We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lancaster Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lancaster Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lancaster Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Lancaster Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Abbondio Sangiorgio, 16, 20145 Milan, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #15 of 432 hotels in Milan
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Lancaster Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

When my partner and I planned our visit in Milan we were to stay with a friend. He was called out of town on work but said we could stay in his apartment anyway. This didn't seem right so we jumped in a taxi and asked to be taken to a hotel in a central location preferably near the train station. We were taken to the Lancaster. No prior booking but we were in luck. On arrival we were warmly welcomed by the lady on reception and she provided us with maps and a range of advice. She could not have been more helpful. We booked a superior room on the fourth floor. To our surprise it was huge with a massive comfy bed. The room was immaculate, the bathroom was also huge with a giant bath and double sinks and toiletries. As it was a very hot few days we were pleased to have sensational air conditioning which was great after hot days out and about.
The bar and breakfast areas were well arranged and spotlessly clean, and staff were always happy and up for a chat. There were also two men on concierge at different times who were both really nice helpful guys. The 24 hour bar was a plus, once or twice when we arrived back to the hotel and enjoyed a cold drink at the bar and a chat to the concierge. And the English of staff amazed us! It was so good to be able to chat in English, sorry but us Aussies aren't good with languages!
This is turning into a very long review, but I must say this hotel was a great find. The room was great, breakfast great, location perfect, price great but the best thing about this hotel must be the staff, everyone was just so helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay there again and highly recommend it. THANKYOU to the Lancaster for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: My advice would be to book to avoid disappointment, I have stayed in many hotels and this is up ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    254
    165
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
68
217
35
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, FL
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

After so many outstanding reviews on this hotel---I hope that I am not sounding repetitious....
I booked 6 nights at the Lancaster because I trusted the many reviews on Trip Advisor. I was not disappointed. We reserved a superior room with daily breakfast and Wifi access included. The room that we were assigned was #125---one flight up from the ground floor. This room had a lovely balcony overlooking a courtyard, a king-sized firm bed with crisp clean linens, a safe, refrigerator, and a new updated bathroom. The room was in pristine condition every day.

The continental breakfast was excellent and the servers were also outstanding. Probably one of the best European hotel breakfasts that I have had in past several years.

The help that we received from the front desk was more than I expected. Before our arrival, they answered many questions and even booked a Milan tour with visit to see the Last Supper. I had been unable to get tickets for the Last Supper on-line until September or October. I almost hate to single out anyone, cause everyone was helpful. Maurizio felt like a friend after the first day.
He is usually there at the desk during normal hours, and was always eager to help. The owners of this hotel are also very helpful and kind to their guests.

This small hotel has about 30 rooms and is well-located. It is an easy 5 minute walk to the arch in Sempione Park. Just down the street from the arch are many sidewalk cafes and restaurants.
We often ate dinner in that area. There is no doubt in my mind that if I return to Milan, I will stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Cars and especially motorcycles make lots of noise everywhere in Milan. I would ask for a room that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

First class small hotel with no negatives. Friendly and helpful staff who will advise on local restaurants, sell you transport tickets, or attend to any other request that you may have. Rooms are of a very high standard with towels and bed sheets changed every day, air conditioning and room safe. Good choice of breakfast - continental with the option of boiled egg and toast . Freshly made coffee of any type you may fancy with pastries to finish. Great position near the centre of Milan and an easy 15-20 minutes walk through the lovely Parco Sempione and on past the castle to the Duomo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We checked into the Lancaster Hotel and were told we had been given a superior room. We booked the option that came with the free internet which I am assuming is the superior room. We were very happy with the accomodation. It had a private balcony that had a nice view, a very large bathroom with 2 sinks (almost unheard of in Europe) great shower and powerful A/C. The bed was comfortable and a very nice touch was lots of bathroom amenities, including toothbrush, razor, lotions, etc, and 2 Italian chocolates on our pillow. The breakfast in the morning was great. Very satisfying, and you can order cappuccino, espresso etc. The front desk service was excellent and we got great dinner recommendations and a good map with highlights pointed out to us. In the evening there is a cute bar with snacks offered and you can order room service anytime. This hotel really has a small family owned feel to it, but has all of the amenities of a four star chain. The location was perfect for us, we love to walk and the Parco Sempione where the castle is located was 2 minutes away. We will definitely stay again when we return to Milan

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, they have lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We booked this place because of Tripadvisor ranking and hotelclicks offer, and only stayed one night. If we were in Milan for longer we would have probably changed hotels. Reception (and breakfast) staff were very efficient and friendly and the offer price of £66 was fair value, but that didn't make up for the very (!) tired quality of the room (dark, smelly/smoky, stuffy) and the common areas (old, not paticularly inviting, little space). Both the pillows and the mattress were very hard which led to a restless night of sleep and sore muscles in e morning. Location is Ok (park and castle are close, some shopping and restaurants).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotlan, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Lancaster Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Mr Ian M,

thank you for choosing to stay at the Lancaster for your night in Milan. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay as the staff Reception/Breakfast and the location, safe in the center of Milan, near Sempione Park and Sforzesco Castle, full of bars and differents kinds of restaurants. I was sorry to learn that you were not entirely satisfied with room and the common areas. I inform you that at the Lancaster we have hight standard of cleaness and maintenance as described by others guests experience with their comments. I inform you that the pillows and mattress are new (we changed recently) and are the same brands and quality you may find in the best five star hotel in Milan (we have the same supplier for mattress and bathrooms facilities). So if the mattress is hard it means best quality for sleeping. We are a small hotel, 30 rooms, and the common areas are not so big as in an hotel with more rooms because our hotel is like a "home". Concerning the common areas old, I inform that the common areas were totally restored and new; maybe you confused with another hotel.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Lancaster again in the future. Best regards, Sauro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Having stayed here for the second time, it delivers on everything and for the price and location, cannot be beaten. Clean, spacious, air conditioned rooms, some with balconies. A first class continental breakfast and service and welcome, is second to none. Roger on reception is a true gentleman and nothing is too much trouble. Look at the others and then book this one!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotlan, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Lancaster Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
What a review! Thank you so much for sharing this great feedback. I am proud and pleased to share such comments with the team and with Roger in particular. On behalf of everyone here, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon! With kind regards, Sauro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here based on other trip advisors reviews and was not disappointed. We had a room with 3 singles beds and a very clean and well equipped bathroom, air conditioned room which is essential in Milan in summer and also a little balcony which you could have a cigarette on. The hotel is three star but that is not a real indication of its potential, great friendly staff who speak English, and well kept and clean rooms. About a ten minute walk to the Dumo and shopping areas. Parking is difficult out in the street but they offer discounted secure parking around the corner for $20 euro per day with the showing of a card provided by the hotel, wi- fi is extra $3:50 per day. If your looking for a reasonably priced hotel in Milan I would highly recommend this one.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotlan, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Lancaster Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
I was delighted to read your review of our hotel and was pleased to read that you thought the services and facilities provided were of good value, we also think so! Thank you for taking the time to share this great feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you back again for your next visit. With kind regards, Sauro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lancaster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Hotel

Also Known As:
Lancaster Hotel Milan
Address: Via Abbondio Sangiorgio, 16, 20145 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Milan
#32 Best Value Hotel in Milan
#43 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you need for a short or long stay in the beautiful city of Milan for business or vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Lancaster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lancaster Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.