We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Note 4.5” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Virgilio

Save Saved
You added Hotel Virgilio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Virgilio
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Pierluigi da Palestrina, 30, 20124 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #405 of 432 hotels in Milan
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Note 4.5”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stay just 1 night and it is enough, they very kind and serve some coffee and some juice for us very in the morning when we go to airport .
The location it is very good it is near to Stazione centrale !
But in rooms everything loks like hell .
The windows dose not closed !
It is like in Hell !
Stay away !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    2
    6
    5
See reviews for
1
4
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I am very sorry for this review but thats the most terible place in the world and its a Hotel and have 2 stars.
Room is old,tv broken,reception smels like toalet,elevator from 1st world war,bathroom disaster,everything dont work properly.
One word terible.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I'm confused by all of the negative reviews because honestly this place serviced our needs just fine. If you are looking for a location extremely close to the train station and with friendly staff and amazing prices then go here! Also a close walk to the metro station.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOwner2013, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Virgilio, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your comment, Rebecca S. We hope to see you soon in Milan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crailsheim, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I just booked this hotel for short city trip and as I travel through the Italy by train, it was important for me to stay close to central train station...when I entered to standard single room....the first view was....ufff....terrible smell in room, terrible bed...you're afraid even to touch something. People are not animals!!! Even for those prices!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOwner2013, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Virgilio, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
We suppose that the room this guest refers to, belongs to our most economic category: 35,00 euro, city tax included. Possibly the cheapest price in town.Of course we have a choice of rooms with more facilities at a slightly price.
We have just reopen after two months of renovation. There are still a few things to do, but we are working on it.
Finally, we would like to add, that we love animals as human beings and we are glad to host them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We needed a hotel for just a few hours.
Virgilio Hotel in Milan was the perfect choice for this, as it is really near the central station (only 5 minutes).

Yet, this - the lobby - and the friendly personal was the only positive things.
The bathroom was shared and its condition really bad. I was glad not to be in a need of using it too much. For example, there was no curtain between shower and the toilet.

The room was - despite the bed - quite bad. The condition was low. For example only one plug in the room, which was also kind of broken (it was working but no save).

One more point, that was really bad, was the city tax. As an 2-star hotel. we should pay 2 Euro per Person (1-Star - 1 €, 3 Star - 2 €). Yet we had to pay 3 Euro p.P. Although we didn't get any receipt for it, so if you stay there make sure to ask for it.

One more thing was the wifi. We got an password for it, but it didn't work at all.

To sum up:
+Location
+Friendly personal
+Good lobby
+Clean towels

-Condition of the rooms
-overpriced room and tourist tax!
We payed way to much!! This room was not worth more than 20 (max. 30) Euro together!!)
-WiFi not working
-Wrong pictures in the internet. The real condition of the rooms is much worse.


To sum up: Its ok to stay for a night, but i don't recommend it if you find something better, stay longer or avalable alternative solutions.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOwner2013, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Virgilio, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
A big thank you from the front desk staff.
We suppose that the room this guest refers to, belongs to our most economic category without private bath. Possibly the cheapest price in town. Of course we have a choice of rooms with more facilities at a slightly price. We have just reopen after two months of renovation. There are still a few things to do, but we are working on it, especially for the cheap rooms without private bath. At last, we believe that shower curtains aren't hygienic, so we prefer not to use it
Our two stars hotel has to pay to the Comune di Milano a city tax of three euro for guest for night.
Everybody can have at the reception the receipt.
1 ✩ - euro 2
2 ✩✩ - euro 3
3 ✩✩✩ - euro 4
4 ✩✩✩✩ - euro 5
5 ✩✩✩✩✩ - euro 5
Wifi is free. One month ago we made a contract for fibra 100 with fastweb. With our disappointment they wire Adsl 20! We requested to comply with the contract. They have to respect the contract as soon as possible.
Thank you for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Virgilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Virgilio

Address: Via Pierluigi da Palestrina, 30, 20124 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #405 of 432 hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Virgilio 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2-Star Hotel recently renovated, located in avery quiet though central area, close to the Central Station and to the Underground lines.We offer double and single rooms with bathroom and amenities, and Economy rooms, with shared bathroom.Breakfast not includedin the room price, available upon request in a conventioned bistrot nearby.Snacks and hot/cold drinks distributors in the hall.Small size dogs allowed upon management approval.No smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, HotelsClick, Tingo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Virgilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virgilio Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Virgilio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.