We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel D'Este

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel D'Este to your Saves list
Hotel D'Este
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Bligny, 23, 20136 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #225 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Gloucester, MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Had a great visit at D'Este. Room and bathroom were quite large for a double. Hotel staff was wonderful and always helpful. Had a room away from the street but next to the elevator and never had any noise issues. Very comfortable and clean room. Decor was fine. Wifi service was great with no issues and it was included in room price. I don't see how this is considered a 4-star hotel though as there is no restaurant or bar in the hotel (plenty within walking distance) and also no gym. Breakfast was adequate but nothing special. If I was visiting Bocconi U again, I would definitely stay here. I didn't mind walking to town either.

Room Tip: Double rooms away from the street was perfect and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    43
    42
    9
    8
See reviews for
12
13
14
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This hotel is close to Bocconi University, and only about twenty minutes by cab from Linate airport, but is not ideal for central Milan. It is in good order, the breakfast is fine, and there is free wireless internet in the rooms. The rooms are small but the bathrooms are much better than in many European hotels. Everything works and the multi-lingual front desk staff are helpful and efficient. the hotel is not cheap.

Room Tip: Higher up and at the back, as the hotel is on a busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

In reading previous reviews I'm surprised that so many people complain about the size. Our room was spacious. That said, we did reserve a room for two adults and a child. The bathroom was large and well appointed, the beds were comfortable. I could have done without the somewhat old looking carpeting but my husband thought it was a lovely room. The lobby definitely feels as if it was decorated in the 80s. We were happy with the hotel overall. Nice enough breakfast (a few fruits, a few meats, pastries, juices), friendly people. We didn't have any issue with the people not being able to speak English, but at the same time I wonder why one would assume that people would, given that it isn't the national language? This was very conveniently located for my husband, who was doing some work at the university, but for my daughter and I it made for a bit of a trek into the center of town. Nothing insurmountable though. And the wifi worked for us. It seems that people are having very different experiences at this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room for 3 was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

if you're looking for anything close to value for your money, you are way off.
The neighborhood is creepy, the room was small (and badly decorated to say the least) and it had no wi-fi (like promised).
To top that, the service was awful, did not answer our concerns (some couldn't even speak English at all) and to sum it up, they left us with bad taste from Milan.
We recommend to skip this hotel in your search, if you know what's good for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Very nice hotel, situated near the center of Milan. I enjoyed my stay there - my single room was small, but nonetheless very cozy, quiet, and clean. Worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We reserved this hotel for a standard twin double for two adults (two twin beds). Upon arrival, the hotel said the reservation was only for a standard single bed room, and they had no rooms with two beds available.

As the hotel was unable to accomodate both of us as it was otherwise completely booked, I had to go to another hotel. I incurred a huge additional cost, and the inconvenience of having to travel back and forth between hotels to work with my colleague.

The misunderstanding between hotels.com booking and the Hotel D'Este in Milan was a huge and costly inconvenience. I will be formally filing a complaint and requesting that we are reimbursed for our additional expenses for the extra hotel we had to book. In addition, the room had no wifi signal and so we had to stay in the lobby to do all of our work as we require constant Internet connection.

Room Tip: No pool, no gym, somewhat sketchy part of town, no wifi signal.. be careful what room type you book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, Utah
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The rooms here were very small even for the European standard, however the hotel was clean and the price was cheap for Milan. I don't know that I would stay here again it was only on the recommendation of the client I was visiting because it's across the street from their business. The hotel staff was very nice and they gave me a great suggestions for dinner. The area where the hotel is located is not very nice and I don't know that I would be out on the street very late. Not the best trip to Milan, but thankfully it was only for one night.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel D'Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel D'Este

Address: Viale Bligny, 23, 20136 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel D'Este 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel D'Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Este
d Este Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel D'Este, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.