We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour of Italy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Locanda dei Mercanti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Antica Locanda dei Mercanti to your Saves list
Antica Locanda dei Mercanti
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Tomaso, 6, 20121 Milan, Italy (Centro Storico)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    43
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
27
137
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

When we entered our room we knew that we had made a good choice. Space, light and elegance, and only 5 minutes from the Duomo and other wonders of Milano. We had tickets for La Scala and were able to stroll there for our wonderful night out, really only 3-4 minutes walk!
Having spent a month in various cities in northern Italy we were very pleased that our last stop was in such modern facilities in a lovely old building.
Staff very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was adequate.
Will certainly recommend Antica Locanda dei Mercanti to friends and would definately return there ourselves.

Room Tip: The hotel is very quiet. Our room faced the street, but it is one way and narrow so noise would not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

After traveling for nearly 3 weeks in Italy, we spent our last night in Milan before heading to the airport. We selected this hotel because it was within walking distance of some of the sights we wanted to see. After negotiating a rather large rental car through the many streets under construction in Milan (for Expo 2015), we walked into this elegant, quiet, calm oasis. We had 3 rooms for our family of 6 and each room was beautifully appointed. The staff was so professional and helpful in giving directions and making dinner reservations. We all groaned when we realized we would be at this hotel for only one night. It was truly the best way to end our Italy adventure. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I would imagine all rooms are beautiful. We had 3 and they were superb! It was very quiet and all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanson, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This hotel is ideally located just off what is said to be the largest pedestrian area in Europe, just minutes walking to the Duomo and around the corner from La Scala. The room itself was quite large with a beautiful, large private terrace. My two complaints, however, are the step down from the short hall way from the door and bathroom into the main area and the sliding glass doors to the bathroom. Perhaps I am old fashioned but, even after 35 years of marriage, a little privacy is nice! The breakfasts were fine and we found the staff to be very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a few nights in Milan in the middle of June and greatly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It is ideally positioned for the main sites, being equidistant from the Duomo and the Castello, and around 15-20 mins walk from Da Vinci's Last Supper.

Our room was very pleasant with first rate air con. We were lucky enough to have a terrace where we could sit out and relax (though watch out for the mosquitoes!). The charming lady on reception made us feel very welcome and provided good advice on eateries. Anyone seeking a central base in the city should give this place serious consideration.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a terrace especially if visiting during the summer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I stayed here in June on business. Beautiful rooms, I had a "standard" room and it was excellent. The set up is more just "rooms" rather than a hotel.
Great breakfast which is delivered at the exact selected time to your room.
Very helpful staff available to assist with any questions.
I would like a minibar.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Two of us stayed here for two nights. The room exceeded my expectations (huge by European standards and quite romantic), the staff are friendly and very helpful (helped with luggage, available to help with questions, etc.), and the location is perfect. The hotel is a five minute, slow window-shopping, walk between the Duono and the Castle. The reception staff were so helpful with ideas for sightseeing and for resturants (one in particular, Peck's, was the best!). The housekeeping staff did the most impressive job and the room and bathroom were spotless. The hotel must have added a breakfast room when they renovated, because now you can have breakfast in the breakfast room or in your room (I believe in earlier reviews it was in-room only). We chose to have breakfast in the breakfast room both mornings and the service was prompt and always with a smile. We had a delightful stay and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antica Locanda dei Mercanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Locanda dei Mercanti

Address: Via San Tomaso, 6, 20121 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#14 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#38 Family Hotel in Milan
#59 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Locanda dei Mercanti 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Locanda is an unexpected oasis of peace and quiet in Milan’s frenetic city centre. The elegant 18th century building is in a pedestrian area dedicated to shopping.Once you arrive you can forget your car – you’re in the very heart of Milan, close to La Scala opera house, the Duomo, the Stock Exchange, and the famous designer stores on via Monte Napoleone and via della Spiga.The décor is the creation of architect Vittorio Locatelli, who loves combining refined warm pastel hues with rough, natural materials, following his fancy wherever it takes him. His intention was to furnish the Locanda so that people would feel they were at home. He designed four suggestive rooms, each with a beautiful flower-filled terrace, a rare occurrence in a city like Milan.The atmosphere throughout is pleasant and relaxed, and prompt personalised service is guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Antica Locanda dei Mercanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Locanda Dei Mercanti Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Locanda dei Mercanti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.