We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hotel in Milan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Visconti Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Visconti Palace to your Saves list
Grand Visconti Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Isonzo 14, 20135 Milan, Italy (Formerly Grand Visconti Palace Milan - MGallery Collection)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 432 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel in Milan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

A most comfortable hotel with good facilities. Foyer, bar, restaurant, rooms and lounge areas spacious clean and well presented. Free WiFi in ground floor public areas but didn't work in rooms. Be sure to ask for non smoking rooms. We were booked into three disabled rooms on our second visit to the hotel which was not what we requested however no change was considered. Gentlemen at Reception desk quite abrupt and unhelpful, the women always helpful and gracious. Staff elsewhere delightful. Would recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvl, Duty Manager at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Good morning Ms Patricia B,

Here at the Grand Visconti Palace Hotel we have various type of rooms: classic, superior and deluxe. Four of our superior rooms are equipped with bathrooms for our disabled guests. We were most probably fully booked and this is why we could not change the rooms for you and we maintained the free upgrade.
However this is no excuse if you felt unhelped at the front desk, we do do apologize and we can assure you this is by no means our standards.

We hope to have you as one of our appreciated guest in the near future here at the Grand Visconti Palace Hotel.

Kind Regards

Debora Bonati
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    415
    76
    35
    23
See reviews for
188
376
50
293
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a week in July to celebrate our 5th Wedding anniversary. Upon arriving at the hotel we were upgrading because of this which was nice.

Our room was spacious and clean and had a nice bathroom.

Breakfast was plentiful.

Location was great. A 30 minute stroll to Duomo or 2 minutes round the corner to Lodi Metro and only 4 stops along the yellow line.

Recommend this hotel for business or travel.

The staff were friendly and full of information regarding trips and restaurant etc.

There was one or two reasons why I haven't given a five star review.

Room service which we had on the first night as we arrived late was fairly poor standard given the cost and despite being given free passes to the spa for a day due to our anniversary we had to pay 5 euros each for a cap! Apparently you couldn't go in the pool without this.

These are minor issues and I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel to friends, family or colleagues.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvl, Duty Manager at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Stu de don,

thank you for taking the time to write your feedback regarding your stay at the Grand Visconti Palace Hotel.

We are very happy you enjoyed your time here and we do apologize if you felt the room service was poor, we are definetely pass your concern to the Food & Beverage Manager.

As far as the swimming caps are concern,unfortunately they are compulsory in all the public pools here in Italy for hygenic reasons.

We hope to see you again next year for your sixth wedding anniversary.

Kind regards

Debora Bonati
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SI NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Just returned from our stay in Milan. The Grand Visconti Palace exceeded our expectations. We were upgraded to a suite upon arrival. The room was large, very well decorated with a beautiful bathroom. It was immaculately clean and we enjoyed our robes and nightly turndown service. Free wifi in the lobby was a plus. The staff was very friendly and attentive, and I had communicated with the concierge a few times prior to our arrival as well. Breakfast was more than plentiful. We enjoyed time outside on the terrace and also watched the World Cup in the bar. The only downside for me was that it was not close enough to walk to the city center. We did take the Metro, which was about a block away, and usually a cab back at night. Would recommend .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvl, Duty Manager at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear College11, thank you for your feedback.

We like to pamper our guest and whenever possible we do give free upgrades, unfortunately it is not possible all the times.

We hope you will come back to stay here at the Grand Visconti Palace Hotel

Kind Regards

Debora Bonati
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We had one night to spend in Milan before a very early flight out of Milano-Malpensa airport the next morning. We noticed that the price for the Presidential Suite, when divided by three people, was less expensive than most individual rooms in the same and nearby hotels so we booked it and we were happy we did. We enjoyed three floors (with our own private elevator to each level) including a sunken jacuzzi tub on the top floor with views of the city. We asked for a bed to be brought in for our third friend (we were a couple staying in the king sized bed on the second floor) and it was there in the main room when we arrived. Room service was excellent and fast. We enjoyed cocktails and hors d'oeuvres on the patio near the garden and fountain. We didn't have time for swimming or spa services but we did visit the pool and spa and wished we had more time there. We parked our car in the underground garage with easy in/out access on the side of the building. Breakfast left us with few options to take with us on the drive to the airport but we did get some fresh fruit at least. Check out was fast and we had help loading our luggage into the car.

The only tricky part was our arrival. The GPS directed us to approach the building on a one-way street to the left of the entrance so we had to go around the block to pull up to the front doors and there was a tour bus parked there for quite a while. We pulled around to the side and double parked while one of us went in to get assistance with our bags. A bellman came right out with a cart and brought our luggage to the room.

We did have trouble with the wi-fi as we were three individuals in one room with an assortment of devices. After purchasing the 24-hour wi-fi pass, we maxed out the devices and were locked out completely. A trip to the front desk fixed the problem and we were given three separate free wi-fi codes to use instead. We were a bit shocked that there wasn't free wi-fi in the rooms, especially in the presidential suite.

If we had more time in Milan, we would have explored the city center by hopping on the Metro very close to the hotel but didn't really like the idea of the Metro or a 30 minute walk to see the Duomo at night.

