We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“some staff members were not very helpful” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ornato - Gruppo Mini Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ornato - Gruppo Mini Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ornato - Gruppo Mini Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Ornato, 64, 20162 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #266 of 432 hotels in Milan
lucknow
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“some staff members were not very helpful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

the biggest problem my client faced was when he had to take a taxi from the hotel to the central station at 5am in the morning. the taxi took 1 hr and charged him 70 euro... the reception staff on 23rd april 2012 (whoever it was) should have given well defined instructions to the taxi driver as he knew we are international travelers from INDIA and have a huge language problem (english and hindi is all that we know).... the experience in Italy because of this event just wasn't a pleasant one..... lets see how much this effects you.... take care Rajit R Agrwal

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    33
    42
    23
    19
See reviews for
21
27
13
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Heraklion, Iraklion, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

I haven't seen ever hotel 3 stars like that. The rooms are terrible, the beds old and uncomfortable, the breakfast unacceptable, the lokation tragic. The stuff dousn't speak english and some of them are really rude.
In Greece this hotel cannot be even thow1 star.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

I have to agree that the staff were not what I would expect from a hotel. I've had far better service at cheap hostels than here. Firstly, on our last day, we were trying to book our next hotel, and don't speak Italian. We asked the desk if they would mind calling for us, and they refused (staff member was Hamid, I believe). Unfortunately, I was sick during this trip, and stayed in my room (in bed) for a full day. I received a call from the reception desk saying "are you going out or not, so we can clean". I said that I was going to stay in the room. Two minutes later there is a knock at the door and there are two cleaning staff telling me to leave so they can clean. We ended up waiting in the lobby until they were done.

Hotel itself is clean, and our room was quite spacious. All that you would expect from a hotel, like towels, soaps etc.

Breakfast is included in the price and served from 7 - 10am. Breakfast has a buffet style selection of croissants, three cereals, yoghurts, spreads, bread rolls, juices and coffee (machine).

The location is quite out of the way. There is a tram (number 4) just down the road from the hotel, that takes you into the city in about 20 minutes. If you arrive at Milano Garibaldi station, you can walk to a number 4 tram in about 5 minutes.

There are about 5 restaurants nearby, as well as a bar and a bakery, but nothing else is around. The area is fairly suburban/residential.

I'd probably recommend paying a little more to stay closer to the city, so there was more nightlife and better food.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

The hotel it's situated in Milan, and has it's own parking, very clean and well equiped rooms.
A calm area with a few bars a nice trattorria, where we ate and drinked italian wine. Also the area is very cheap for food and drinks. I'll stay again in this hotel because it's good quality for money and services. The reason why this hotel doesn't stand for a 3 stars it's that the rooms are a little bit small

Room Tip: Ask for a street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Having completed an epic drive from Strasbourg to Milan via a brief stop in Zurich we arrived at Hotel Ornato at the turn of midnight. Unsure of Milan we parked up outside the hotel in what appeared to be a reserved spot for hotel guests.

We went to check-in and were met with a surly member of staff on reception who didn't appreciate our attempt at pleasantries in Italian. He sternly told us that we can't park where we had and patronisingly told us to park further up the street. The hotel isn't situated in the nicest district of Milan and we were a little worried about parking the hire car out of sight from the hotel.

The room was ample big enough for the three of us; two male, one female. The female traveller had the adjoining single room while the males shared a twin room. Though the room was clean it was basic. Two beds, table with television that didn't work, telephone and wardrobes. The shower/toilet was more of a wet room as the shower tray didn't contain the water which leaked under the door into the main bedroom.

A definite plus for the hotel was the buffet breakfast. On offer were a variety of cereals, croissants, coffee and fruit juices. You could certainly eat enough to 'set you up' for the day exploring Milan.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlskrona, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We recently visited the Formula One competition at Monza and needed a room at a moderate price halfway between Monza and the centre of Milan.

. Hotel Ornato gave us full value for our money. Luxury, certainly not, but our room with wiew on the street was clean and proper in a very simple style. The noise from the frequent trams in the street did not cause us much disturbance, rather we found them quite useful when visiting the centre of Milan. We did not much estimate the breakfast in a very continental style - croissants filled with marmelade and everything else wrapped up in small packages. But we suppose this is a matter of habits and civilization. If you like a substantial English breakfast, choose another hotel! In the neighbourhood we found easy ways to have our meals - pizzerias and trattorias.

We must give a special éloge to the staff, always very helpful. Special thanks must be given to the member of staff receiving us at our arrival in the middle of night. He took great concern in helping us find a parking place in the guarded parking ground.

So if you want a cheap and clean hotel with a friendly and helpful staff we wil certainly recommend this hotel. Before arriving we had no expectations whatsoever, but we were surprised!

Room Tip: Perhaps, if you are much disturbed by noises from the street, a room with view on the backyard might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

The price is high for what it offers. The building is old. Tram is just under the windows. Breakfast is meager. Wi fi is paid. The only positive thing is the constantly surveilled parking which is paid, too.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ornato - Gruppo Mini Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ornato - Gruppo Mini Hotel

Address: Via Ornato, 64, 20162 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #266 of 432 hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ornato - Gruppo Mini Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Ornato offers excellent value and quality accommodation, with attentive hospitality and service. It is located in the dynamic Bicocca-Niguarda Area close to the new university complex, the Pirelli headquarters and the Arcimboldi Theatre. The Ornato is well connected by public transport: by tram it takes 20 minutes to reach the centre or the central station. All rooms have air conditioning , Internet WI-FI access is available (charge applies), private parking facilities (charge applies). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Orbitz, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ornato - Gruppo Mini Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centro Alberghiero Ornato Milan
Centro Alberghiero Ornato Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ornato - Gruppo Mini Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.