We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel and a good location. Very warm and helpful staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ATAHOTEL Contessa Jolanda

Save Saved
You added ATAHOTEL Contessa Jolanda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ATAHOTEL Contessa Jolanda
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Via Murat 21 | (Zona Maciachini / Niguarda), 20159 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 132 Specialty lodging in Milan
Tel Aviv
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good hotel and a good location. Very warm and helpful staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We were there in last September. The suit is very nice, in the 3rd floor, very big, and with a nice kichennet(that we havn't used)
The location is very good,and very close to the metro station,if you want to spend time in the city center.
You better have your own car, if you want to travel to distant places like lago Maggiore or Lago di Como, etc.
Very good Italian restaurant opposite the Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bregoli, Direttore at ATAHOTEL Contessa Jolanda, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear jerusalimo,
Thank you very much for your kind words!!
We are all very happy that you enoyed your stay with us and find our hotel very good!
We are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    71
    51
    17
    8
See reviews for
15
32
12
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed there for two nights, wi-fi shouldn't be $20 for the day but other things were just fine for the price.It is far from the city center, maybe little bit worned out, first impression when coming in for whole two days was very dirty elevator, I guesss menagment never leaves the ground floor and reception. Breakfast was fine, as on early departure girl working in restaurant was little bit upset for entering just 5 minutes earlier for breakfast...I would have no problems coming back for forced overnight again, but there at very busy fair week in Milan and I was glad I got good deals with them! Hotel needs to be little bit cleaner!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The hotel feels very "buisness", but it is a good choice for travellers who want to see Milano and not to pay too much. the hotel is located just near the center, 1.5 km from the two major train stations (Gribaldi and Center).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenanzioBregoli, Direttore at ATAHOTEL Contessa Jolanda, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear RoyGrinshpan,
Thank you for sharing these comments, they are much appreciated! We are glad to know you had a good stay. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back should you return to Milan. Thanks again for your review and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bat Yam, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for 3 nights in september, i have found this hotel very nice. The room we got was extremely big with one huge balcony. The room was very clean as well as the bathrooms. The design of the hotel is very pleasent. The breakfast was unusual for Europe standart hotels, it was much more than just bred and coffe. The reception staff, specialy Mario were very kind and helpful. The location of the hotel is ok, not too far of metro Maciachini ( if you can walk 6 min). Would definitely recomend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenanzioBregoli, Direttore at ATAHOTEL Contessa Jolanda, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear shai I,
Thank you so much for sharing this lovely review, we are happy when our guests tell us that they have been happy at our hotel! We are very glad that you have enjoyed your visit and the comments you have made on our staff. We do hope you will return when you next visiting Milan.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Hi, the room was ok (not for a 4 stars hotel), but really old. If you would like to see the how the bathroom of your grandparents was looking like, that's your place ;-)
With the breakfast, I have to be honest, I did enjoy it. Good quality.

But the service not really good, just to share with you the complain I did to Contessa Jolanda:

Hi!

I'm staying in the Contessa Jolanda hotel in Milano, and I would like to formally complain about your service.
Yesterday I kindly ask you at the reception of the hotel for a knife and a plate (nothing strange, I just wanted to eat some fruit in my room), and after 3 hours waiting for it (I expected someone to bring that to my room) I went again to the reception and I got the answer that as my company has book the room as hotel, and not as an apartment they could not borrow me the knife.

I do understand the person in the reception is doing his work, and following the rules. For that reason my complain is about your stupid rules, I have been even in hostels of 2 star and I have had no problems for getting a knife even if they were "just hotels" and non apartments.

As you probably know my company XXXXX had people living in your hotel for the last 2 years. I was not expecting a better service for being from XXXXX, just a minim service from a 4 stars hotel.

As you can understand I need to inform my company about your lack of service, and as you suggest in your reception I will share also my opinion about Contessa Jolanda in tripadvisor.
Is never a good time to lose a customer, but for sure those times are the worse ones. So I strongly recommend you to review your service level.

