We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guest House Scacco Matto I - II

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Guest House Scacco Matto I - II to your Saves list
Guest House Scacco Matto I - II
Viale Abruzzi 70, 20131 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 186 Specialty Lodging in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Krakow, Poland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I can assess this place as a small but high standard guesthouse and highly recommend it. It is located just a few steps from metro station, it is very safe and clean (rooms are cleaned daily). Room was well heated, bathroom is new and functionable. Wifi worked well. Breakfast was very basic and we didn't like it although we are not breakfast eaters nad we didn't care. We were happy to make a tea whenever we liked (there was an electric kettle in the common room).

Room Tip: A room with private bathroom was a perfect choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    17
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
17
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Staff was nice and rooms were cleaned...thats all.

walls are very thin and you can hear everything in the others rooms.
The breakfast is included but dont worth a penny (a plate of low cost bakery and horrible coffee from the machine).
location is not so far from the central station but far away from everything else.

If we had paid for an hostel there will be no complaints but its really not the standing to be called hotel.

Bathroom was cold (no heating) and not so good ventilate....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Very, very clean, recently renovated. Location is good too, 1 min walk to the metro stop (Loreto, line 1 and 2) and about 15-20 mins walk to the Milano Centrale train station. The ensuite shower had the best water pressure (and very hot too) in Italy - I've lived in England and Italy before and it's rare to find good water pressure. Owner was very nice and helpful. Breakfast included in the price.

Room Tip: Rooms facings the courtyard (as opposed to the road side) is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Guest House Scacco Matto I - II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Scacco Matto I - II

Address: Viale Abruzzi 70, 20131 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 186 Specialty Lodging in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warm family atmosphere that reigns Affittacamere Scacco Matto provides a pleasant stay to all ospiti.L'arredamento sober, pleasant spaces and quality services, the rooms are all newly built with private bathroom, air conditioning, led tv and internet wi-fi, are ideal for those who want to stay in a welcoming and comfortable, enjoying the advantages of being a short walk from the center of Milano.I comfort of a hotel and a price Affittacamere.L 'Affittacamere Scacco Matto is located within walking distance of Corso Buenos Aires and 5 subway stops from Duomo.Dall'Affittacamere Checkmate you can reach easily and quickly all the most interesting places of the city, both in terms of commercial and business and artistically and culturale.Ad as the new Rho-Pero is just 20 minutes by subway from the 'House Scacco Matto.Per this reason the House Scacco Matto is the ideal solution for those who visit the city for work and also for those who want to enjoy a leisure holiday with the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Guest House Scacco Matto I - II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guest House Scacco Matto I - II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.