We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great location, helpful staff, and a nice breakfast.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Piacenza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Piacenza to your Saves list
Hotel Piacenza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Piacenza, 4, 20135 Milan, Italy (Porta Ticinese)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #241 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A great location, helpful staff, and a nice breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Hotel Piacenza was the start of our June 2011 Italy trip. This Rick Steves recommendation proved to be a nice starting point for our trip. The room was simple, clean, and more than adequate. The staff was more than willing to help us get oriented to the city, provide us with maps and other information, and allow us to use a computer in the lobby for free internet and email use. The breakfast the next morning was very nice with a variety of typical European breakfast goodies, table service, an open window to a rainy morning street scene. In the evening, located just down the street, we had a great happy hour with a good variety of tasty munchies that served as our dinner. Milan proved to be a good place to start our Italian adventure and Hotel Piacenza proved to be a very good choice. Ciao to Giuseppe! Tim and Susan from Arizona...

Room Tip: Tell them Rick Steves sent you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    21
    29
    10
    3
See reviews for
14
9
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

We found this the perfect stopover in Milan while driving though Italy. It came recommended by Milanese friends. You can park right outside (with luck) The rooms are well designed and furnished for a city center hotel, the staff friendly and with a small bar, breakfast room.

It is easy to find; a turning off the Corso Lodi just before the Porta Romana; near the Metro, a couple of stops to the Duomo and a nice area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

Like the other reviewer, we were also fooled by the description on the hotel's website that it is just a short stroll from Bocconi University. (Were there for a conference.) It is at least a 25-minute walk.

This hotel is not close to any other attractions either. On Fridays, there is an outdoor market in front of the hotel - vendors sell fruits and vegetables, but also a lot of junk. The street is left filthy afterward.

The rooms are on the 1st floor, and one has to walk up a steep narrow staircase - not the best if you have heavy luggage. For what they charge, our room was tiny (even by Italian standard), and breakfast was the bare minimum, offered in a little sitting area next to the front desk. There are no other facilities at this hotel. On top of that, there is little hospitality to speak off on the part of the staff.

This place is honestly a youth hostel, not a three-star hotel. There is no way I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

When we arrived at Hotel Piacenza, the desk clerk told us he did not have a reservation for us and was full. After fussing a few minutes, he located our reservation and said that it was made through Unitravel.com, but Hotel Piacenza no longer works with this agency. After I insisted that I booked through the Hotel Piacenza website and received a confirmation from unitravel, the clerk argued. Eventually, he said he would let me use the internet to show him how I booked, but when I arrived at hotelpiacenza.com website, suddenly, the computer lost its power supply. He telephoned a nearby hotel and made a reservation for that night for us. I later checked the unitravel.com website and found that they do book Hotel Piacenza. I could not confirm whether unitravel.com is the booking agency used when one books through the hotelpizcena.com website without making another reservation.

However, we ended up better off than if our reservation had been honored. We had chosen Piacenza because it is described as a "short stroll from Bocconi" where my husband had a conference. Piacenza is about half an hour's walk; many of the hotels on the periphery of the Duomo district are a shorter walk to Bocconi, and at least the two I stayed in offer much better value (in terms of a much more upscale experience as far as at least the lobby presented.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

Hotel Piacenza in a quiet and safe part of Milan and close to the Porta Romana Metro station which is only three stops from the Duomo. The hotel is very clean and comfortable and management are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is fairly normal for Italy, pastries and delicious cappuccino and it was nice to have that included. The doors of the rooms are quite heavy so I found that even with your best efforts to close the door quietly, it still slammed quite loudly. It really didn't bother me too much, you have to expect things like that from old buildings. I would definitely stay here again the next time I'm in Milano.

  • Liked — location, quality of rooms
  • Disliked — doors slammed
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2004

Hotel Piacenza was quiet and convenient for a conference at Bocconi University in Milan. The desk staff was friendly and helpful, with the day person speaking English very well. The very small single room I had was adequate, with a small desk I could work at. The breakfast was OK. No meat or cheese, but the pastries were warm and fresh; the cappuccino good; and the orange juice cool.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Piacenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piacenza

Address: via Piacenza, 4, 20135 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Porta Ticinese
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #241 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piacenza 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Piacenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piacenza Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Piacenza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.