We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eco-Hotel La Residenza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Eco-Hotel La Residenza to your Saves list
Eco-Hotel La Residenza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Vittorio Scialoia 3, 20161 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 427 Hotels in Milan
GreenLeadersGold level
Troy, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Metro walking distance (3 mins) got you to city centre in about 10 mins. good authentic restaurant locations down the street. receptionists very helpful - all spoke english. good breakfast buffet. great rooms - CLEAN. overall, great experience. stayed 3 nights.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoHotelLaResidenza, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Eco-Hotel La Residenza, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Emily,

we would like to thank you for the review and for the compliments.
We hope to see you soon in our hotel.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    201
    59
    19
    17
See reviews for
85
142
62
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Really nice place! 9 stops with M3 line of the subway to Duomo, at the heart of Milan. Staff was kind and helpful. The apartment was modern and clean. The breakfast- unique! You can choose from a great variety of food; coffee- American(from a machine),but good. You can order an Italian coffee for a 1.5 EUR '. Hope to go there again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoHotelLaResidenza, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Eco-Hotel La Residenza, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for the review and for choosing our EcoHotel.
We are very happy that you enjoyed our hotel, our services and the staff.
We would like to specify that the coffee at the bar costs 1 euro, not 1.50 euro.
In the breakfast room there are machines for capuccino, tea and coffe, but asking to the waiters you can have an Espresso coffee like the one in the bar.
We hope to see you soon.
Best Regards
Greta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Out of central Milan with not too much nearby, yet only a 500m odd walk to the Metro, and then it's only a matter of 15 min away from the Duomo station, so all in all worth sacrificing location for the savings to be enjoyed, versus other hotels. The studio room is also great value, and the only drawback is it's close location to reception, (although with the internal door closed noise isn't an issue), and the loss of a shower door temporarily due to last guest breaking the glass door just before my arrival! The free wifi availability is also worth noting. The only other negative I could mention is the in room TV, both in its size and also lack of decent channels, with not one international news channel available. On the positive side and worth mentioning is the excellent restaurant in the hotel, which offers great value & quality of food for dinner & lunch if not in the mood to catch the metro! Could definitely recommend and consider staying at again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoHotelLaResidenza, Responsabile reception at Eco-Hotel La Residenza, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our EcoHotel and for writing this review that we are pleased to read.
We would like to apologize once again for the inconvenience about the glass door of the shower. We know that it could have caused you annoyance.
Unfortunately, as you wrote, the previous guest has accidentally damaged the glass. This is the only Suite we have, so we couldn’t assign another one. As you may remember, to apologize we offer you a bottle of organic wine and at the moment we have replaced the glass with a normal shower curtain. We know that these efforts can not be an excuse, but we hope that our hospitality and our services have made your stay very pleasant. We would also like to thank you for your understanding in spite of the inconvenience. As you have pointed out, the proximity of the Junior Suites to the front office desk doesn’t create any noise thanks to the excellent soundproofing walls of the room.

We are sorry that you were not able to find international channels on the television, we have about 20 starting from451. Probably you haven’t notice the list that we leave in the directory of the room. The reception staff would have helped you indicating the various foreign channels available.

Thank you for the compliment about our organic restaurant. The maitre, the chef and the waiters really appreciated your words..

We hope to welcome you again, please do not hesitate to contact us directly and we will be happy to reserve you a special treat to apologize again for the inconvenience.

A presto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Bernardo Do Campo, SP
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I´ve just returned from my trip to Milan.
"La Residenza Hotel" was the right option. It´s not at downtown area but in a calm neighborhood very close to the subway station (Affori Centro). Near a big supermarket- Esselunga. I´ve been there for many times!
The room is comfortable even for 3 people. Very clean and cozy. Thanks to the nice and shy asiatic housekeeper.
The breakfast is good, the restaurant with tasty dishes (the organic olive oil is something! I bought a bottle) and the bar very pleasant for a tea or a delicious hot chocolate after a day long journey at the winter time.
But for me the main feature is the staff. Always friendly and ready to answer " tourist´s silly questions" in a great good mood. Special thanks to Ivan, Nadia, Ivo and Claudio.
When I come back to Milan I definitely stay at "La Residenza Hotel".

Ana Cristina and Cinthia from Brazil.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoHotelLaResidenza, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Eco-Hotel La Residenza, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear guest,

