We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel, superb staff & service, great location - we'll be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Visconti Palace

Save Saved
You added Grand Visconti Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Visconti Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Isonzo 14, 20135 Milan, Italy (Formerly Grand Visconti Palace Milan - MGallery Collection)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 432 hotels in Milan
Upstate New York USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel, superb staff & service, great location - we'll be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

Absolutley gorgeous hotel with beautiful large rooms. Staff is exceptional as check in counter staff called us by name (as American traveler we surely did not look Italian) and explained the services available at the hotel. My wife sustained a knee injury skiing and we called ahead to the hotel to arrange a wheelchair for our time spent touring Milan - the hotel had gone across town and got the wheelchair for us so we wouldn't have to hassle with that. Their Guest Relations Manager BERNIE GALLOTTA was extremely helpful, recommending a good place to eat and great tips on how to get around on the subway (Buy a 3 Euro day pass and you ride anywhere all day long) to the sights we wanted to see. He even offered to have one of the hotel vehicles pick us up if we became too fatigued during the day. All staff were exceptionally professional and made us feel as if we were the most important people staying at the hotel. It was the perfect experience to finish off our weeklong ski trip in Courmayeur. We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grgvp, Guest Relations at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, April 14, 2009
Dear Guests,

we thank you so much for visiting the Grand Visconti Palace as well for taking the time to fill in the hotel questionnaire : it is important for us.

We are very pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that our staff has made you feel comfortable. Our aim is to provide the best service with a professional but human touch.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Visconti Palace in the near future, we remain at your complete disposal for any further assistance and information you may need.

Best regards
Antonella Mecrani
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    406
    300
    55
    23
    20
See reviews for
124
271
45
214
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bardolino
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2008

Grand visconti palace hotel in milan, Bea u tiful hotel in a nice area and only 3 stops away from the duomo . perfect for xmas shopping has the hotel was decorated wonderful. rooms were exceptionally large with all the best fittings and bed linen which was changed daily, The staff were most helpful , and breakfast a very grand affair , also very reasonably priced for such a grand hotel in the city will definitly be going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2008

I stayed during the Milan furniture festival so demand was high, but the cost of the room was very expensive - c.£400 per night. The stay didn't start well after our rooms weren't ready when we turned up at 2pm. We were told flatly that they would be ready at 8pm!! After stating that this wasn't acceptable given that check in was 2pm we were told to sit in the lounge until everything was settled. We were there for over an hour and I had to keep reminding the staff that we were still waiting.

The room was nothing special - especially bearing in mind the price. The hotel really needs to sort out things like the in-room dining ordering process. The menu is on the TV - a gimmic which just doesn't work. And it took me about 5 minutes to find the number to call room service.

The gym was surprisingly well equipped and opening hours were convenient.

I did have a problem with room service breakfast. About an hour late due to the lifts not working. Problems happen of course, but this just wasn't well communicated to me. The response was that it was "on its way", which turned out not to be true. And the end product was very disappointing given the cost of breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

I was really taken with this place, subject to two small issues which I'll get to in a minute. This is either a new building which has been very convincingly designed to look older, or an old building which has been extremely well maintained. Either way , it's a great place to be. The whole decor is elegant and stylish, but everything is in good condition and looks freshly done.

Outside there's a beautifully designed garden and conservatory where we had the coffee breaks during the conference I was attending there.

The two gripes are room size / shape and the hotel's location. My room was single, and though beautifully appointed was pretty small. From the floor plan it looks as if this is the standard room size so a double would be a bit of a squeeze. In addition, the building has bay windows but each window is split between two rooms with the walls dividing the rooms run into the bays. This gives the impression of a larger room having been sliced in two. A small point but it feels odd and is not in line with the overall quality of the building.

Secondly, the location is poor, being a mile or two (as far as I could tell) from the centre, and in a not particularly attractive neighbourhood.

Gripes adise, really very good overall - an excellent place for a conference.

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

We have just returned after a 4 night stay. We were some of the first to suffer from the mess at Terminal 5 at Heathrow. There was little that the desk staff could do but they were kind and took our details and kept a check on the situation for us. They were helpful in pointing us to where we could get essentials just 5 minutes walk away. When our luggage eventually arrived the next evening it was immediately delivered to our room.

All of the staff were unfailingly friendly, helpful and polite unlike many modern business class hotels where you often find abrupt, aloof and officious staff, especially on the desk , but I saw none of that at the Visconti Palace. Although there was a business element to our trip we were also there as tourists and we felt very welcome.

