We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but Fantastic Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rio

Save Saved
You added Hotel Rio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Rio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Mazzini 8, Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #213 of 432 hotels in Milan
Lake Forest Park, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Small but Fantastic Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

I needed a room last minute and found this place adequate. The location can't be beat. Just steps to the Duomo and waking distance to most tourist places. Sure the room was very small but all I needed was a place to stay. The night staff and day staff were both very friendly and helpful. I thought the breakfast was sufficient. Cappuccino, juice, yogurt and a croissant. What more would I want?

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    57
    63
    18
    6
See reviews for
17
48
31
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Il Gzira, Malta
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel as stated in previous reviews is perfect :) the rooms are small but have everything - bed, tv, wardrobe, large bathroom with bidet and hair drier, fridge... we stayed in room 62 and from our room could see the angel on il duomo :)
you cannot sleep with window open thoug it's too loud... But der you are in the centre of the city!
the staff are lovely especially the night receptionist who was helpful with hints about night life and shopping. The hotel is close to wonderful restaurants all major shops and links to hop on/hop off tour, and train station which goes to como... Which we did a day trip to! Very worth it. I will be back in January for sale season!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel you can see once you arrive via the metro (to Duomo -city centre). It is literally walking steps from the famous Duomo Cathedral. I stayed a single room, which yes was small but it had everything you need. Breakfast was ham, cheese, cornflakes, biscuits and different types of fresh croissants - I recommend this place as city commuting is hell on earth especially when you don't know the city. The trams become very packed, the metro gives an unsafe feeling to the tourist, though it is an excellent transport system. If you are just in Milan for a few Nights then definitely the Rio Hotel is the place to stay. I paid €80 per night, beats getting lost and using a taxi which our very expensive in Milan.Lastly I would never recommend Milan to anyone, the Milanese are so unmannerly and never have I met a race to be so lacking in manner. Milan is an ugly city, grafftti everywhere and not a tourist destination - the only thing it has going for it is the Duomo - which u can view online. Avoid Milan and go to Bergamo or Lake Como

Room Tip: Room 59 is the quietest as it is at the back of the hotel - ok the view from the room is just other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Hotel is becoming run down in terms of rooms, my electrics were dodgy to say the least, hairdryer connection is over handbasin, some of the switches looked like they were coming off or sparkled of electricity, I had holes in the wall and never patched up so 3 star rating is not appropriate or the price. No double glazing so tramcars noise to 2 am and then up again at 5ish with noise again. Needs some money to be spent

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here for one night and was very satisfied with the hotel. The location cannot be more central...it's literally one min walk from the Duomo. If you want a hotel close to the city center and are not too picky about the rooms, this could be a great choice. The breakfast room was quite small and choices were pretty limited, but you get what you pay for...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

The people were lovely, awesome location & easy to reach. Take the metro to Duomo station and walk up between the "ray band" building and Zara. The hotel is 1min walk from there. PRIME LOCATION for exploring. 1 min from Duomo, 15 min walk to The Last Supper. Supermarket is on the street to the left so you can stock up on water etc as the area is touristy so does get expensive for food.
Hotel itself is clean, bathroom is unneccessarily large its 3/4 the size of the bedroom! I would recommend the hotel for location only, 1-2 days is good. Any longer i would recommend you stay elsewhere. Prime location for exploring and using this place to sleep only

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you want the best and most central location this is definately a good choice. It's literally just around the corner from Il Duomo, the impressive Cathedral in the center of Milano. Our room was nice with A/C once we realized we had to pick up the remote in the reception. Wifi system sucked big time! You pay for min 6 hours in row and it cant be shared over 2 phones.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rio

Address: Via Mazzini 8, Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 432 hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rio 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hotel Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.