We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Fara

Osteria Fara
Via Gustavo Fara 25, 20124 Milan, Italy
+39 267076789
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #544 of 5,333 Restaurants in Milan
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Osteria means tavern in Italian. This is a great, small, intimate restaurant. You have your choice of outside or inside. On this very warm evening we went inside. Some talk about smells or other interferences - hey - Milan is a big city. In New York, San Francisco, Roma, Tokyo, Sydney or anywhere you can have big city smells. The food is nicely prepared, the service staff is professional. Yes, it can be busy and so the staff is busy. Have you ever dined at 21? Sometimes the crowd is bigger than the staff and service is slow. In our case we came late and everything was perfect. The risotto is as good as Milan's finest. The sea bass comes fileted and the bones removed. grilled vegetables not over done and crisp. When we return to Milan and don't want to spend 100€ to dine - we will come back to Fara.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    56
    14
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice Cusine and friendly service ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I had found this restaurant by chance , but obviously it was good coincidence .

I had a wonderful caprese salad and amazing pizza .

The atmosphere and the service is great .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sit in the courtyard.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

What a wonderful dining experience. I highly recommend the salt encrusted cod. We were greeted with complimentary flutes of champagne and ended with complimentary glasses of Mitro, a new experience over the time tested lemoncello.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Food just above average, wine and service excellent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This place was recommened by our hotel and it was our choice to sit in the courtyard so we shouldn't complain about the smoking and smelly drains but be aware. Our server was charming and very knowledegable about the wine so we have no negatives there. It is clearly used by locals who popped in for a quick linguine (and, inevitably, a fag) and our linguine with clams was good. The pizza was, we guess, a matter of personal taste; the tomato sugo/sauce was very wet and tasted raw, like pureed tomatoes with raw minced garlic. It was metallic and disappointing. Dessert was a bad idea; the tiramisu and cheesecake were very watery as if defrosted. All that having been said, we would go back but would have pasta, bread and wine and eat it inside.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Me and my husband came here as it was recommended at Hilton. The place was packed and too few servants. Our primo piatto was risotto Milanese which had no taste at all. Our secondi piatto was t-bone which came out cold and raw. We returned it and they brought back the same slice which was now dry and overcooked. The servants tried there best and were pleasant. We got another slice as we were not happy. That one was ok cooked but lacked all taste. Overall felt like tourist trap and too expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Fara also viewed

 
Milan, Lombardy
Milan, Lombardy
 

Been to Osteria Fara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria Fara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.