We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Ugo Bassi 1/A | angolo C. Farini, 20159 Milan, Italy (Isola)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #137 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

10/11 July 2012. Nice hotel, clean and tidy and quiet. Disappointed that they only leave one of everything in tea and coffee tray as there was two of us in the room. They also don't leave any milk or coffee whitener, had to go to reception the both days to ask for some.
Good access to public transport but found taxis extremely difficult to get.
Lots of staff on at reception but not many that know what they are doing (maybe trainees).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    235
    114
    27
    20
See reviews for
60
130
43
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Matityahu, Israel
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed here twice and each time was a decent clean room. Good for the business traveler.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Although not the best business hotel i have stayed in, the rooms are comfortable and have good air-conditioning (which is needed in the summer months as the outside temperature can exceed 30 degrees C). The reception staff are mostly friendly (watch out for the late-at-night desk clerks!) and helpful.
The staff in the restaurant at breakfast are not that friendly unless you speak good Italian. But, at least there is a good choice of food at breakfast time and this should satisfy the vast majority of visitors.
The evening restaurant is limited and quite costsly for what is on offer. I'd check out some of the smaller, privately run restaurants in the nearby streets as these offer much better value and some offer a much bigger choice!
The hotel is about 10 minutes walk away from the Porta Garibaldi (overground) train and Metro (underground) stations.The central station is just two stops away on the Metro and you can go sight-seeing from there or Duomo (on the M2 Metro line).
The TV selection in the hotel is very poor (unless you like watching 40-minute-looped business TV if you're after English-speaking channels.
But, for a business hotel, the prices are reasonable and the rooms are comfy.
This is my fourth visit here and I would return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: There are tram lines on both sides of the hotel so, whichever room you get, you'll probably hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

good business hotel, nothing exceptional but clean and nice. some people at the reception is extremely frinedly (found some other little less help), room are nice, clean and bed is really confortable. location is relatively central but not very connected by public transport (subway 10 mins walking) I would say it is a good deal if you don't pay more than 130- 150€!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

This hotel is not really that near to the station but it is only about 10 mins walk away. We managed to find it as we drove into town - and they have a private car park which is not cheap (13 Euros a night) but is safe. The hotel had tram lines in front of the hotel on both sides but we did not find this to be a problem. The front desk were very pleasant and helpful. We went to one of their recommendations for dinner the first night and were far from displeased. The room was quite a good size and there was room to unpack.

The only problem - hence the title was that the room was swelteringly hot. Nothing could be done to cool the room except to keep the door open as it was actually colder in the corridor. The climate control just blew more hot air around the room. We asked at reception the next morning and they did something on the computer and said that this would improve. It didn't. Because of the trams we could not sleep with the windows open and so we ended up managing to sleep on top of the bed. I sweated buckets! Frankly I expect better from a hotel calling itself 3 star. Managers were not in evidence and we left the next day so we only had to endure that for 2 nights. This was a great shame as the hotel itself was not bad. If they are too mean to put on the air conditioning then please let us know.

The other thing that irritated was that they provided tea and coffee facilites - but only left one of everything. The cups were different one from another on both nights. Why? Don't the cleaners know (or care) how many people are in the room? As it was one of the cups did not fit the saucer and we nearly had an accident with a hot drink! So unnecessary.

We did not eat breakfast so we had no experience of the dining room - but the bar was convenient although requests for ice for the room were met with little enthousiasm. For me the best parts were the very pleasant front desk people - particularly the gentleman on duty when we arrived - and the free Wifi that we were given.

All in all I will not go back - this may have Holiday Inn on the door but do not expect much. I would have sent a copy of this to the Hotel Director but was just given an email "Le Direzzione" or some such - no name. Maybe there isn't one. It would not surprise me.

Room Tip: Buy and electric fan!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Dear PAULWOODS1,

Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. We are pleased you mentioned the comfortable size of your room as well as our friendly staff. We are very sorry you found the air conditioning during your recent stay to be unacceptable. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

I do hope you decide to give us another chance for a future stay.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

This was a very good hotel. I was surprised that it was a Holiday Inn! The service was very good. Reception was very helpful/friendly. They helped me out with maps of the area and things to do/see. Breakfast was good as well. They treated my pets very well too! It's hard to find hotels that will accept my babies, so them being not only pet friendly but showing interest in my pets as well was a plus! The hotel was in a very nice location as well. I reccomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radlett
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express - Milan Garibaldi a few months ago. The reception staff were very helpful indeed. The room was modern and comfortable with good facilities. The bed was very comfortable with a good night's sleep. A modern clean bathroom (shower only) A good range of food for breakfast. Good beds - slept well. We had a good breakfast. About 10 minutes from Central Milan by tram. The area did not have much in the way of local restaurants or shops worth visiting. Overall it was good value and we wodul stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station

Address: Via Ugo Bassi 1/A | angolo C. Farini, 20159 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Isola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#92 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#103 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station, Located in the heart of the city s and fashion and shopping area. All the city s main attractions are within easy reach of the Hotel using public transport: the Cathedral, The Scala Theatre, the Sforzesco Castle, the Basilica of S.Ambrogio or, for a nice stroll, Corso Montenapoleone, Corso Buenos Aires and maybe a visit to Leonardo s Last Supper, the Arcimboldi Theatre and the Brera Art Gallery. Hotel is within easy reach of the new Rho/Pero Exhibition Centre (10 km) and very close to the Milan Exhibition Centre (15 min.). Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station, . a recently-built complex, has 129 comfortable bedrooms, all perfectly soundproofed, furnished tastefully in modern style and Internet connection. The hotel has three meeting rooms especially equipped for business meetings, encounters and training courses; with fast WI-FI Internet connection. Butterfly restaurant in 'fusion' style offers care for detail and a relaxing and pleasant ambience. A Cocktail Fashion bar with daily happy hour and theme cocktails, not to be missed. Free Mini Gym at disposal daily and indoor parking-garage. Limousine service on req. Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station, for business or leisure, your home from home in the centre of Milan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station Hotel Milan
Holiday Inn Garibaldi Station
Milan Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.