We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem In A City Of Hype” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Town House 31

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Town House 31 to your Saves list
Town House 31
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Goldoni, 31, 20129 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 432 Hotels in Milan
Joliet, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Gem In A City Of Hype”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Milan is a tough city because one can easily way overpay to be close to very touristy locations, or (worse yet) be stuck by the train station. Townhouse 31 is a place that a Europhile can truly enjoy: elegant, understated, warm service, location an easy walk from most everything in a hip neighborhood. The staff all speak excellent English and are gracious about it.

Americans will be pleasantly surprised by the sizable (by European standards) rooms. The morning breakfast is definitely Euro in nature (fresh cold cuts, fruits, yogurts, breads and pastries) so don't expect waffles and bacon; if, like me, you don't come to Italy to eat at IHOP then you will be quite satisfied.

An excellent walk is west on via Goldoni, north on Viale Piave, then work your way west to Corso Venzia. From there either continue across the street to the park or head south (southwest, really) down Corso Venezia through Piazza Santa Babila, down Corso Vittorio Emanuele II to the Duomo...about 15-20 minutes. Make your way back up Corso Venzia and hang a left onto the tiny via della Spiga for excellent window shopping.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the main building (I believe there are 3 total).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Town House 31, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Madame/Sir,
we would really like to thank you very much for the review that you have left. We are very happy about the quality that we were able to offer you. We are pleased to read any suggestion in order how to satisfy our Guests. We hope to see you again in the near future and to welcome you in our Unique Home in the centre of Milan. Head of PR TownHouse Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    50
    23
    5
    2
See reviews for
11
40
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

we had an upgrade to a lovely room with 2 beds and two big bathrooms, sky tv, very quiet. Extremely clean and the staff were so friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a true banquet and so much really excellent, they even laid on umbrellas as it was raining. It is exactly a 30 minute walk from the Duomo and a 25 min walk to the station or a 9euro taxi ride, I preferred to walk after all the food.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Town House 31, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear guest, Thank you for your comments, that are much appreciated and always helpful. We hope to see you again in the near future in this Unique Home in the centre of Milan. Head of PR TownHouse Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Charming place to celebrate my birthday, I decided after seeing their pictures / information at SLO.com.


Somewhat unorthodox reception area – the receptionist sits, the patrons have to stand at her desk. Worked well with me, can be somewhat tricky for the guests with limited mobility or tired legs.



As the hotel was fully booked, we did not get a free upgrade, normally a perk they offer to SLH loyal clients. The receptionist claimed she had never seen SLH membership card before in her life. A rather strong statement in a SLH hotel.


According to her, our „free-welcome-drink“ was not mentioned in our booking (it WAS actually!) but she was kind enough to offer us „a free drink“.



Town House 31 has a nice location, peaceful if somewhat tired courtyard and little-better-than-your-average-hotel-buffet breakfast. One morning we got a passable hot chocolate, the next morning, the same drink was just awful.


They tell you breakfast hours are between 7:30 and 10:30 but buffet is accessible almost until noon, which is nice. Getting food during peak hour(s) is somewhat challenging – they bring in the new food not fast enough to keep their hungry guests happy. The pieces arriving on the table are, in general terms, fresh and tasty though.


The deluxe room comes with cosy wooden floors, pleasant selection of amenities and too many TV channels (definitely, to be considered as a good thing by less active guests).


Two major downsides – free Wi-Fi did not work (might be not too easy to fix without proper technical understanding) and the thing easier to fix – all the walls were dirty (just a couple of hours if not less, soap and water needed to come over this).

140-160 € for a DBL in Milan is a rather good price, but not really an excuse for dirt in the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownHouse_Italy, Direttore at Town House 31, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused and we really regret not being able to upgrade you into a higher category, due to the full occupancy of the Hotel.

At the desk there was a new employee on you arrival, and we are very sorry to know that you had some misunderstanding with her regarding the membership card
During your stay our computer technicians were doing some maintenance on our wireless connection system, that’s why we did not assure the best connectivity.
However we thank you for all your comments, over all for the negative ones because they help us to improve our service.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again at Town House 31, offering you a free upgrade and our best care.

All the best,
TownHouse 31
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Honestly, I don't quite understand the negative reviews here....we were recently guests @ Town House 31 for 3 nights. I found the accommodations to be exceptional, clean and elegant.

We arrived after drive from Portifino, quickly found the hotel and checked in. The elevator was not working, however, the concierge quickly arranged for someone to carry our bags up the stairway. Additionally, we were on a time schedule to return our rental car, and the staff could not have been more accommodating, giving us maps and directions and bus information for our return.

