and back. There is a supermarket two blocks away, which was nice.

When we first arrived, the reception-guy was very nice. He was accommodating and helpful with our questions. However, the second day there was a less-than-helpful guy. He almost mocked us when we couldn't open our room door (granted, it was silly, but he was very rude about it) and wasn't helpful in regards to our questions. I didn't catch names, but he looked younger with lighter hair than the main reception-guy.

Our room was literally 10 feet from reception, which was convenient but a little noisy at times. Our room was fairly clean. A big problem was the wifi, which was very spotty. I would have expected better wifi service for a room so close to reception.

Overall, for 106€ for two nights and very close to the center of Milan this was a great choice. They could improve on a few things but overall I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Doesn't cost much, so don't expect too much. Beds were comfortable, sheets and towels clean and (most important to me) the location was great. Staff could be nicer though (a smile goes a long way), bathroom could be free of mold and install some new shower doors. Breakfast is mediocre, but gets you through the morning. Decent, very decent hotel, especially price/quality wise so close to the center of the city (15 - 20 min walk to the Duomo).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atena Hotel

Address: Viale Piave 5, 20129 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #273 of 432 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Atena Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Atena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atena Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.