We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style and Grace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Locanda dei Mercanti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Antica Locanda dei Mercanti to your Saves list
Antica Locanda dei Mercanti
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Tomaso, 6, 20121 Milan, Italy (Centro Storico)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Style and Grace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

1st you'll realize that any conversation via email or phone is complete. Complete with follow us.
When we arrived we were offered a bottle of wine, Yes we had to pay, but it was worth every penny since we were in a terrace room. Very Romantic. 10 Minutes from everywhere you need to be. Great location. Navigli is about a 20-25 min walk, again, its a beautiful walk. did it 2 times!
AC worked fine, there were some mosquitos, thats from the garden in the overly large terrace for sure. The added value of you walking in and seeing your photo, was kind of cool, felt like coming home!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    43
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
27
137
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The hotel is in a great location, within walking distance of all the major attractions.
A porter met us at the door and carried our luggage up the stairs (and down when we left).
All staff were nice, friendly and helpful.
Must say that the breakfast was limited.
Our room was very spacious, yet cosy and very tastefully decorated.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Yes it is a lovely historic building. Yes there is a terrace. What there is not - a porter to carry your bags up the flight of stairs to the elevator. No English channels available on the TV - just the BBC news would have been nice. No choices at breakfast. Not much service from the staff. For the price I will make another choice in the future when I visit Milan.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location, the rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated but it is not for someone who wants a traditional hotel experience. The staff are helpful but there are very few staff. There are no bell hops or doorman to assist you with luggage ( and several stairs to navigate). The hotel lobby is impossible to find without asking assistance...y(it is on the second floor of a building with no signs at all). I also found the breakfast very skimpy. All of this would be acceptable if the price was lower. If they are going to charge like the big hotels, they need to deliver. This is a boutique hotel with a great setting but not enough services for the guests.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We were looking for something different - not just a hotel, a room - but something with that little extra. We found it in this gorgeous little pearl. Centrally placed, yet hidden away and charming, its just like living in a luxurious appartment in this wonderful city. Its slightly difficult to find, and parking was a bit of an adventure but well worth the trouble. Friendly staff, cosy, intimate, tasteful, classic yet with all mod cons.... the list goes on! For those that enjoy quality and experiences yet arent millionaires, this small hotel is thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We very much enjoyed our two stays at Antica Locanda die Mercanti. We stayed in two different suites and got a peak at a third, and they are all large, airy, with huge windows and high ceilings. Interesting decor and very comfortable. The location could not have been better and the staff was extremely helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This hotel is actually an old apartment building that was converted into this lovely and very romantic hotel. My wife and I had booked this based on the reviews but that's only half of the story. If you visit Milan, with your love, this is where you want to be. Centrally located and literally mere blocks away from all the sights (Duomo, Scalia Operahouse, Galleria, Sforza castle) that make Milan the amazing city that it is. The staff was extremely attentive and always gave wonderful recommendations for restaurants around us. The cobblestone street in front on the building is centuries old and riddled with history just wide enough for one car. You have to climb the stairs up a flight to find the front desk and the elevator (which is size of a linen closet, wonderful) took us to our room. My wife an I preferred the stairs because the visual sense of the space made you feel like you were in a Fellini movie. Once we got to our room even the though the balcony called us the bedroom with it's white linens and lovely setting was amazing and very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antica Locanda dei Mercanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Locanda dei Mercanti

Address: Via San Tomaso, 6, 20121 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#14 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#38 Family Hotel in Milan
#59 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Locanda dei Mercanti 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Locanda is an unexpected oasis of peace and quiet in Milan’s frenetic city centre. The elegant 18th century building is in a pedestrian area dedicated to shopping.Once you arrive you can forget your car – you’re in the very heart of Milan, close to La Scala opera house, the Duomo, the Stock Exchange, and the famous designer stores on via Monte Napoleone and via della Spiga.The décor is the creation of architect Vittorio Locatelli, who loves combining refined warm pastel hues with rough, natural materials, following his fancy wherever it takes him. His intention was to furnish the Locanda so that people would feel they were at home. He designed four suggestive rooms, each with a beautiful flower-filled terrace, a rare occurrence in a city like Milan.The atmosphere throughout is pleasant and relaxed, and prompt personalised service is guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Antica Locanda dei Mercanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Locanda Dei Mercanti Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Locanda dei Mercanti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.