The room was excellent with a vast, comfortable bed, and a lovely, well equipped bathroom. We were on the Viale Isonzo so, although the double glazing is good, you might find it a bit noisy as the road is busy all night, in which case you should request an inner facing room or one facing down the other side road. Breakfast was decent with a good range on offer and plentiful coffee. It has a decent bar and a good but pricey restaurant. The restaurant is tricky to find but not impossible and it's fun to roam around the hotel anyway. The building is vast but easily navigable and has a lovely garden. We didn't explore the pool and gym.

It's a bit of a distance from the centre, 45 minutes walk or about 15 minutes by metro which is a few minutes from the hotel and is 3 stops from the Duomo for the main tourist attractions and 4 or 5 from Montenapoleone for the highest of high fashion. A taxi would get you downtown in less than 10 minutes. There are plenty of restaurants locally at all levels and we found a good local trattoria and an excellent fish restaurant about 5 minutes walk away. There is also a huge hypermarket, as mentioned above, selling everything from wine, food, cheap clothes for when the airline has lost your luggage, to refrigerators.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2008

Recently on my first trip to Milan; stayed at the Visconti together with my wife. I must say - the front desk staff must have been one of the most unfriendly around. Have a devil may care attitude where they don't even acknowledge the presence of a guest to the hotel to attend to when we check in. Have to wait for a long time to be served. Even when being served, the front desk staff will show you this totally couldn't be bothered attitude and will roll her eyes at you when you ask for further questions pertaining to the hotel service offerings.

The hotel was very hot and stuffy - the room temperature was set at 25.8 degrees. When we complained about the situation and wanted to turn on the air-conditioning - was told that the hotel does not allow this during winter period! - hence had no choice but to open the windows to allow air to circulate the room and make it at least bearable to stay in.

The bed was hard and so are the pillows.

The porters - were also not helpful at all in wanting to assist us with our luggages.

Location wise of the hotel is not too bad.

Certainly leave a lot to be desired.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Front Desk staff attitude stinks, inflexibility in allowing air-conditioning to a stuffy room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FabD, Rooms Division Manager at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, March 31, 2008
Dear Guest,

I very much appreciated your review.
As always, we would like to learn from particular "bad experiences", therefore I would like to discuss your comments further, if you would like to.

Please contact me on (+39)02540341or write to fabio.dellea@grandviscontipalace.com. I will be glad to reserve some time to analyse the quality of your stay at the Grand Visconti Palace.

Thank you and best regards.

Fabio Dellea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, MN
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2008

The Grand Visconti Palace is a breath of fresh air on the Milan hotel scene, which generally consists of small, poorly maintained, overpriced properties with cold service. Since I go to Milan fairly often on work, after suffering through many unpleasant experiences, I found the Grand Visconti an oasis -- with beautiful, calm, spotlessly clean rooms, the visual relief of a green garden, a fabulous free breakfast (fresh-squeezed orange juice!), and pretty good, if not gushing, service. The front desk staff were pleasant and efficient. There were some excellent restaurants nearby -- e.g. Alice & Dongio, and the hotel restaurant itself was outstanding but pricey.

The hotel layout is a bit odd -- it meanders -- and getting to the hotel restaurant on the fifth floor, or to the spa, is a bit of a challenge, but whoever I met was quite eager to help me find my way -- a cleaning woman actually led me all the way to the spa, a good 5 minute walk.

Finally, contrary to all the discussion about how far the hotel is from the city center, I found it to be a 15 minute subway ride and a 20 minute cab ride from the Duomo, and a 10 minute cab ride from the Navigli area, which is where the street nightlife in Milan (for what it is worth) is. This is partly because Milan is not a city with a buzzing street life -- all the good stuff happens behind closed doors. Walking around at night, even in the famed Brera area, you could be in a graveyard, even on a weekend. You really have to know where to go, and there, the hotel staff were most helpful, and made all the reservations.

  • Liked — Great decor, calm, greenery, spa
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Visconti Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Visconti Palace

Address: Viale Isonzo 14, 20135 Milan, Italy (Formerly Grand Visconti Palace Milan - MGallery Collection)
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Milan
#17 Business Hotel in Milan
#19 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#19 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#21 Family Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Visconti Palace 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, ACCOR, Travelocity, Tingo, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Grand Visconti Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Visconti Palace Hotel Milan
Grand Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Visconti Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.