We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At Your Service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lancaster Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lancaster Hotel to your Saves list
Lancaster Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Abbondio Sangiorgio, 16, 20145 Milan, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #30 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“At Your Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This hotel is very conveniently located near the Peace Monument and just a short walk from the city center. We went to simply drop our bags, having arrived early morning and were told we could wait just a few minutes and check in! Wow! We sat and sipped a cappuccino while we waited - lovely! The staff was very attentive and extremely helpful with questions and inquiries regarding places to eat nearby and a grocery store. Our room was on the front of the hotel; a quieter choice might be along the back. Clean, comfortable, and safe. Breakfast was typical fare but very good all around. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel - off the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    207
    21
    6
    1
See reviews for
77
254
39
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgecrest, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

This was our last stop on our 16 day vacation- so maybe I was a little spoiled by the other places we stayed. The hotel itself is beautiful- the rooms charming and good sized. The employees were very personable and social. They helped with directions and suggestions. The breakfast hit the spot. The only thing is that there is no personality in the neighborhood. Everything is apartment buildings, only 1 restaurant on the street..It's a 20 minute walk to the Last Supper, and the Duomo- so that's great. This was the only place I stayed that I didn't feel like I knew I was in Italy when I walked outside. So- if you don't care about that - definetly stay here- it's a great hotel...really!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights for hubby's 40th. First time in italy, good first choice. Hotel is very clean and central with lovely park 5 mins walk away. Staff are friendly and helpful, organised a prosecco & balloons for my husband when I emailed them, was a bit pricey but made it more special for the occasion. Reception informative & helpful. Breakfast plentiful & fresh. Also had a room at front with small balcony which was lovely. Was able to walk from Cardona station about 20mins. Ideal for express train from malpensa airport which took 30 mins. Overall great hotel for a short city break.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We chose the Lancaster for our first visit to Milan from reading other reviewers' recommendations, and we were not disappointed. Arriving at Cadorna Station from Malpensa airport (11 Euros) we had a pleasant 15 minute walk through Parco Sempione to the Arch and another 5 mins along the pretty Via Sangiorgio, to the hotel. We were well ahead of check-in time but were assured that our room would be ready very soon, which it was. All the staff were very friendly and the receptionists took time to answer our questions. The hotel sells transport tickets (E4.50 for 24 hours - validate it on your first ride) and there are a variety of free maps. We chose a superior room as recommended and it was lovely - a large room with high ceilings, cosily warm, a huge bathroom (with bath and his and her basins) and two south facing balconies. The king-size bed was on the firm side which a mattress topper could fix but hey ho, no real problem. The buffet breakfast was perfectly good and being a small hotel we never had to wait for the lift. Initially the location seemed to be a little way out but a 5 minute walk to catch the frequent tram no.1 by the Arch put all Milan within reach – 5 minutes to Cadorna Station, (perfect for the Sforza castle, the Last Supper, the brilliant Science and Technology museum and Bar Magenta), then past Via Vetero for the Brera district, in 10 minutes you’ve reached Piazza della Scala for Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II, the Duomo and the art galleries and the tram continues to within a short walk of the 'grand' Central Station and beyond. This small independent hotel is a unpretentious gem and we'd definitely choose it again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front on the 4th floor have sunny balconies, but you can hear the morning traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

The staff really make this place a joy to stay in - friendly and exceptionally helpful.
Rooms are pleasantly furnished and come with all you really need without paying a fortune.
Easy 15 minute walk into the city centre and the buffet breakfast is more than sufficient to keep you going until lunchtime.
We stayed as a group of four couples on a city break long weekend and this place really fitted the bill.
The person that left this place a 1-star review and then decamped for the Ibis, really is a philistine...

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotlan, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Lancaster Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
I was delighted to read your review of our hotel and pleased to read that you appreciated our fantastic team here at the Lancaster. I think that it's possible to make this place a joy to stay in if only the staff feels good to work here. I'm pleased to read that you thought the services and rooms facilities provided were of good value, we also think so and we work for that! You are right, our hotel is just 15 minutes walk to the center and our food & beverage for breakfast is high quality! Thank you so much for taking the time to share this great feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you back again for your next visit. With kind regards, Sauro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

My wife and I booked into the Lancaster for an end of the year long weekend getaway. It was just what we were looking for. The room was clean, comfortable and cosy. The radiators provided a pleasant warmth. The breakfast buffet was adequate for a good start to the day. We got a lot of exercise doing the pleasant 20 minute leisurely walk to the Duomo area a couple of times a day. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is in a quiet location and a short tram ride from the Malpensa express train station for fast easy access. And the hotel is reasonably priced relative to other milan hotels. We paid about 100 per night. All in all highly recommended for value money couples.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Loved this hotel. Spent 3 nights here and found it to be well located for all we wanted to see, most of which we could walk to. Between 4 taxis were a good way to get a bit further. The service here was great (Rogero at reception is a real star), a good breakfast and the rooms were clean with fresh bedding and towels every day. The bed was comfortable and we slept well. A good experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lancaster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Hotel

Address: Via Abbondio Sangiorgio, 16, 20145 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Milan
#30 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#51 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you need for a short or long stay in the beautiful city of Milan for business or vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lancaster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lancaster Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.