We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too far” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Biocity Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Biocity Hotel to your Saves list
Biocity Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Edolo 18, 20125 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 432 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Too far”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I spent three nights in this hotel in late April. It was inexpensive, but I am not sure if I would stay there again. Firstly it is really quite far away from the central station (10-15 mins’ walk depending on whether you have luggage). Second, the neighbourhood is absolutely unattractive (the only good thing seems to be the Carrefour Express down the road). Third, there is not a lift at the hotel and I found it challenging to carry my heavy luggage up the stairs without any help at all. The room itself looked new and was clean. The room size was reasonable. The free wifi was ok.

I was told that breakfast starts at 7am. On the first morning I had it after 8am and it was good. On the second morning it was not ready at 7am and at 7:30am some more food was displayed so I just took whatever was there without any service and no coffee. On the last morning I left before 7am so didn’t have breakfast at all.

I think next time I would prefer a place close to a subway station to this hotel.

Room Tip: Be prepared to take your own luggage up the stairs (no elevator and no help).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    126
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
158
28
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
australians in europe
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

we advised them beforehand that we'd be arriving off the sleeper train from paris (arrival into centrale 05.39). no problem - before 06.00 we were sat in the foyer, luggage stowed away, espressos in hand, giovanni having welcomed us with a courtesy which was to become familiar over the next 4 days. the room was delightful - if perhaps a little lacking in natural light - with a good bathroom. breakfast was more reliable than spectacular, but with excellent coffee, and served over 3 hours, which was good and flexible. it is true that the location is a little away from the centre of things, but i'm not sure that this need be a problem, as the tram terminus (no.5 from memory) is literally on the street corner (and the trams are beautiful 1930s vehicles, but that's another story...), and day tickets for all milan urban transport are inexpensive. it's very handy for central station too, of course; and there's also, very conveniently, a perfectly serviceable trattoria diagonally opposite the hotel. as others have noted, the building works are a problem - noise and dust inside the hotel - albeit if all is running to schedule they should be finishing soon. overall: warmly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Wow! What a hidden gem! Although situated a bit off the beaten track, the hotel (price/quality) is a great little gem! The service-level is high and sincere, the breakfast is basic, but great. The rooms seem to be recently refurbished, spacious and well equipped. I would definitely stay here again.

The only drawback is the current construction going on. They currently have 9 rooms and are expending. the future looks bright. If you will be waking up before 8am on a daily basis, I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat. If you like to sleep in, I would suggest not to stay here until the construction is done. Give the hotel a call before you book to see if construction is still going on!

Room Tip: We had a street-view room. As it is a quiet street, it is pretty great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Termoli, Italy
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The hotel is locatedi in a mixed-use building with access from road level directly into lobby. Location is good, a quiet road, which lies 10 minutes walking from central railway station, tram and a couple of underground station are within foot reach. Staff is really friendly. Room is excellent for the price paid. Proper tv set, very well furnished toilet with bio product, included eco- toilet paper. I found bed and pillow to be very comfortable . Great light and sound insulation. Breakfast is well made, with fresh product. Not a huge variety, but nice quality. The only cons is that the hotel is so new that a wing of the hotel is undergoing a major renovation work, so noise start from early (8 am) morning. Staff assured the construction works will end within may. Excellent value 59 euros for the single room, breakfast included. Very recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed at Biocity for 4 days and were quite impressed. The place is spotless, and the room, while not huge, had enough room to move around in and was pretty well equipped. The bathroom was very nice, and the heating very effective. Breakfast was fine, if not amazing, though availability did vary a bit depending on when you arrived. There's not much of a lounge, though, if you want a change from your room.

The two guys who ran the place were always very friendly, and we never doubted that they'd be there to help if we needed them. We were woken up quite early one morning by banging from the building site next door, but I guess there's not much they can do about that.

One of the nicest things about the hotel was that although it was a little way from the historic centre, and the nearest metro was not exactly round the corner, the tram stop at the end of the road provided a service with one change (#9 to Repubblica then #1 from the same platform) right to the heart of the city, passing all the shops on the way. And all in proper 1920s tramcars - still in common use around he city, alongside newer times on other routes. What this meant was that they journey in and out of town was very much part of the trip - and all for a little over 4 euros a day for the freedom of the system.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I chose this hotel because of its proximity to the rail station which is a few minutes away walking!
The district is not the best one in Milan but the staff and the hotel itself are really great.
The buildign is new in a quiet street.
As I said the staff is excellent, they are nice and very helpful :)
The only "bad" thing is that it is a bit noiisy. You can easily hear everything from the rooms upstairs or next door...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The good thing about the hotel is that you can walk there from the train station. So if you need to catch a train in the early morning, it's a good choice. The hotel was very clean and the staff was helpful.

I have only a few negatives. The neighborhood doesn't look that great. The area is completely surrounded by tall apartment buildings. Also, the modern design of the room with the low shower door, purple bathroom lighting and hard bed was a little uncomfortable for my taste. Still, the room was spotless.

Room Tip: Perhaps avoid a first floor room. The room on the first floor gets lots of noise from the front desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Biocity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biocity Hotel

Address: Via Edolo 18, 20125 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 432 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Biocity Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Biocity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biocity Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.