We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair value, but don't stay long” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lancaster Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lancaster Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lancaster Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Abbondio Sangiorgio, 16, 20145 Milan, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #19 of 431 Hotels in Milan
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Fair value, but don't stay long”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We booked this place because of Tripadvisor ranking and hotelclicks offer, and only stayed one night. If we were in Milan for longer we would have probably changed hotels. Reception (and breakfast) staff were very efficient and friendly and the offer price of £66 was fair value, but that didn't make up for the very (!) tired quality of the room (dark, smelly/smoky, stuffy) and the common areas (old, not paticularly inviting, little space). Both the pillows and the mattress were very hard which led to a restless night of sleep and sore muscles in e morning. Location is Ok (park and castle are close, some shopping and restaurants).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotlan, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Lancaster Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Mr Ian M,

thank you for choosing to stay at the Lancaster for your night in Milan. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay as the staff Reception/Breakfast and the location, safe in the center of Milan, near Sempione Park and Sforzesco Castle, full of bars and differents kinds of restaurants. I was sorry to learn that you were not entirely satisfied with room and the common areas. I inform you that at the Lancaster we have hight standard of cleaness and maintenance as described by others guests experience with their comments. I inform you that the pillows and mattress are new (we changed recently) and are the same brands and quality you may find in the best five star hotel in Milan (we have the same supplier for mattress and bathrooms facilities). So if the mattress is hard it means best quality for sleeping. We are a small hotel, 30 rooms, and the common areas are not so big as in an hotel with more rooms because our hotel is like a "home". Concerning the common areas old, I inform that the common areas were totally restored and new; maybe you confused with another hotel.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Lancaster again in the future. Best regards, Sauro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    186
    17
    5
    1
See reviews for
71
240
37
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Having stayed here for the second time, it delivers on everything and for the price and location, cannot be beaten. Clean, spacious, air conditioned rooms, some with balconies. A first class continental breakfast and service and welcome, is second to none. Roger on reception is a true gentleman and nothing is too much trouble. Look at the others and then book this one!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotlan, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Lancaster Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
What a review! Thank you so much for sharing this great feedback. I am proud and pleased to share such comments with the team and with Roger in particular. On behalf of everyone here, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon! With kind regards, Sauro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here based on other trip advisors reviews and was not disappointed. We had a room with 3 singles beds and a very clean and well equipped bathroom, air conditioned room which is essential in Milan in summer and also a little balcony which you could have a cigarette on. The hotel is three star but that is not a real indication of its potential, great friendly staff who speak English, and well kept and clean rooms. About a ten minute walk to the Dumo and shopping areas. Parking is difficult out in the street but they offer discounted secure parking around the corner for $20 euro per day with the showing of a card provided by the hotel, wi- fi is extra $3:50 per day. If your looking for a reasonably priced hotel in Milan I would highly recommend this one.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotlan, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Lancaster Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
I was delighted to read your review of our hotel and was pleased to read that you thought the services and facilities provided were of good value, we also think so! Thank you for taking the time to share this great feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you back again for your next visit. With kind regards, Sauro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

The location is great and the staff could not be nicer.

The wifi can be a little patchy and Sky TV with an English option (which was provided in a €40 per night pensione in Breguzzo) would be nice but otherwise superb.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

left perth it was a 26 hour flight first hotel on our long awaited holiday, A very good location in a trendy part of town. (ref east perth feeling/Subiaco)Only staying there for 2 nights so this was the perfect hotel.Shower was a bit small, but clean and friendly staff.a few minutes walk to all the eating areas, great park very close by. Close to small supermarket, in the evenings everything comes alive, however we all fell asleep by 9.30pm. Deals going where you by a drink for 8 euro and get buffet nibbles all you can eat free. Tram into town close by,buy your tickets at the tobacco shop however I think we were the only ones who paid.Would stay there again
.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed five nights in this hotel to attend a conference at MIC the Congress Centre and would definitely go back again. I stayed over all in six hotels in Italy and this was my favorite. The location is perfect. It's a short walk to Cardona train station were you take the Malpenza express,.down the road from Sempione Park which is beautiful and a 20-25 min walk down to the Duomo. This hotel is small enough that you feel connected with all of the staff. The gentleman on the desk were charming competent and spoke good English. The room and bathroom was more than adequate and compared to the other breakfasts that I had this one did it right.For example I didn't have to make my coffee in an automatic coffee machine but it was served according to preference. I could ask for espresso, double espresso, americano etc .They provided a breakfast that was nutritious and not overly loaded which sweet sugary treats in comparison to the other places I stayed. There was real fruit salad ,very good wholesome granola, there was plain yogurt ,there were hard-boiled eggs.This was a definite upgrade from other places where I was given overly sweet croissant , fruit yogurts,cookies cakes and coffee from an automatic coffee making machine. My colleagues all checked into bigger more expensive hotels and got bills in the thousands ,mine was well under 500 for the five nights. I felt I got a really good deal and a very enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: my room was at the back and would have been quiet if there had been some drunken English tourists on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Very good hotel, good location just off the main road with above average service. Well appointed hotel room, spotlessly clean with attentive staff. This hotel is seriously under rated on Trip Advisor. Would definitely stay again. Rogero was a delight to deal after a 26 hour flight.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lancaster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Hotel

Address: Via Abbondio Sangiorgio, 16, 20145 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Milan
#21 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#60 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you need for a short or long stay in the beautiful city of Milan for business or vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Lancaster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lancaster Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.