We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Locanda dei Mercanti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Antica Locanda dei Mercanti to your Saves list
Antica Locanda dei Mercanti
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Tomaso, 6, 20121 Milan, Italy (Centro Storico)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Right in the center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We very much enjoyed our two stays at Antica Locanda die Mercanti. We stayed in two different suites and got a peak at a third, and they are all large, airy, with huge windows and high ceilings. Interesting decor and very comfortable. The location could not have been better and the staff was extremely helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    43
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
27
137
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This hotel is actually an old apartment building that was converted into this lovely and very romantic hotel. My wife and I had booked this based on the reviews but that's only half of the story. If you visit Milan, with your love, this is where you want to be. Centrally located and literally mere blocks away from all the sights (Duomo, Scalia Operahouse, Galleria, Sforza castle) that make Milan the amazing city that it is. The staff was extremely attentive and always gave wonderful recommendations for restaurants around us. The cobblestone street in front on the building is centuries old and riddled with history just wide enough for one car. You have to climb the stairs up a flight to find the front desk and the elevator (which is size of a linen closet, wonderful) took us to our room. My wife an I preferred the stairs because the visual sense of the space made you feel like you were in a Fellini movie. Once we got to our room even the though the balcony called us the bedroom with it's white linens and lovely setting was amazing and very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Hotel is located in quiet street, but very close to centre and basilica. We had junior suite, wich was spacious. Bathroom was big, with shower cabin, toilett and bide. If you like sweet breakfast, you are happy. If you prefer eggs or somethink else, it is extra charge. Staff is extremly friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I spent 2 nights in this hotel. I'm from Milan Area, but now I'm living in Luxembourg, so, when I have meeting in Milan, I'm trying to experiment some hotels to suggest to friends and colleagues. Actually this one is nice, very well located in the city center, old but well mantained, but talking about trade off between money and services ... more than 200 euros breakfast included... but you have not to order one yogurth. For the hotel breakfast is coffee or milk, croissant and breas, jam or marmalade. If you're lucky there's the cake of the day. But for one yogurth (not branded) in one cup ... 2 euro more... that is service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berat, Albania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

It is correct this is a real hidden gem of Milan.
We found this hotel in special pleaces to stay book and it really deserves this term.
Our suite was very clean and relaxing after a long shopping day their staff was always there with good suggestions for a nice apperitiv and a tasty dinner.
Definitly the pleace to stay when you go to Milan.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Perfectly located in the old town of Milan, this small hotel is hidden in a quiet side street. From the outside you would not even tell there is a hotel in this ancient palazzo. The rooms are nicely renovated, romantic and stylish. The staff is very friendly and helpful. In the winter I would rather choose a room on the reception floor. In the warm season I would go for a room with a terrace on the top floor. The only negative point is the rather unattractive staircase and elevator. But once you are in the hotel, everything is very pleasant. We loved this place and will be back.

Room Tip: room 13 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Absolutely lovely hotel - within a typical Milanese building, our balcony room had beautiful high ceilings and spotless bathroom.

We enjoyed the simple continental breakfast which you can have in your room or near reception.

Very central location and extremely helpful reception staff. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a balcony room which had a nice bit of outside space with a table and chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antica Locanda dei Mercanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Locanda dei Mercanti

Address: Via San Tomaso, 6, 20121 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#14 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#39 Family Hotel in Milan
#58 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Locanda dei Mercanti 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Locanda is an unexpected oasis of peace and quiet in Milan’s frenetic city centre. The elegant 18th century building is in a pedestrian area dedicated to shopping.Once you arrive you can forget your car – you’re in the very heart of Milan, close to La Scala opera house, the Duomo, the Stock Exchange, and the famous designer stores on via Monte Napoleone and via della Spiga.The décor is the creation of architect Vittorio Locatelli, who loves combining refined warm pastel hues with rough, natural materials, following his fancy wherever it takes him. His intention was to furnish the Locanda so that people would feel they were at home. He designed four suggestive rooms, each with a beautiful flower-filled terrace, a rare occurrence in a city like Milan.The atmosphere throughout is pleasant and relaxed, and prompt personalised service is guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Antica Locanda dei Mercanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Locanda Dei Mercanti Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Locanda dei Mercanti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.