We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent budget choice in Milan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aurora to your Saves list
Hotel Aurora
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   corso Buenos Aires, 18, 20129 Milan, Italy (Porta Venezia)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 429 Hotels in Milan
Tel Aviv
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent budget choice in Milan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed last week at the Hotel Aurora on the last night of my trip, and was very pleasantly surprised. I did not do too much investigating before booking the hotel but I doubt you could do much better for this price, location and level of comfort in Milan.

I walked from the Central Station with a light bag and reached the hotel on the Corso Buenos Aires in about 15-20 minutes. The hotel is reached by walking into a large courtyard from the street, where there are other businesses, and then going up to the first floor. My room was en-suite, clean, with a comfortable bed and small but decent bathroom. The manager was a friendly and helpful guy, and you can use the hotel's computer in the lobby for free.

There's no breakfast in the hotel but there are several good cafes for a morning coffee and croissant within one block of the hotel, and the Porto Venezia metro station is just a very short walk away. One could also easily walk to the Duomo and La Scala and Brera areas from the hotel without even using public transport.

I was very pleasantly surprised by the Aurora, and would stay there again when visiting Milan.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    48
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
17
37
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Split
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The hotel is located on corso Buenos Aires, just 50 meters away from the metro station. Three metro stations away from the Duomo, the center of Milan. The area is very nice, with many shops, bars and restaurants. It is fairly cheap, considering that it is located in Milan and that it is a hotel. Reception staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are small, but clean. The hotel is located on the first floor of a residential building, but there is an elevator. Free wi-fi is available to the guests. We booked online through one of the commercial booking sites so we did not have free breakfast inluced in the price, but we were told by the staff that we could have book the room through their own web site and in that case we would get that free breakfast. :) Anyway, if you're on a budget and do not want to stay in a hostel, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Great service. Donato is really helpful with all the suggestions and directions. It is located right in the middle of Corso Buenos Aires, with loads of shopping. There is this fantastic gelato shop right opposite the hotel. We took the taxi from the train station costing about 10Euros because we had loads of luggage.

Our room was relatively quiet, didn't heard much street noises.

I had paid so much more for a room in other Italian cities and they were no where close to this one.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

My partner and I had booked this hotel without much thought - it was very reasonably priced for central Milan, and the photos looked good. I have to say I was very very pleasantly surprised - it is just behind the Corso Buenos Aires, but you cannot hear the noise at all. Our room was very well made, and had an ensuite bathroom and a TV, a desk, lots of storage space and wifi came free with the room.

The reception staff were the picture of politeness, recommending places to go and giving ideas about restaurants which we could visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Hotel Aurora is a quite small (around 15 rooms), family-run hotel right in the middle of Corso Buenos Aires, 150m away from Porta Venezia metro stop and tram n°5 and 33. Very handy location.

The hotel lacks a dining room, relying on the bar 10 meters away to offer breakfast (italian style only). You can order an espresso from the coffee machine in the lobby free of price though. There is no safe in the room, neither a boiler or a minibar. Room are very basic but it doesn't mean they are cheap, they are absolutely in the same league as many 3 stars hotels. There is air conditioning, wifi is included in the price of the room and works good, lcd tv, telephone, some rooms have a (small) balcony, and bathroom is furnished with the usual stuff (shampoo/bathgel, soap and phon). The lift to the hotel is quite old and can't accomodate more than a couple of people with luggage. As you can also expect from an hotel that is right on a busy street like Corso Buenos Aires, there's some noise coming from outside at ever hour of the night. Windows' glasses do a great job in keeping it at a minimum and I hadn't any issue sleeping but it can bother people more sensitive to noise.
Overall, don't expect anything luxurious or a big room and you won't be disappointed.
Everything worked (which isn't something you can say of every hotel...) and was clean. I can't really believe how this hotel hasn't deserved at least 3 stars because its service and accomodation are definitely at that level. It isn't exactly cheap if you consider it 1 star but is ok if you realize it's indeed a 3 star without breakfast and its very handy location.

For what we payed it was definitely worth it, I don't regret having not booked a more upscale hotel for a nearly double rate. Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We walked to the hotel from Milan Centrale as it's located in a big shopping road and easy to get direction. Took us almost 20 minutes with heavy luggage so if you don't have trolley bags, do hail a cab. The hotel is clean and basic with comfortable bed and tiled flooring. It's an old building but quite quaint with old lift still in good order. Stayed during summer but the tiled floor we thought must be cold during colder seasons. The room size is great and toilet is decent. Had a good nite rest for our short stay mainly for shopping at Duomo, Montenapoleone, Via Della Spiga etc. Perfect location just next to Metro very accessible to the nearby attractions. Most helpful and friendly English speaking receptionists.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Address: corso Buenos Aires, 18, 20129 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Porta Venezia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 429 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Aurora 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aurora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.