We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location only!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Virgilio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Virgilio to your Saves list
Hotel Virgilio
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Pierluigi da Palestrina, 30, 20124 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #401 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good location only!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After arriving late in the evening to our hotel, we were greeted by two members of the staff presumeably the owner and his son who infomred us that unfortunatley there was a problem with our room and we would have to stay the night in a separate hotel called Gran Sasso and return to this hotel for our second night as the problem would be sorted on a Sunday morning. The older gentleman kindly drove us to our hotel which was not 500 metres away as the younger man had orginally informed us. The other hotel was terrible, we were put in a room next to the family and could here them talking, shouting and watching the tv. The room smelt of stale old smoke that I felt was in all my clothes after the night. After returning to Hotel Virgilio the following day we did not get a pleasant reception. The older gentleman informed us the night before that we could telephone him in the morning and he would collect us and bring us to our orginial hotel but when we did he screamed at us said no, he then said they would pay for a taxi. After getting out of the taxi which he did pay for as he said he would started to shout some more at me to inform me that the room is still not ready, so we asked could we at least leave our luagge here until later. On return that evening we were welcomed by a frosty reception, our room was pleasant but there was a smell of stale sewerage and again stale smoke in the bathroom but thankfully there was a spearate door from that to our bedroom. The hotel was not that expensive and is very basic so you get what you pay for, the location is ideal as it is right beside the main central station for getting about.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOwner2013, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Virgilio, responded to this review, 1 week ago
OMG, it looks like a real spy-story! We are very surprised to read that hotel Gran Sasso is "terrible", and we are doubly surprised that this guests did not appreciate our availability to remedy the unforeseen. We brought them with our car to the hotel Gran Sasso, and the day after we paid a taxi to our hotel in early morning. The rooms are available after noon.
Nobody has the permission to smoke in the rooms of the hotel . Smoke detectors overall. We can't verify if our guests don't respect this rule. Last but not least, we did everything possible, even more, for the guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    8
    10
    18
See reviews for
4
12
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

The location of the hotel is really good. The room looks ok and the staff is very friendly. However, the first night was a bit chilly in the room as heating was not that strong. Also, later in the night had to open the balcony as it was stinking from the bathroom, which is separated only with a folding doors. Apparently that room was having problems with the plumbing. Also the sink was leaking water down to the garbage bin.
The neighbours were quite noisy, so could hear people screaming or some banging on the doors.
A woman working there was super friendly and very helpful. She had amazing, big, Italian smile.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOwner2013, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Virgilio, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
A big thank you from the staff, and a brilliant smile from the lady of the front desk staff.
We have reopen this year after two months of renovation. There are still a few things to do, but we are working on it. We hope to see you soon as our guest in Milan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

This hotel is located near central milano. Looked okay from the outside but the lift was tiny and the doors would not close properly. The hotel room door had graffetti on it before I had entered the room. There were no towels included, no plug sockets in site and the safety deposit box was no where to be seen. The bed was dirty and there was a shared bathroom between all the rooms which smelt. However the staff were lovely and very helpful, they understood. When we agreed to be upgraded the balcony doors would not close. If you must stay here stay for a night is tolerable then.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOwner2013, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Virgilio, responded to this review, November 1, 2014
Thank you from the front desk staff.
We suppose that the room this guest refers to, belongs to our most economic category without private bath. Possibly the cheapest price in town. Comune baths are comune, and our cleaning staff do not work 24 ours a day. Of course we have a choice of rooms with more facilities, safety-box included, at a slightly price. We have reopen this year after two months of renovation. There are still a few things to do, but we are working on it, especially for the cheap rooms without private bath.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Milan hotels

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We got the cheap room as we were travelling on a budget, and when i walked into the room i was shocked it was horrible, there was no plugs, a window 90 degree angle from ours to strangers could see in, cracked tiles, dirty looking i would avoid this room at all costs!!! we complained and up-graded for an extra 100€ and the room we were given was ok for the money we paid, nothing fancy at all, the only problem was we could not get the window/balcony door to close, in the end we left without staying at all... all throughout this process the staff was very kind and polite and could not fault them at all and the hotel is in a great location, and would recommend it if you are only in your room just to sleep, as you want to spend the less time as possible in there.

