We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful boutique-like hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Town House 31

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Town House 31 to your Saves list
Town House 31
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Goldoni, 31, 20129 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful boutique-like hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Very nice premises with a cheerful breakfast area and a perfectly comfortable outdoor area, rooms are very clean and comfortable.
Location is not very close to the center, 15 mins walking to Duomo/San Babila. But still it's a nice quite area, we randomly stopped at an impeccable restaurant called Valentini just a couple of blocks away from the hotel.
Staff was very helpful and kind, starting by the reception girls when they managed to reserve everywhere we wanted and the waiters serving us in the morning for breakfast. Yeah the breakfast was amazing with it's cheerfully decorated long high-dining table, liked the concept of having breakfast all together on the same table :))

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Town House 31, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Madame/Sir,
we would really like to thank you very much for the review that you have left. We are pleased to read any suggestion in order how to satisfy our Guests. We hope to see you again in the near future and to welcome you in our Unique Home in Milan. Head of PR TownHouse Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    43
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
10
38
11
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Townhouse 31 is a great Hotel in a terrific part of Milan. We stayed for 10 nights and were treated just like family. There attention to detail and customer satisfaction on a scale of 1-10 for us was a 10. Always willing to help with directions, travel information, and restaurant recommendations. There breakfast at the Hotel is not to be missed from the table set up, to the quality of food, the excellent service, and the company from all over the World. A special note that Alvin , Paola, Daniella, Bernard, and the entire staff are to be commended. They truly understand whatcustomer service is all about and are always willing to help, serve, and make your stay truly enjoyable.

Room Tip: We loved the superior deluxe Rooney with the balcony overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Town House 31, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Madame/Sir,
we would really like to thank you very much for the review that you have left. We are very happy about the quality that we were able to offer you. We are pleased to read any suggestion in order how to satisfy our Guests. We hope to see you again in the near future and to welcome you in our Unique Home in Milan. Head of PR TownHouse Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here the beginning of June for 5 nights. We had what I would call a mini-suite that was comfortable and clean and the staff was very accommodating. Breakfasts are fresh and ample and a good way to meet people from all over the world. The decor is modern and cleverly done and there are two outdoor areas that are for the use of guests as well. There are many excellent restaurants in the area and public transportation is around the corner. You can walk to the center in about 30 minutes.

We really enjoyed being able to return to a quiet neighborhood of Milan after a busy day.

Room Tip: Room prices seem to be based on availability, so book early for the best prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Town House 31, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind commnet, we hope to have you again in this home in Milan. Warm regards, Head of PR Town House Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed for four nights at Townhouse 31, which is located on a quiet street on the eastern side of the Milan city centre, about a 25 minute walk to the central square. The hotel is small and has rooms spread across a couple of old townhouses, most of them with a view on a central courtyard. The first room we were given was rather small, but had a balcony. Since the weather was not so nice, we asked the reception for another larger room, which we received on the second day. Staff is friendly and helpful, although very young and not always with a professional touch. Breakfast is buffet-like, and served on a very large table, where you can join other guests, or more privately at a few lounge seats in the same room.

The hotel is suitable for a romantic or shopping trip for a couple of nights. The location is somewhat off the centre of Milan, but access to public transport is within a 10 minute walk. Townhouse 31 belongs to the Small Luxury Hotel Group, but we believe is it somewhat below the average standard of this group. On the other hand: prices are also moderate.

Room Tip: Upper rooms have more space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Town House 31, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Madame/Sir,
we would really like to thank you very much for the review that you have left. We are very happy about the quality that we were able to offer you. We are pleased to read any suggestion in order how to satisfy our Guests. Head of PR TownHouse Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We have spent one night here on a weekend trip. Good service, friendly staff, clean and beautiful rooms and a quiet and nice neighbourhood.

I have not checked out all the options in Milan but this hotel does not require me to do so: I will simply stay again here next time because it was just fine.

A recommendation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Town House 31, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind commnet, we hope to have you again in this home in Milan. Warm regards, Head of PR Town House Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

There are pros and cons about this place and I would like to do justice to their customer service before and during our 5 day stay!
The customer service was excellent, except when it came to the size of our room!
I mentioned to the person at the desk that we had a tiny room for 2, when my cousin, who also had a room on the same floor and was travelling alone, had a much larger room and bathroom. She looked at me with a blank look on her face and asked me if I wanted to swap rooms with my cousin. I found this to be a ridiculous offer and declined.
So we spent 5 days in the tiny room, with a bathroom so small that the door only opened halfway up to the basin. The bathroom had a strange musty smell and there was no shower shelf to store our toiletries.
The room I requested was to be non-smoking but there was an ashtray on the veranda and a cigarette butt on the ground, which stayed there for our entire stay.
There is a lift, which we only used when we transported our luggage, as it was too small and slow. Our room was on the first floor.
The other problem we had was with the noise from other guests on our floor. The floor is wooden and the doors to the rooms are very close together. We were awoken several times, when people arrived late from their outings and didn’t respect that there were people asleep!
Breakfast was either at the high communal table and stools or on low tables and couches.
Breakfast food was very fresh; simple but satisfying and the coffee was excellent.
The hotel is decorated in a Balinese style and there is a lovely courtyard, which unfortunately we couldn’t use, due to the wet weather.
The hotel isn’t that close to the centre of Milan. We still managed to walk to town. When we ordered a taxi to pick us up from the hotel it cost twice as much, as they start charging from when you book. It was cheaper when we took the taxi in town to go to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Town House 31, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Sirs, We apologize yet again for the outcome of your stay in our Home. Hoping to see you back in the hotel to try out the structure next door. Head of PR TownHouse Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Townhouse 31 is a charming little hotel just a 15 min walk to Dumo. If you like steering away from big corporate impersonal hotels then this is an excellent choice at a reasonable price. The hotel is quite and intimate, rooms boast high ceilings, marble bathrooms and some have balconies overlooking the garden. Sadly it was too cold to enjoy the garden, but the hotel served as a great base after long days/nights trotting around town. Overall very good . If you are looking for a swanky hotel bar and restaurant, then this probably isn't the hotel for you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Town House 31, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Madame/Sir, we would really like to thank you very much for the review that you have left. We hope to see you again in the near future in this Unique Home in Milan. Head of PR TownHouse Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Town House 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town House 31

Address: Via Goldoni, 31, 20129 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Town House 31 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownHouse 31 is a charming 4-star boutique hotel located in small elegant 19th century palace next to TownHouse 33. Recreating a home like atmosphere, the tranquil palm garden and the contemporary-ethnic style Classic rooms ensure an intimate hideaway from the hustle and bustle of the metropolitan city of fashion and design. Located in a residential area of one of the most affluent neighborhoods in Milan, TownHouse31 is within walking distance from the world renowned showrooms, bars and restaurants inPiazza San Babila, Via Monte Napoleone, Corso Buenos Aires and Porta Venezia. The Dateo train Station, close to the Hotel, enables guests to easily reach fieramilano Rho exhibition center within 20 minutes. TownHouse 31 is not inside Milan’s "Area C" (limited traffic zone with entrance fee), and offers chargeable self-parking facilities nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Town House 31 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town House 31 Hotel Milan
Town Hotel Milan
Town Hotel 31

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Town House 31, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.