We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No love in food and service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of A Summer Place

A Summer Place
Via Lazzaro Palazzi, 23, 20124 Milan, Italy
02 29405454
Improve this listing
Ranked #533 of 5,269 Restaurants in Milan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $19 - $32
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“No love in food and service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was a disappointment to us, and we really don't understand the good reviews at TA. You can get so much better food in Italy, with much more love prepared, this was the worst restaurant in our 5 day stay in Milan. The restaurant is indeed cozy, we were there on Saturday evening. Every table has different tableware and different glasses, which adds to the atmosphere. But the food is not so good. Maybe we should have tried the pizza! The complimentary bread was dry and hard. We ate the Salade Caprese, but the tomatoes were tasteless and hard. For main course we had the veal cutlet and the entrecôte. The portions were large, a whole plate full with meat, and maybe that's the reason for good reviews. But it didn't look and taste appetizing. Although the entrecôte -not medium done as ordered, but rather raw- was moderate. The veal cutlet however was tasteless and dry, and it needed a lot of lemon juice to get it swallowed. We noticed that the two waiters were hard working but they were not attentive, and mainly in a hurry. No room for small talk. We ate half the main course and left within 45 minutes without coffee and desert. I don't think they cared because the waiters were busy with a large group that walked in. Not so nice place to spend a Saturday evening to wine and dine. Although not expensive, to much money for this quality. But maybe it's good if you want to have a very fast dinner with pizza.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    24
    17
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“A must visit for a delicious meal in a relaxed atmosphere, no rushing you out of the door.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The food is great, and is reasonably priced, three courses and a couple of drinks each for two came to €63, that and the fact that many Italians, of all age groups, eat there is, in itself, sufficient recommendation.

The starter of Tuscany ham and salami with black olive pate was out of this world, as was the ravioli with meat and tomato sauce.
Portions are good-sized and the tiramisu to finish was delicious and plentiful.

Highly recommended and very close to a tram stop for tram number 1 or tram number 33. (Less than a minutes walk.)
It's worth making the effort to attempt Italian pronunciation when ordering as it engages the staff.

It's located just across the road from the Hotel Sanpi Milano where we stayed. That's also highly recommended.

Finally, it may not look as if it is in the most elegant of locations but it is very safe, spray paint seems to adorn buildings everywhere in Milan!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Average... just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We went to this restaurant due to the great reviews on TA, but we were a bit disappointed. We were in Milan for the first time and we wanted to taste some local pizza...
After sitting down at the table we realized that there was no wood oven, but only a very new one... That took us by surprise and disappointed us because we know that no matter how good is a new technology oven, the traditional way of baking a pizza is the best.
The service was ok, nothing exciting, just polite. We ordered two pizzas - one with aubergines and another one with prosciutto. The size was ok, but they did not taste very good. They were very quickly prepared and without proper attention. They had very little tomato sauce and the overall taste was missing something! Furthermore, you should search with the microscope to find the prosciutto (if there was any...).

No desert was offered (in contrast to what other reviewers were saying).
The price was good (for Milan). If i remember correctly it was about 10-12 euros per pizza.
Sorry, but I wouldn't visit that restaurant again...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“The House Specialty Pizza is Enormous”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This eatery is themed around a film of the same name that I have never heard of so I probably missed something I should have appreciated more.

We chose to eat here as it was one of the earliest openers (6.30pm) as we were going to a show. We both had pizza's and I had the house specialty which was huge with tuna, mozzarella (a whole weeks production from your average buffalo it seemed) with tomatoes and rocket) and I just couldn't finish it. It did keep me full for the next 18 hours however.

The restaurant was very clean and the staff very friendly. As we were the only ones mad enough to eat that early, there was no great atmosphere but that had more to do with our timetable.

We would try it again but in less of a rush and at a later time and I might read up on the film to better appreciate the theme..

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Really good place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We enjoyed a meal with our friends while staying at Hotel Sanpi. The staff were really welcoming and the food delicious. We enjoyed ravioli with porcini mushrooms and Tuscan sausage with carnelian beans before a delicious dessert of biscotti dipped in liqueur. When paying the bill we received a free limoncello - altogether a delightful place for a memorable meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Summer Place also viewed

 

Been to A Summer Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Summer Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.