Room Tip: avoid room 22, and get a bathroom included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOwner2013, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Virgilio, responded to this review, November 1, 2014
Thank you from the front desk staff.
We suppose that the first room this guest refers to, belongs to our most economic category without private bath. Of course we have a choice of rooms with more facilities at a slightly price. We have reopen this year after two months of renovation. There are still a few things to do, but we are working on it, especially for the cheap rooms without private bath. Thanks for the comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

This is a budget hotel - let me be clear of that and the rating is based on this fact.

It is excellent location for the city centre and located adjacent to the Central Station. The hotel is basic but clean and whilst the décor and furnishings are dated if you accept that it is real good value with no pretence.

The staff are very helpful and polite. There is free WiFi. NOTE there is no air con so imagine will be hot in the peak of summer. Room also smelt of cigarette but was clean.

TIP - Take some shower gel and be advised there are no room tea / coffee making facilities. There are lots of cafes nearby.

TRAVEL TIP - If you arrive into Malpensa Airport through a budget airline it will be to Terminal 2. Leave the airport terminal and wait at the bus stop outside for transfer bus to Terminal 1. At T1 you will have a choice of Bus or Train which will take you to Milan Central Station (around the corner from the hotel). Bus is 10 Euro return and train is 24 Euro return.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOwner2013, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Virgilio, responded to this review, October 10, 2014
A big THANK YOU fom the staff ****
We hope to see you soon at our hotel in Milan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kosice
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Unfortunately I can't write much good about this hotel. It's close to the train station (airport shuttle), it's extremely cheap, the staff was great. However the rooms looked worse then the worst college dorm rooms I've ever seen. The shared bathroom was pretty bad too..

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOwner2013, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Virgilio, responded to this review, October 10, 2014
Thank you from the staff!
We suppose that the room this guest refers to, belongs to our most economic category: 35,00 euro. Possibly the cheapest price in town.Of course we have a choice of rooms with more facilities at a slightly price.
We have just reopen after two months of renovation. There are still a few things to do, but we are working on it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

i stayed at the hotel this past weekend-it was a rainy arrival to Milan and it appeared my room was not cleaned well from the last guest, there was enough human hair on the floor to make me very disgusted. the was no pole in the closet to hang clothes and a few hangers lying around. i asked that the room be REALLY cleaned well. it was merely straightened up-there were still dirt on the floors. There wort part was the smell-TERRIBLE-i thought it was the dog park from across the street but i think it was because there was no bathroom people used the terrace to urinate. the smell was not there when the terrace was closed, but then it just smelled really old. Too bad as it is a lovely building with very nice staff but i could never see myself staying there again. Sorry.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOwner2013, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Virgilio, responded to this review, October 10, 2014
We suppose that the room this guest refers to, belongs to our most economic category: 35,00 euro. Possibly the cheapest price in town.Of course we have a choice of rooms with more facilities at a slightly price.
We have just reopen after two months of renovation. There are still a few things to do, but we are working on it.
Thank you from the desk staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Virgilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Virgilio

Address: Via Pierluigi da Palestrina, 30, 20124 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #401 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Virgilio 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2-Star Hotel recently renovated, located in avery quiet though central area, close to the Central Station and to the Underground lines.We offer double and single rooms with bathroom and amenities, and Economy rooms, with shared bathroom.Breakfast not includedin the room price, available upon request in a conventioned bistrot nearby.Snacks and hot/cold drinks distributors in the hall.Small size dogs allowed upon management approval.No smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Virgilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virgilio Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Virgilio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.