We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Piacenza

Save Saved
You added Hotel Piacenza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Piacenza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Piacenza, 4, 20135 Milan, Italy (Porta Ticinese)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #214 of 433 hotels in Milan
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Basic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

A small hotel in a nice location - 3 Metro stops from the Duomo. Clean but the room was small and very basic. The shower very very small. Although said that there is free Wifi in the room - very weak connection in first floor,
Breakfast simple but ok. Staff very very helpful and nice.
It's a nice hotel for a 1-2 nights, when you come to Milan to tour the city andanyway you are most of the time out...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    24
    24
    9
    2
See reviews for
11
6
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

lovely hotel that was more than adequate for a quick weekend away to watch the formula one at monza. The staff where very helpful and the local restaurants provided excellent food at realistic proces. The breakfast at the hotel was fresh and lovely.
downside - very small rooms (which wgere clean) and local tourist tax of 3 euros each night.

Room Tip: keep the aircon on as it gets quite hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Hotel Piacenza was the start of our June 2011 Italy trip. This Rick Steves recommendation proved to be a nice starting point for our trip. The room was simple, clean, and more than adequate. The staff was more than willing to help us get oriented to the city, provide us with maps and other information, and allow us to use a computer in the lobby for free internet and email use. The breakfast the next morning was very nice with a variety of typical European breakfast goodies, table service, an open window to a rainy morning street scene. In the evening, located just down the street, we had a great happy hour with a good variety of tasty munchies that served as our dinner. Milan proved to be a good place to start our Italian adventure and Hotel Piacenza proved to be a very good choice. Ciao to Giuseppe! Tim and Susan from Arizona...

Room Tip: Tell them Rick Steves sent you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

We found this the perfect stopover in Milan while driving though Italy. It came recommended by Milanese friends. You can park right outside (with luck) The rooms are well designed and furnished for a city center hotel, the staff friendly and with a small bar, breakfast room.

It is easy to find; a turning off the Corso Lodi just before the Porta Romana; near the Metro, a couple of stops to the Duomo and a nice area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

Like the other reviewer, we were also fooled by the description on the hotel's website that it is just a short stroll from Bocconi University. (Were there for a conference.) It is at least a 25-minute walk.

This hotel is not close to any other attractions either. On Fridays, there is an outdoor market in front of the hotel - vendors sell fruits and vegetables, but also a lot of junk. The street is left filthy afterward.

The rooms are on the 1st floor, and one has to walk up a steep narrow staircase - not the best if you have heavy luggage. For what they charge, our room was tiny (even by Italian standard), and breakfast was the bare minimum, offered in a little sitting area next to the front desk. There are no other facilities at this hotel. On top of that, there is little hospitality to speak off on the part of the staff.

This place is honestly a youth hostel, not a three-star hotel. There is no way I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

When we arrived at Hotel Piacenza, the desk clerk told us he did not have a reservation for us and was full. After fussing a few minutes, he located our reservation and said that it was made through Unitravel.com, but Hotel Piacenza no longer works with this agency. After I insisted that I booked through the Hotel Piacenza website and received a confirmation from unitravel, the clerk argued. Eventually, he said he would let me use the internet to show him how I booked, but when I arrived at hotelpiacenza.com website, suddenly, the computer lost its power supply. He telephoned a nearby hotel and made a reservation for that night for us. I later checked the unitravel.com website and found that they do book Hotel Piacenza. I could not confirm whether unitravel.com is the booking agency used when one books through the hotelpizcena.com website without making another reservation.

However, we ended up better off than if our reservation had been honored. We had chosen Piacenza because it is described as a "short stroll from Bocconi" where my husband had a conference. Piacenza is about half an hour's walk; many of the hotels on the periphery of the Duomo district are a shorter walk to Bocconi, and at least the two I stayed in offer much better value (in terms of a much more upscale experience as far as at least the lobby presented.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

Hotel Piacenza in a quiet and safe part of Milan and close to the Porta Romana Metro station which is only three stops from the Duomo. The hotel is very clean and comfortable and management are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is fairly normal for Italy, pastries and delicious cappuccino and it was nice to have that included. The doors of the rooms are quite heavy so I found that even with your best efforts to close the door quietly, it still slammed quite loudly. It really didn't bother me too much, you have to expect things like that from old buildings. I would definitely stay here again the next time I'm in Milano.

  • Liked — location, quality of rooms
  • Disliked — doors slammed
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Piacenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piacenza

Address: via Piacenza, 4, 20135 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Porta Ticinese
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 433 hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piacenza 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Piacenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piacenza Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Piacenza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.