thanks for the nice review :).
Gives us great pleasure to know that you have a beautiful memory of our eco-hotel and our staff.
Ivan, Ivo, Claudio, Nadia and all the rest of the staff greets you and sends a big hug.
We are happy you also liked the products we sell in our Eco Shop, you'll see that with organic olive oil that you bought you can prepare delicious and healthy dishes, with rich flavor.
Unfortunately, the holidays end and is always a little regret to say goodbye, but the important thing is that all of us has a great memory of your stay.
we are waiting for your next trip.
Arrivederci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed there last August. The air conditioning didn't work from midnight till morning. They couldn't fix it.
It looked like an old problem.
We didn't sleep all night.
They didn't even apologize and told us that other pople didn't complaine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoHotelLaResidenza, Responsabile reception at Eco-Hotel La Residenza, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for reminding of us after 7 months from your staying even if you want to inform us about your disappoint.
Honestly we don’t remember any malfunction of the air conditioning in the hotel last summer. We remember few hot days in August and the hotel and the shopping centers in our area, were the only places where people could get fresh.
We do apologize if your expectations were not satisfy, the manager and the staff always try to give to their guests the best experience. Our “motto” is "happy guests, happy hotel" and if you perceived a lack of interest on our part, it means that we have not been sufficiently proactive. For this reason we are very sorry.
We hope to host you again to prove the high quality of our service.
Have a nice day.
The manager and staff of EcoHotel La Residenza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Really nice place to stay. Good prices and kind staff. it has a good location, underground station in 5 minutes walking, 20 minutes from the city center and the supermarket in 5 minutes.
Sometimes the music in the hall pissed me off, because it was too loud. despite this fact, it was always quiet. Delicious breakfasts and pleasant atmosphere.
in the end we had to pay the city tax. i was surprised, because the tourist agency that booked this hotel for us never mentioned about that. So be prepared to pay 4 euros per person per each night you stay there.
in total i was satisfied.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoHotelLaResidenza, Responsabile reception at Eco-Hotel La Residenza, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear guest,

first of all thanks for the feedback you left and for choosing our hotel for your stay in Milan.
Reviews like yours make us very proud of our daily work and thanks to your recommendations , we try to improve every day our hospitality service .
For this reason, we would be even happier to help you, if you notified to the front desk your discomfort caused by the level of the music in the floors , we would readily reduced the volume.
In any case , we apologize for the inconvenience.
We are very happy that you enjoyed our breakfast , hoping you stay with us again , we invite you to try our organic and biodynamic restaurant .
With reference to the city tax , we regret very much to know that the agency did not advise you previously , but we wish to inform you that we are telling to the agencies that work with us , always to give this information at the time of booking , so you will not get any unpleasant surprises at the arrival in the hotel.
We thank you again and we wish you a good day.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed there for one night at the beginning of February.
The hotel is a little bit outside of the city center, but conveniently located close to the Metro station. It's about 6 stops or 10 minutes on the Metro from Milano Centrale.

There is a large supermarket next to the metro station and there are several restaurants on the main street, about 4 blocks from the hotel...

We arrived there about 2 hours before check in time and we were given our room keys with no hassle.

The room itself was a little bit on the small side, but this is very common for Italy or most European cities. Yet we had a flat screen TV, Minibar, Safe and a full bathroom including a bidet.

The hotel is in a very quiet area, no noise issues.

We had breakfast included and it was great. The selection includes variety of pastries/breads, cold meats and cheeses and other items you can expect on a full European Breakfast Buffet. There are two coffee machines to make all sort of coffees and a juice dispenser as well. They also had a small station with baby food or items for smaller children.

The hotel is eco friendly and a member of Eco Hotels. All the bathroom products were eco friendly and interestingly all the furniture in the lobby and bar area were made out of cardboard.

What is the biggest asset of this hotel is the staff. During our stay we dealt mostly with an older Italian gentleman who was very gracious and helpful., Not only was he very knowledgeable about the city but he also gave us a free tour of the hotel and explained to us the different aspects of being an "eco Hotel". Everyone from the housekeeping staff, to the restaurant staff and front desk were extremely friendly and always smiling.

The hotel offers free wi-fi for its guests. If you sign in via your facebook account, beware that it will post to your wall.

The hotel also charges a 4 euros per person city tourism tax upon check out.

We would definitely stay there again and also recommend the hotel to anyone going to Milan...

Room Tip: It looks like that there are some rooms that have shower only..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoHotelLaResidenza, Responsabile reception at Eco-Hotel La Residenza, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the positive feedback and for your review on TripAdvisor.com.
we are very happy that you appreciated the kindness of our staff and the front office manager remember you with a great pleasure. Our focus is to make your stay as pleasant as possible and give you all the information you need to visit our beautiful city.
The green philosophy is the strength of our service and we remain really impressed when our customers commented positively our initiatives.
As you could verify, also the choice of having organic food for breakfast serviceand for restaurant, is a green action for our earth.
We thank you again and renew our invitation to come back to us!
Have a good day.
Arrivederci
goodbye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eco-Hotel La Residenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco-Hotel La Residenza

Address: Via Vittorio Scialoia 3, 20161 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eco-Hotel La Residenza 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel La Residenza is an ecohotel certified by the EcoWorldHotel environmental quality mark, located in a green and quiet area in the northern part of Milan named Affori.The subway station (M3 Affori Centro) is at only 300 mt far from the hotel and it allows to reach quickly the center (Duomo – 5 km) and the Central Station (4 km).The ecotourism philosophy is spread throughout the hotel: several solutions are adopted to reduce the impact of the facilities on the environment, such as the use of alternative energy sources, low voltage light bulbs, ecological paper and toiletries with a fully recyclable packaging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eco-Hotel La Residenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eco-Hotel La Residenza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.