We felt it was a great value for the cost and we would stay at this property again. Warning though: Friday morning traffic was busy and it took about 45 minutes to get to the airport after checking out.

Room Tip: Ask for an interior garden room for a better view and quieter. The Presidential Suite is a great va...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvl, Duty Manager at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Tnecco,

we are glad you had the opportunity to enjoy our Presidential Suite and our hotel in general.

As far as the internet is concerned when a code is purchased it can be used for three different devices and we have free connection in all the common area of the hotel.

We understood you flew out from Milano Malpensa, this is not the closest airport to us, infact it is km55 away and we normally suggest our guests that the journey will take aproximately an hour.
For your next visit you can plan your flight to land and/or to depart from Milano Linate, which is only about 20 minutes drive from us.

We are happy to know you would stay at the Grand Visconti Palace Hotel again and next time we hope you will have the time to go and visit the Duomo.

Kind Regards

Debora Bonati
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

An absolute gem just outside of city central Milan. Staff are helpful and especially Marco the concierge. Easy to get around as metro is just up the street and connects you to all the sites within a few minutes.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvl, Duty Manager at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Agencestop, thank you for taking the time to write your comment about your stay.

As you mentioned the hotel is located only at four underground stops from Duomo Square, the heart of Milan , a shourt journey which lasts less than 10 minutes.

We truly hope you will come to stay again at the Grand Visconti Palace Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Debora Bonati
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I stayed at the Grand Visconti in Milan recently on a business trip. Indeed we used the hotel's conference facilities also.

We had little choice the week we choose given Fashion Week spillover. I found the overall experience...fine, just OK. The Hotel certainly felt like it had seen better days, a little tired and in need of a refresh to make it reverent and desirable.

Its a strange layout - a bit of a rabbit-warren - meaning you had to walk down long corridors to find the right lift for your destination.

My room was large, however the bed was super hard. Some people like this, indeed firm is fine but this bed really didn't help a good nights sleep. I would advise getting a room facing the courtyard, as the street I looked out on was very noisy - late at night and early morning. Shame complementary mineral water wasn't available - i think this is a must in hotels like this one.

I had a selection of meals at the hotel - from the 5th floor restaurant which was good, breakfast was pretty standard. Lunch provided as part of our conference was excellent though - taken outside in the courtyard. This was vital as we were trapped for 2 days in a window-less, air-less basement conference suite. One of the worst rooms i've used for conferences - long and thin. AV support was always on hand but the room didn't make for a great event sadly.

Staff were generally pretty helpful, especially the door staff in finding taxis.

My biggest gripe - as ever with business hotels, was the charging for wifi in your room. I find this unacceptable these days. Yes in common areas and conference suite there was wifi - but sometimes you need to get work done in your room too.

So average is a fair score based on my experience

Room Tip: Ask for a room with courtyard view to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvl, Duty Manager at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Good afternoon Mr Richard S, thank you for your feedback.

The strange layout of the Grand Visconti Palace Hotel is due to the fact that it used to be a mill where the train with flour came right inside the garden.
When the owner bought the building he decided to keep the odd shape and we are now very proud of it although we admit at first it can be a bit intriguing.

We are a quite new hotel as we just celebrated our 10th anniversary and our style is classic with a touch of contemporary, we have a variety of rooms and suite and if our guests would like to have a room overlooking the beautiful garden we suggest to book a deluxe room.

As far as the internet is concerned, it is free as you mentioned in all the common area but remains on payment in the rooms as stated on our website.

We will also pass on your comments to the events and food & beverage manager and we hope you will come back to visit us in the near future.

Kind Regards

Debora Bonati
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The hotel is located approx 5 minute walk from LODI TIBB metro stop - which can take you into the touristy parts of the City in 15 minutes.

The rooms were a good size, clean and quiet. The bathroom was clean although I felt the shower could have been better. The rooms had LAN internet access (at an extra cost) but no WIFI - although there is 1 hour free WIFI available from the lobby.

Guests get one free spa pass per night. The spa is lovely - we didn't get any treatments but did use the swimming pool, sauna and steam room. One point to note is that you are required to wear a swimming cap in the swimming pool and will not be allowed to access the facilities without one. You can purchase them from the spa reception desk but they are expensive for what they are.

We stayed here on a B&B basis and felt that the breakfast was of good quality. There was a lot of choice ranging from cold meats and cheeses to pastries and cereals. You can help yourself to however much you want and there is a waiting service for drinks.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvl, Responsabile reception at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Jilimac10,

We thank you for visiting Grand Visconti Palace Milano as well as for taking the time give us your feedback. It is nice to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Visconti Palace in the near future, we remain at your complete disposal for any further assistance and information you may need.

Best Regards,

Yveline Corthier
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Enterprise Hotel
#31 of 432 in Milan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,023 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#19 of 432 in Milan
4.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navigli
Residence Aramis Milan Downtown
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#8 of 432 in Milan
4.5 of 5 stars 4,567 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Visconti Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Visconti Palace

Address: Viale Isonzo 14, 20135 Milan, Italy (Formerly Grand Visconti Palace Milan - MGallery Collection)
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Milan
#21 Family Hotel in Milan
#24 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#26 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#32 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Visconti Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Visconti Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Visconti Palace Hotel Milan
Grand Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Visconti Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.