We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Brasil Milano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Brasil Milano to your Saves list
Hotel Brasil Milano
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Gustavo Modena 20, 20129 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€35 (EUR)
Ranked #321 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Armidale, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

I booked a room here over the net and exchanged emails with the manager. However, when we arrived we were told "no booking" and told of another hotel to go to...the directions were poorly given and it took us some time to find the hotel. Not good enough!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    35
    29
    23
    27
See reviews for
13
36
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011 via mobile

We (2 mid-20s females) stayed here for two nights. The rooms are of adequate size and the bathroom was spacious and clean. My bed looked very uncomfortable and sunken but I actually slept really well. The location is quite good, bit of a walk into town but nothing at all strenuous. I was concerned about the lack of air conditioning but the pedastal fan was really enough (we did move it so it worked for both beds). It is very old fashioned but you should remember it is a one star hotel. We didn't have any issues with check in/out.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

I stayed here with 3 other friends while traveling through Milan, Italy.
It was nice, because we all got to stay in the same room, but that's about it. The hotel is much more of a hostel than a hotel. Our room had 4 twin beds, a toilet and a sink (out in the open). The keys to the door were very old fashioned (and when locked from the outside, you can't unlock from the inside - which we discovered after my friend was locked in for hours!). The bathroom down the hall is shared - there is a separate men's and women's toilets/showers.
It had computers and internet - which was really nice. But the staff was very grumpy.
The building the hotel is in is really nice, but the location was just so-so: safe, but not really near anything.
I think you could probably find something better in Milan for the price. But if you're looking for something really low-key, no frills, and have a large group, this might be a place to consider.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

The staff pretended they could not find our reservation in the morning when we were trying pay (though they found it when we checked in the night before) and charged us much more than the price we had booked. It was obviously a routine for them. They were aggressive and impolite. It took them nearly twenty minutes to "search for our reservation" (which they never found), and as a result we missed our train!

I would not recommend this hotel. Be aware that if you book a room here, you may have to pay twice what they confirm with your reservation. Beyond that the rooms were dingy and the hotel is out of the way.

Do yourself a favor and book somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights with my sister. The rooms are very basic, but they are clean with fresh, white bed sheets. The room doesn't have any air conditioning, as many rooms in italy apparently. The staff is friendly and helpful, and they do speak english!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

We had a nice balcony in our room which was fun to people watch the street.. good location . 15 min by bus 60.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

The hotel its self was nice. The reception was nice, and the room as well. We stayed in a 3 bedroom and the beds were comfortable, the bathroom was tiny but clean and had everything we needed. There is a fan and an airconditioner, HOWEVER there isn't a remote. We asked the receptionist if he could give us the remote& he told us it was 5 euros!! (of course we said no). We tried to sleep with the window open, but the street is too noisy (& we were on the top floor).
When we arrived we encounteered the most rudest person ever. He's tall and dark haired and has a big nose. He was the jerkest person ever and he basically destoryed any positive aspects of the hotel (which are few, they inc: nice room, outdoor patio for breakfast, and that's it)
The location is also HORRIBLE!! it's bascially in the center of prostitue avenue!! When we arrived at the hotel it was around 23h00-24h00 and there were prostitutes everywhere and disgusting looking men. It is close to the metro stop Loreto, but far from the center, (5 stops until the Dumo).
I would only reccomend to stay here if everywhere else in Milan and booked and even then I would suggest changing your travel dates!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Brasil Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brasil Milano

Address: Via Gustavo Modena 20, 20129 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #321 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Brasil Milano 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Brasil Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Brasil Milano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.