We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful small hotel in the perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lancaster Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lancaster Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lancaster Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Abbondio Sangiorgio, 16, 20145 Milan, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #19 of 433 hotels in Milan
Lawrence, Kansas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A wonderful small hotel in the perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We spent two nights in this charming hotel in Milan. The location is not far from the Cadorna train station. It is a lovely location-within a 5 minute walk of via Sempione and the park, Sforzesco Castle, and square. We had a beautiful room with a balcony. It was on the back side, so it was quiet. We were very safe and walked around on the well-lit streets at night. The staff was delightful! They were very helpful, and provided me with gluten-free food options. We would go back there in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    261
    179
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
69
235
37
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I recently stayed at the Lancaster for 3 nights in July. It's in a lovely suburb of Milan about 15-20 minutes walk from the Duomo or less than 10 minutes to the metro and near some great historical sites. The rooms are clean, the staff are professional and friendly and the breakfast decent. There are many restaurants nearby as well as a well stocked supermarket. An overall great value mid budget hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights, this is the 2nd visit to this hotel and both times it has been great. The hotel is well kept, very clean, not the most modern but very well looked after giving it a lot of character. Check in was a breeze, the reception staff are very friendly and helpful with maps and places to visit in a Milan. The breakfast has been the best on our trip through Europe offering a varied selection on foods and more than enough for everyone even if you arrive 5 minutes before it finishes. And they make great coffee, we have struggled to find good coffee but hotel lancaster delivered. Huge number of tv channels on offer but not all italian, ask reception and they will explain how to convert movies into English and so forth. They hotel rooms are large, the beds are firm but nice and the bathrooms are large, the hotel also has a lift. It's located in the Sempione area, not the closest to the city centre but not too far away either. It's just near china town and also the Triumph Ark where there is a nice little street containing great restaurants and some nightlife. I would stay here again for sure, but if you want to be in the thick of the centre of Milano it will cost you, stay here it's excellent value for money.

Room Tip: The room service is from local restaurants, it's very nice and they set it all into nice trays a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This hotel is comfortable and well located with excellent service. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room quiet. Although the decor may seem somewhat dated, the hotel is excellent in every respect. This family run hotel has exceptional service with the staff making good suggestions about where to go, what to see and where to eat. There are many restaurants and trams nearby. However, the hotel is walkable to all historical areas and main shopping. Take the Grand City tour which takes you to the main historical places in the city and includes a visit to see The Last Supper. Don't miss the open air market near Via Monti which has great deals on clothing, shoes and food.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Pros:
- The room was clean and spacious.
- When she could be bothered, the first receptionist was friendly enough.
- The hotel's a short walk from the big park and about 20 minutes walk from the centre, so a decent location.

Cons:
- We booked here because we were told they had parking. What they actually did was sell us tickets for street parking - cue half an hour of driving around trying to find a space, which was exactly the scenario we had wanted to avoid after a few long days' work.
- The receptionist kept our passports for about an hour to 'process' our check in. She could not understand why we might be uncomfortable with the idea of leaving our passports unattended with a total stranger. Every other hotel we've ever stayed in has just quickly processed our passports in a few minutes while we waited. Why did she need so long?
- They took our keys every time we left the hotel. We were told that this happens 'everywhere'. I'm going to give them the benefit of the doubt that they mean in Milan (because we have only experienced this once before - in a sleepy Cretian village where everyone just leaves their doors unlocked - not in the middle of a busy city), but even that would be a lie - the friends we met for dinner were astonished that the hotel had this procedure in place. It also hardly instilled confidence that when we returned, the receptionist was in a completely different room and our keys were just on her desk - anyone could have taken them and gone up to our room. Appalling security.
- The next morning, as we were checking out, the receptionist asked us if we were the 'noisy British couple' who had arrived late at night, drunk, who had kept everyone up. We felt that this was both rude and inappropriate. For the record - we barely drink alcohol, were completely sober when we returned from dinner and went straight to bed. What did they hope to achieve by accusing us of being drunk Brits? Do all of us Brits look alike or something? Yet another sour taste to add to a poor impression.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The location was excellent - a lovely part of town on the edge of the sights an close to great restaurants. The staff were very helpful and provided train timetables and other advice re visiting Lake Como etc. Rooms were spacious and bathrooms excellent.
We were booked for 2 nights in September 2013 but loved it so much we stayed an extra 2 nights. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed here for three nights. Family run, cared for hotel and it shows. Rooms immaculate. Wonderful staff. Great breakfasts too. Located 3-4 minutes walk to the Park Sempione- the Arch in the park is a great locating point. A lovely hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lancaster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Hotel

Address: Via Abbondio Sangiorgio, 16, 20145 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#22 Family Hotel in Milan
#27 Best Value Hotel in Milan
#39 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you need for a short or long stay in the beautiful city of Milan for business or vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Lancaster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lancaster Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.