Best Regards,

P.S.: taking profit of this email, I wanted to give you another advice. Invest a little bit of money in your gym, mainly in the "spinning" bikes. I can guarantee that your gym is not the expected one for a 4 stars hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenanzioBregoli, Direttore at ATAHOTEL Contessa Jolanda, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Javi_Barcelona_81,
Concerning your review we thank you for the feedback about your stay in order to improve our service.
We are glad that you appreciated our breakfast service. Regarding his request to have a knife we are sorry for the misunderstanding and we hope you will accept our apologies. We would like to inform you that, in September, we renewed our gym that now is on 9th floor, in an larger and bright room.
Thank you for sharing this review and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed in this hotel one night from saturday to sunday and the room was smeeling horrible. All our clothes smellt afterwards. The bath is at least 30 years old... really old room. The only thing, that was ok, was the bed and the receptionist was very kind.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenanzioBregoli, Direttore at ATAHOTEL Contessa Jolanda, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Patoch83380
Concerning your review on Tripadvisor we were very surprised because we never received any reports or complaints on this points and we were unable to identify the room assigned to you, not having the name or the dates of your stay on the feedback.
As you can see we have already refurbished the hall and the breakfast room, as well as the look of the room, as you can appreciate our bed.
We have restored some of the bathrooms and this is our next step in the restructuring plan of the building, as we have already done with the facade.
We know that the bathrooms are not refurbished but this is our next step for the renovation plan of the building, as we already have done with the frontage.
Thank you for mentioning the kindness of the staff and We regret not being able to fully meet your expectations, if we were promptly informed of your dissatisfaction, we would do everything we could to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a nice hotel with very reasonable cost. Other than that, it definately does not worth 4 stars. Internet is 12 euros per day (!), there is no room servie, there is only a vending machine at the reception with drinks, snacks and coffee.
The rooms are spacious but the cleaning personnel do not show maximum enthousiasm in cleaning the room thoroughly!
If it was not that close to my work I would not have selected it!
The hotel has a good incentive but a lot of work needs to be done to convince me that those 4 stars in the hotel's entrance are not just painted !

Room Tip: choose a high floor, back side room if you do not like the noise from the central avenue in front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenanzioBregoli, Direttore at ATAHOTEL Contessa Jolanda, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear love2travelcheap,
Thank you for sharing these comments. Concerning your review on Tripadvisor we were very surprised because we never received any reports or complaints on this points and we were unable to identify the room assigned to you, not having the name on your feedback.
As you point out the hotel’s location is very convenient with public transports to reach the city center in few minutes, and the relationships with the people who live there are sheltered, because in our area have moved the headquarters of many major foreign international Companies.
About the hotel price, there are a lot of booking web sites that offer a lot of different prices for the same hotel, for our Company Atahotels Spa we can guaranty the best price on our web site, in this regard we would like to point out that approximately $100,00 in May corresponded to the exchange rate of €.75,00.
As for the complaint about the failure of the air conditioning in May 2013 we have not received complaints from our guests for the temperatures in the rooms, because the outside temperatures were particularly harsh and unusual for the period, as can be seen from such statistics weather in Milan in May turns out to be: Rainy with an average temperature of 14°C.
Not knowing which room had been assigned to you, we conducted an audit of all hotel rooms and unfortunately, due to a small leak, there were two rooms with a portion of wallpaper behind a curtain that was starting to come off and we proceeded right to repair, but we could change if we were promptly notified.
We regret not being able to fully meet your expectations, if we were promptly informed of your dissatisfaction, we would do everything we could to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
Thanks again for your review and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ATAHOTEL Contessa Jolanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ATAHOTEL Contessa Jolanda

Address: Via Murat 21 | (Zona Maciachini / Niguarda), 20159 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 132 Specialty lodging in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ATAHOTEL Contessa Jolanda 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your ATAHOTEL Contessa Jolanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atahotel Contessa Jolanda Hotel Milan
Atahotel Contessa Jolanda Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ATAHOTEL Contessa Jolanda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.