We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation on the edge of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison del Capestrano

Save Saved
You added La Maison del Capestrano to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Maison del Capestrano
Via Gian Prancesco Pizzi, 14, 20141 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation on the edge of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed in the 'superior' studio for 2 nights and that was just about the right length of stay in this part of town. The studio is nicely furnished in a contemporary style and has everything you need for a short stay. The place was very clean and there was a good supply of towels. The kitchen area is small but with a good sized fridge and small freezer section, dishwasher, good oven and hob, but no microwave or kettle. No basics like salt & pepper, sugar, dishwasher tablets etc. The bathroom is nice with a good power-shower and there is a washing machine too. We had asked to drop our luggage off early afternoon and upon arrival we were kindly given the keys straight way which was very convenient for us! The owner speaks little English but with our little bit of Italian it was sufficient and he was very kind and helpful at all times. The area has everything you need like a bakery, supermarket, pizzeria's etc which is useful as there is no breakfast option. Because there is a restaurant on-site there is a fair bit of noise coming from the kitchen and the courtyard is rather 'echoey'. The apartments are in a side street where nothing else happens and it feels a bit unsafe as it's quite dark and desolate as there are no flats or houses, just some (empty?) buildings/warehouses. It was a bit too far out from the town, but the tram (24) gets you to the Duomo square in 15 minutes or so and you never have to wait too long to catch one. We booked with bookings.com and it listed that the superior studio had a large double, a sofabed and 2 singles which wasnt the case; there is one sofabed (probably 140 wide) and a double bed (consisting of 2 small singles). So it meant that our teenage daughters had to share the sofabed which resulted in a lot of duvet-pulling and arguments... Still, staying in a place like this with a family is much better than having to book 2 rooms in hotel, so I would definitely recommend it for a short stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilcapestrano, Proprietario at La Maison del Capestrano, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Google Translation
ringrazio per la lunga e dettagliata descrizione positiva.

a presto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
2
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We needed to make a very short trip to Milan to rent accommodation for my granddaughter who will enrol in the Bocconi University in September, time was short and it is high season so hotel prices were at their peak.
Searching the internet I found La Maison del Capistrano which is not a hotel but a number of very beautiful one and two bedroom apartments situated about a mile from the Bocconi and twenty minutes from Piazza Duomo on the number 24 tram.
The apartments have been created by the owner Roberto a builder by trade from an old industrial building, despite the rather unprepossessing exterior the result is a superb combination of Italian flair and excellent functionality. Surrounding a courtyard restaurant the one bedroom studios offer excellent accommodation with everything a traveller could need and all of the highest quality, a big plus was the free wifi which every other hotel wanted to charge us €25 per day for.
Two bedroom apartments are in an adjacent building and they are all joined by a first floor walkway there is also a glass elevator to the top floor.
Roberto helped us out in many ways which went way beyond the call of duty and thanks to this we were able to accomplish what we set out to do in the time available, thank you Roberto.
Considering it was high season the price was very reasonable and we will certainly stay there on our next visit to this lovely city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilcapestrano, Proprietario at La Maison del Capestrano, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Google Translation
ringrazio per la bella recensione e spero di rivedervi presto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Maison del Capestrano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison del Capestrano

Address: Via Gian Prancesco Pizzi, 14, 20141 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"La Maison del Capestrano" is a Temporary Home in a renovated historical balustrade building in "liberty style" composed by five mini apartments. The apartments are fully equipped with modern style and overlook on a pretty Courtyard. Il Capestrano "World" is completed by three Meeting rooms from two person until forty person, including catering Services (Coffee Break, Light& Buffet Lunch. The Maison del Capestrano is located in Ripamonti Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your La Maison del Capestrano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison del Capestrano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.