We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not a 4 star hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Del Corso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Del Corso to your Saves list
Hotel Del Corso
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Pecchio, 2, 20131 Milan, Italy (Porta Venezia)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #254 of 432 Hotels in Milan
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“This is not a 4 star hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

We booked this hotel for the first night of our honeymoon through InItalia.it requesting a deluxe room. When we arrived we were very disappointed as the room was clearly just a standard double room, very basic. The bathroom was very small and the shower cabinet was tiny. We were told that there were no other rooms available. As it was only for one night we decided to stay as it was too late to organise anything else. The room was noisy with traffic as it was close to a large road junction which we had not expected. The breakfast was very poor with orange squash rather than fresh and Nescafe machine coffee which was awful; not what you expect in Italy! There was a very basic selection of bread rolls, croissants, plastic cheese and cheap ham. All in all, very far from four star standards.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    76
    36
    12
    9
See reviews for
16
39
20
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut Lebanon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

We have stayed at Hotel del Corso for 5 nights. The Hotel is perfectly located, just 2 mins walk to Corso Buenos Aires a major shopping street. Both the main train station and the Duomo are only few stops by metro. The rooms are medium sized, but very clean, good bathroom, and always warm. Breakfast was good with fair variety. Rommel and Michella at the reception were very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

The Del Corso Milano is a small, cosy hotel which met almost our needs for our vacation in Milan. The hotel staff are helpful in giving tips when they could although sometimes there was a bit of a communication breakdown even though they do speak English. Maps are available free of charge from the hotel and good enough for us to use to navigate ourselves.

Our room was clean and the beds were comfortable if a bit on the narrow side. The bathroom comes equipped with the basic amenities and is very spacious but the same cannot be said for the shower stall. I much prefer shower stalls over tubs but this one was too small for comfort. Even my sister who is smaller than me had trouble maneuvering in the shower as we ended up hitting ourselves on the door all the time. I can't imagine how someone slightly larger than us could possibly shower comfortably in there. The room was quiet and we were not disturbed by noise at all.

Our deal included breakfast and there was a fairly good buffet spread for us to amply fill ourselves up for the day ahead. There was a coffee machine which was a bit confusing to use. The hotel staff stationed at the breakfast room doesn't speak English so it took a whole lot of gesturing and pointing for her to show me which buttons to press.

The downside of this hotel is that although it is located near the Stazione Centrale, it is quite far from the city centre. We arrived close to 11pm on a Sunday night and there were no supermarkets opened from where we could buy drinking water and no shops available for us to get some hot dinner. Pathetically, we had to eat McDonald's (of all things!) which was nearby and still opened at that hour. Even on weeknights, the place gets pretty quiet by around 9pm. That said, the metro stop is less than 5 minutes away so other than the arrival night, transportation was not a problem for us. It is only that if we went out, it just was not convenient to go back to the hotel for a rest before going out again. We could do that at the second hotel we stayed at which was right at the heart of Milan city centre.

All in all, it is a nice place to stay at if you don't mind staying out all day and I would say that it give fair value for the 100 euros per night we paid. We actually made a re-booking because our earlier booking was at 130 euros per night and that would have been expensive for what we got. Fortunately, my sister checked the site closer to our trips and noticed that the price had gone down. Hence, the re-booking. So make sure you keep checking even if you have made a booking. It might save you some money!

The only other gripe we have is that you have to pay for internet access! It is something like 3 or 4 euros per hour but if you use the internet a lot or are staying for a longer period, get the 12 hour block for 10 euros. It's much cheaper that way.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

I will first of all say that the location of the hotel to the nearest metro stop is very good being only a 2 min walk. Duomo is only a few minutes train ride away from this metro. Location is the only positive comment i have unfortunately. The hotel promotes itself as a 4 star incorrectly. This hotel is actually 3 star rated in the hotel rating book. Personally, I would rate at best a 2 star. We stayed for one night and was thankful of this. There were bed bugs in my bed and when asked to change rooms, the staff stated no other available rooms to move us too. Breakfast was standard with cornflakes, bread. Staff were not overly friendly. There are no restaurants near this hotel and would not recommend walking anywhere in the neihbourhood after dark. If you are lucky to get a bed without bugs, would be maybe bearable as a stop over for a night and to head to duomo in the day. Personally, i don't think it is worth the risk and would look elsewhere for the price.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

I booked this hotel upon reading good review on trip advisor. I was very dissapointed upon arrival as the front desk staff in this hotel was the least to say uninterested. We booked a room for 3 person. When we arrived we were given keys to our room and to our surprise the room was for 2 person. When I asked at the reception, the receptionist asked me if we could share it for the night. When we insisted that we booked month and half ago and are not willing to share, the receptionist gave another key and asked us to see for ourselves if that room was adequete. The room was located at the ground floor next to the reception and elevator plus when we opened the curtain, only view I get to see is the rubbish bins. This is tagged as 4 star hotel and I do not see which aspect of it that reflects four star. The location was alright as there was a tube station 100 metres from there. Overall I was very dissapointed with hotel receptionist though the lady that attened to us on the final day in the morning was pleasant. I strongly do not recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

We spent 6 nights in hotel Del Corso, Milan in August 2009 and we can say with certainty that it was an excellent choice. Booked online with 62 euros per night.

Location is great. The metro station is just around the corner and it takes only 10 minutes to Duomo. Tram station (No. 33) is also very close connecting the hotel with the main train station. Pharmacy is just around the corner also, 24/7. Most important, the hotel is located on Via Buenos Aires – a main shopping street with all affordable brands.
The room (looking at the back) was quiet, spacious, clean and nicely furnished. Bathroom was clean and spacious too, only the shower door was defect. The towels were not changed once, however after our remark they did change them. They do not change every day the bed linens either. A/C worked fine.
Breakfast was served 7-10. It was basic but efficient. Great coffee and chocolate croissants.
Reception desk (24/7) was helpful and polite. There is a possibility to park your car in front of the hotel for free (only two spaces, on first come first served basis). Wi-Fi cost 10 euros / 12 hours.
All in all price/quality ratio was perfect. If you don't mind to wake up and not see Duomo from your window, then go.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

Hotel recommended by friends. Surprised that so few non Italian guests. Very friendly staff, found two very good restaurants nearby. Car Parking (18 Euro per day nearby). Hotel was clean and modern with a/c, only 20 not large but good boutique style rooms. Breakfast fine. Only 100/200 metres from Metro, 5-10 minutes to Duomo, we paid 5.50 Euro pp for two day ticket and made full use of them. For price paid (90 Euro) hotel is very good value indeed in major city.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Del Corso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Corso

Address: Via Pecchio, 2, 20131 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Porta Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#141 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Del Corso 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Del Corso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Corso Hotel
Del Corso Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Del Corso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.