We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They turn off AC in "winter"!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Romana Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Romana Residence to your Saves list
Hotel Romana Residence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso di Porta Romana 64, 20122 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #193 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“They turn off AC in "winter"!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

And by winter I mean 74F in the first week of October. They don't even have any spare fans for guests who find the rooms too hot and stuffy. The room is otherwise fine. The front desk is just too obnoxious. In general hotels in Europe are just a joke, overcharging and gorging money from tourists in the name of preserving their heritage and I proudly say that this hotel is just a part of the same league. When we asked for some air circulation, maintenance came, tried, and the some sparks came out of the HVAC unit. They refused to change our room. All night we had to keep the unscreened window open and in the process a few mosquitos feasted on our un-slept bodies. As far as I understand climate and weather, if there are mosquitoes, ITS NOT WINTER! A pro is that the breakfast was pretty varied (bread, cafe, tea, pastries, whole fruit) and when asked, they gave my wife gluten free bread. The water pressure in the shower was GREAT and it was the hottest water we got in Europe.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    129
    73
    23
    16
See reviews for
79
100
11
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Good location. Rooms are small and require renovation, water stays in the bath tube for 20 mins after you leave it. Breakfast is good. But it was quite expensive and did not look like 4* hotel at all.

Room Tip: Don't book rooms at discounted price
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 days. I found the l location of the hotel to be ok as we got subway tickets. We were there for the F1 so it did not matter anyways. We did listen to other people advice and lick up all valuables when we left the room even for breakfast. We found the front room service to be fine. I went to them daily for bandaids and they were very accomodating

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sala, Sweden
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The four stars are somewhat outdated since the hotel is not of top standard. Breakfast is good if you like Italian sweet pastries, but is not up to normal expectations (one piece of ham and one piece of cheese, where is the salami?). The elevators are not for anyone who is claustrofobic. Rooms are ... different. High ceilings, wardrobes from some modern era and old cupboards. All in all this is a perfect place if you want a hotel with central location since everthing is "around the corner".

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed here with my family for four for one night. I have mixed feelings about this hotel. First the positive. The rooms were comfortable and spacious. Very Clean. The staff were very friendly. Now, the negatives: We were far from everything. A very long walk to the Duomo and along the way, everything was closed. Second: a bunch of TV stations...not one english speaking station. I probably would not choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I was travelling with friends and we had booked at the very last minute a triple room for the 3 of us plus a baby. We were looking for a hotel within Milan city with its own parking garage and Hotel Romana Residence came up.

This hotel is far from being a 4 star. As with many of the other reviewers, this hotel is in need of an upgrade as everything is very dated. Upon checking into our room, I was 'greeted' almost immediately by a bug clinging onto the curtain, next to my pull out sofa bed. Had to dispose of the offending 'bugger' on my own. TV wasn't working at all, and the amenities given were minimal , with just a bar of soap and shampoo.

Breakfast was busy, and lots of food usually ran out without it being replenished on a timely manner.

What shocked me most was on the day of check out, when I was packing up my bag, I noticed my mobile phone missing from my luggage pocket. At first I had thought I had misplaced it around the room, but that was not the case. I even called back home to check that I had not left it at home. I am certain that I had left there, and that it was taken from my bag by someone. I spoke to the man at the reception but I didn't get any sympathy at all and he even suggested that I might have dropped it along the way etc etc?!? He made a call to housekeeping to check, but of course no one admitted to taking it. He even added insult to injury by saying he vouched for the person cleaning the room, and that it was my word against theirs when I say that my phone has been stolen from the hotel room!

We had such a wonderful time exploring Milan, but this incident really left a bitter taste in my mouth,and I am certain never to visit this hotel again, nor would I recommend this to anyone. There are way better hotels at this price range.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

The hotel reception feels a bit dated but the room we had was well maintained with modern amenities. It was also huge, 2 large rooms, one for us one for kids. Decent sized bathroom. Breakfast was included in our deal and was fine. Small hot section, cereals, fruit, pastries etc. Location allowed us to get around easily by foot and also public transport. Free wifi too. Only small gripe is no access to an iron, "for safety reasons" which make no sense to me as every other hotel I have stayed at find the risk acceptable.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Romana Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Romana Residence

Address: Corso di Porta Romana 64, 20122 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#120 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Romana Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Romana Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romana Residence Hotel
Romana Residence Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Romana Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.