We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad - no frills, but clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lancaster Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lancaster Hotel to your Saves list
Lancaster Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Abbondio Sangiorgio, 16, 20145 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 432 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
NYC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not bad - no frills, but clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is your average hotel. It was clean, but the interior is weathered. It's not dirty, but it does feel old. For a 3-star hotel in Italy, this is exactly what you'd expect. If you're just looking for a place to stay for the night, this is a solid option. The location is pretty good. It's about a 15 minute walk to the castle (thru the park) and 20 minute walk to the Duomo.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    212
    22
    6
    1
See reviews for
79
260
39
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Kansas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We spent two nights in this charming hotel in Milan. The location is not far from the Cadorna train station. It is a lovely location-within a 5 minute walk of via Sempione and the park, Sforzesco Castle, and square. We had a beautiful room with a balcony. It was on the back side, so it was quiet. We were very safe and walked around on the well-lit streets at night. The staff was delightful! They were very helpful, and provided me with gluten-free food options. We would go back there in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I recently stayed at the Lancaster for 3 nights in July. It's in a lovely suburb of Milan about 15-20 minutes walk from the Duomo or less than 10 minutes to the metro and near some great historical sites. The rooms are clean, the staff are professional and friendly and the breakfast decent. There are many restaurants nearby as well as a well stocked supermarket. An overall great value mid budget hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights, this is the 2nd visit to this hotel and both times it has been great. The hotel is well kept, very clean, not the most modern but very well looked after giving it a lot of character. Check in was a breeze, the reception staff are very friendly and helpful with maps and places to visit in a Milan. The breakfast has been the best on our trip through Europe offering a varied selection on foods and more than enough for everyone even if you arrive 5 minutes before it finishes. And they make great coffee, we have struggled to find good coffee but hotel lancaster delivered. Huge number of tv channels on offer but not all italian, ask reception and they will explain how to convert movies into English and so forth. They hotel rooms are large, the beds are firm but nice and the bathrooms are large, the hotel also has a lift. It's located in the Sempione area, not the closest to the city centre but not too far away either. It's just near china town and also the Triumph Ark where there is a nice little street containing great restaurants and some nightlife. I would stay here again for sure, but if you want to be in the thick of the centre of Milano it will cost you, stay here it's excellent value for money.

Room Tip: The room service is from local restaurants, it's very nice and they set it all into nice trays a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This hotel is comfortable and well located with excellent service. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room quiet. Although the decor may seem somewhat dated, the hotel is excellent in every respect. This family run hotel has exceptional service with the staff making good suggestions about where to go, what to see and where to eat. There are many restaurants and trams nearby. However, the hotel is walkable to all historical areas and main shopping. Take the Grand City tour which takes you to the main historical places in the city and includes a visit to see The Last Supper. Don't miss the open air market near Via Monti which has great deals on clothing, shoes and food.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Pros:
- The room was clean and spacious.
- When she could be bothered, the first receptionist was friendly enough.
- The hotel's a short walk from the big park and about 20 minutes walk from the centre, so a decent location.

Cons:
- We booked here because we were told they had parking. What they actually did was sell us tickets for street parking - cue half an hour of driving around trying to find a space, which was exactly the scenario we had wanted to avoid after a few long days' work.
- The receptionist kept our passports for about an hour to 'process' our check in. She could not understand why we might be uncomfortable with the idea of leaving our passports unattended with a total stranger. Every other hotel we've ever stayed in has just quickly processed our passports in a few minutes while we waited. Why did she need so long?
- They took our keys every time we left the hotel. We were told that this happens 'everywhere'. I'm going to give them the benefit of the doubt that they mean in Milan (because we have only experienced this once before - in a sleepy Cretian village where everyone just leaves their doors unlocked - not in the middle of a busy city), but even that would be a lie - the friends we met for dinner were astonished that the hotel had this procedure in place. It also hardly instilled confidence that when we returned, the receptionist was in a completely different room and our keys were just on her desk - anyone could have taken them and gone up to our room. Appalling security.
- The next morning, as we were checking out, the receptionist asked us if we were the 'noisy British couple' who had arrived late at night, drunk, who had kept everyone up. We felt that this was both rude and inappropriate. For the record - we barely drink alcohol, were completely sober when we returned from dinner and went straight to bed. What did they hope to achieve by accusing us of being drunk Brits? Do all of us Brits look alike or something? Yet another sour taste to add to a poor impression.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The location was excellent - a lovely part of town on the edge of the sights an close to great restaurants. The staff were very helpful and provided train timetables and other advice re visiting Lake Como etc. Rooms were spacious and bathrooms excellent.
We were booked for 2 nights in September 2013 but loved it so much we stayed an extra 2 nights. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lancaster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Hotel

Address: Via Abbondio Sangiorgio, 16, 20145 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Milan
#34 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#42 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you need for a short or long stay in the beautiful city of Milan for business or vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Lancaster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lancaster Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.