We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for what I needed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sant'Ambroeus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sant'Ambroeus to your Saves list
Hotel Sant'Ambroeus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Papiniano 14, 20123 Milan, Italy (Centro Storico)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #219 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good for what I needed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

I needed an affordable room with breakfast for a week-long academic conference stay in the city. The single room was small as expected, and fine for my needs. Comfortable bed, desk, sofa, nice sunny window to off-street side of hotel, overlooking very small courtyard. Tiny but clean bathroom, decent water pressure but inconsistently hot water. The decor is outdated, but decently maintained.
The breakfast is basic, same every day, but with some choices, no fruit. The daily cappucino was the highlight! (I shopped in nearby markets for fruit.) Quantities seemed plentiful, no lines, but it might have been a quiet week.
There are two underused lounges on ground floor, good for meetings or working.
Service is efficient and variably friendly, but overall polite and patient. Desk employees all speak English very well - but I made an effort to speak Italian with them. Internet for a fee, 4 euros per hour, cheaper if you buy more. Reliable, fast enough for email and video chat but slow uploads.
The street itself is a wide car-filled boulevard, but the neighbourhood around the corner is mixed residential, lots trees and small parks. Close to metro/subway San Antonio, and convenient to Cadorna for the Malpensa express train. 20 minute walks to centre, parc Sempione, or to Navigli. I felt safe even late at night (I'm male).
Overall, this hotel was just what I needed, comfortable, clean, and affordable. The small spaces and stoic service are what I expected from a budget European hotel. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    47
    66
    19
    5
See reviews for
23
44
22
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The hotel was ok, but remember you get what you pay for! Friendly staff, decent room and in a fairly good location. However the one thing everyone seems to miss out and they don't tell you is a there is a prison across the road, this isn't a huge problem but it's something to consider.

The shower is small but has a huge shower head and good pressure so no problems there.

The metro is a 5 minute walk down the street and a 24 hour pass cost €4.50 and covers all areas of Milan, buses and metro.

Cafes and restaurants are also available on the walk to the metro. The hotel was clean and provided a safe, however wifi is not free and quite annoying to log out and in for an hour, the room is typical Italian style and the bed was huge.

The breakfast is a continental breakfast that provides, cereal, ham, bread, cheese and more.

As I said earlier you get what you pay for especially in Milan, although if a prison across the street doesn't bother you, there is nothing wrong with the price you pay for it! Certainly worth a try.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I booked this hotel via package to a concert and after reading some tripadvisor reviews .Hotel San't Ambroues in milan gives you everything you need in terms of good night sleep, clean, attentive staff and good breakfast !!!!
Location: the hotel is in a residential area, with supermarkets and some restaurants!!! The area is safe and it's even close to most of Milan's attractions by foot!!!! The hotel is 2 blocks from the M2 Metro station S. Agostino! And about 15-20 min to the Doumo and 15 min to the Navigli area ( the Milan Canals) with lots of bars café's and restaurants!!!! If going to the Doumo leave the hotel right and then when you get to Via Genova ( in a a big Piazza) turn left and after 15 you see the Doumo!!!! To walk to the Navigli walk from the hotel right till you see a Canal in your left and a Roman arch , then in the Piazza turn right and you will see the canals!!!! I recommend buying a 10 ride card for the metro for 13.8E it's very useful !!!!
Room and Amenities: the room was quite small and had an old 80's décor with a small box TV a small closet and a in room safe!!!! The rooms were clean though don't expect to see a lavish view from the rooms , I got the balconies of the adjacent buildings!!!!!! the shower is ontop a step and is kinda small , but clean and has a great water presure !!!!!!!
The breakfast was typical European with breads , cheese ham yogurts , juice , and really the basic!!! They made fresh cappuccino as much as you want!!!!!!!
The staff was very friendly and helped me with every question I had, they have a storage room for luggage free of charge!!!!!!!!!
I read some of the reviews in tripadvisor and some were too harsh
If you want a decent hotel in a a sane price, good night sleep, clean, attentive staff and good breakfast this is for you!!!! If you want a more in terms of modern décor , classic hotel feel go somewhere else!!!!! I won't hesitate to come back!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brøndby Strand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Can only say god Things about this hotel. Would certainly visit again. You can walk to Doumo in 20 min. og walk around the corner and take the tram which will get you there in 5 min. 10 min to tha Canal district. We payed 70 eur. through Olotels.com and for that Price it was a bargain. Yes the hotel is old, but clean, the room size is ok. And the shower has pleanty of Water.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Terrible hotel.

The location is average you will need to spend in metro to get anywhere. The rooms are very old shower curtains are broken not allowing you to shower properly and they are built in the wrong form making all the water go outside.

If you get a room with a modern shower style then your room will be with old furniture. and vice versa. I know this because we had to change rooms as our AC did not work properly for two nights, when we change the rooms the one we received was even worst.

Dont connect any electronic as the power went off in our rooms as we tried to dry our hair. However do take your on dryer as the one they have are from ancient times.

Breakfast is okay. Staff is friendly and willing to help. Ice available if needed. No free Wifi. Sheet and pillows are old and smelly.

Do not recommend.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed in this hotel from 14th august for 2 days. The location of hotel is perfect. It’s near s.Agostino station green line. So you can easily get there from Milano central station or malpensa airport. The staff was very helpful and kind and responsible, their English were good. Because in Italy sometimes the reception also doesn’t know English. The breakfast was very simple. The room was clean. the air condition function properly. you can use internet in the lobby but you should pay 1.5 euro for 30 min.
mojtaba mirkhalaf from iran

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sant'Ambroeus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sant'Ambroeus

Address: Viale Papiniano 14, 20123 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sant'Ambroeus 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 4-story Hotel positioned between the exhibition centre and downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sant'Ambroeus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Ambroeus Hotel
Sant Ambroeus Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sant'Ambroeus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.