The next morning, we had an arrangment to see "The Last Supper" and wanted the quickest way to get there....so we walked (5 minutes) to the train stations, which in turn, took us to the Metro line for a quick transfer. It was very crowded (impending strike) but we arrived at our destination with time to spare.

We walked from "The Last Supper" to the Casteel Sforza and then on to the Duomo and back to the hotel....total trip, about 3 miles....but the Metro was readily available as well.

I thought the breakfast was the best of our who 3 weeks in Italy.. the service was efficient, with staff always asking for what you may want or need and the selection was fulfilling. I thought the table set up was a little odd, but it doesn't force you to "speak" or acknowledge anyone.

On our last day, the hotel arranged for a car transfer to Malpensa airport, and the night porter took our luggage downstairs, and served us coffee/tea, fruits and yogurt for our journey.

All in all, a pleasant stay, and a great end to our trip. I would stay here again if I ever were to visit Milan. I for one, appreciated the quietness of the neighborhood and the service of the staff.

Ciao!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Town House 31, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear guest, Thank you for your comments, that are much appreciated and always helpful. We hope to see you again in the near future in this Unique Home in the centre of Milan. Head of PR TownHouse Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here for a work congress at MiCO. Is a little out of the way and the walk into the centre is about 20 minutes. The room was small but lovely with a wet room, which was slightly irritating as you had to walk across the wet floor to get to the toilet. Good breakfast spread, but no food at other times.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Town House 31, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear guest, Thank you for your comments, that are much appreciated and always helpful. Guest feedback such as yours help us to continuously review our policies and training procedures. All guest reviews are shared with and communicated to our staff in order to ensure our property standards. We hope to see you again in the near future in this Unique Home in the centre of Milan. Head of PR TownHouse Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

we had such an amazing stay. the staff were so helpful and friendly. as the hotel is only 15 minute walk into the city it was nice and quiet. the walk into town was straight forward and easy ti find your way back. breakfast was nice, fresh fruit etc etc.

we would defiantly stay again. thanks loads Town House 31.

Room Tip: try get room 102, it has a huge balcony and over looks the back garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Town House 31, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Madame/Sir,
we would really like to thank you very much for the review that you have left. We are very happy about the quality that we were able to offer you. We are pleased to read any suggestion in order how to satisfy our Guests. We hope to see you again in the near future and to welcome you in our Unique Home in the centre of Milan. Head of PR TownHouse Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I returned this year to the Townhouse 31 Hotel in Milan after 5 years and found it very much the same. The rooms are small and basic but very clean and functionable. My "king double" had a king bed, small desk and desk chair, mini-fridge, safe and flat screen TV. The hotel has a lovely common area downstairs and a courtyard garden. Breakfast in the common downstairs area is very good. While the hotel does not have a restaurant, they do serve cocktails in the evening (aperitivi) with nice snacks. There are numerous couches and overstuffed armchairs in the downstairs area. You may encounter other hotel guests, but you will have no problem having your own comfortable space. It's a 10 - 15 minute walk to the city center (Duomo area). It's a 5 - 7 minute walk to the nearest subway/metropolitan, which is clean, convenient and reliable.

Room Tip: My room was on the first floor and had a window very near the hotel's side entrance. Sometimes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Town House 31, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Madame/Sir,
we would really like to thank you very much for the review that you have left. We hope to see you again in the near future and to welcome you in our Unique Home in the centre of Milan. Head of PR TownHouse Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Town House 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town House 31

Address: Via Goldoni, 31, 20129 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Town House 31 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownHouse 31 is a charming 4-star boutique hotel located in small elegant 19th century palace next to TownHouse 33. Recreating a home like atmosphere, the tranquil palm garden and the contemporary-ethnic style Classic rooms ensure an intimate hideaway from the hustle and bustle of the metropolitan city of fashion and design. Located in a residential area of one of the most affluent neighborhoods in Milan, TownHouse31 is within walking distance from the world renowned showrooms, bars and restaurants inPiazza San Babila, Via Monte Napoleone, Corso Buenos Aires and Porta Venezia. The Dateo train Station, close to the Hotel, enables guests to easily reach fieramilano Rho exhibition center within 20 minutes. TownHouse 31 is not inside Milan’s "Area C" (limited traffic zone with entrance fee), and offers chargeable self-parking facilities nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Escapio and Agoda so you can book your Town House 31 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town House 31 Hotel Milan
Town Hotel Milan
Town Hotel 31

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Town House 31, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.