We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average inexpensive Sicilian Italian, good pizzas” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Nuova Tavernetta

La Nuova Tavernetta
Via Francesco Albani 41, 20100 Milan, Italy
02 4814047
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,590 of 5,066 restaurants in Milan
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Average inexpensive Sicilian Italian, good pizzas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Nearby Melia Milano hotel, and recommended as best of local restaurants. Prices fair for very large pizzas. Food better than average for this style of restaurant, service a little worse. Pizzas are good, ambience good, though not downstairs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    15
    28
    16
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Nice but some issues.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The food is good, the place is nice... but the service is a bit rude and the owner alwasy tries to get some extra euros from the customers.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Simplicity at its best!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The restaurant is just around the corner from Melia Milano Hotel. Please note that the entrance is via Paolo Uccello. Homely deco with simple yet very tasty Sicillian food. We had antipasti, oven baked pizza, pasta and desserts at a very reasonable price. Booking essentials especially with the nearby congress hosting meetings/events yearly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Is it possible to give it a negative star...?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Not for the food, but the service.
The guy who I believe owns the place is absolutely abominable. What started out as a simple meal of margherita pizza tonight became a disaster when I had the audacity to ask for the remainder to go. I sat with half my pizza in front of me for quite some time before he came over to ask if I was finito. I asked to have it to go in half Italian not knowing the word for aluminum foil and the guy lost it. He couldn't even hand me the foil he just tossed it down on the table next to me. Then he scrawled out some chicken scratch on the pad of paper assuming I couldn't understand him when he said 'sette' euro instead of the €5.50 listed on the menu. (I can only assume it was either for serving the carafe of tap water or sitting at the table)
I come to Milan fairly often and yeah, their minestrone in the wintertime is good, but with his foul, egregious and graceless manner, I'd never go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bham
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“reliable little trat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

good italian fare in small side street restaurant very near congress centre and the main congress hotels. excellent and friendly service. good prices

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Nuova Tavernetta also viewed

 
Milan, Lombardy
Milan, Lombardy
 

Been to La Nuova Tavernetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Nuova Tavernetta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.