We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual, interesting and OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wagner Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wagner Hotel to your Saves list
Wagner Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via M. Buonarroti, 13, 20149 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #238 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Unusual, interesting and OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice comfortable hotel, with very comfortable rooms, good Italian breakfast. What makes it a bit of fun is the decor. It seems it's all gold and neo roman or neo something, the staff are very friendly and the hotel is excellently situated near excellent restaurants and bars with good vibe. Would recommend staying but don't expect 4 star, just and interesting and fun experience.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    25
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
3
7
7
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grantham UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

I've stayed a few times as it's close to the office.
The rooms are circa 1970s Middle Eastern kitsch, all yellow, gold and mirrors, which take some getting used to. The beds are hard and the pillows like bricks. Aircon worked OK and windows opened too, no sign of Mosquitos (late Sept). Quite quiet. WifFi was fine for audio & video streaming, not sure if games would work. TV is Italian only.
Breakfast is adequate, service very friendly. Great music in the reception lobby- metal in the evenings, Barry White in the morning..
Fine for business, wouldn't stay on leisure.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City, Indiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 6 nights on a business trip. I was seduced by the central location and the pretty rooms - that and the fact that nearly every other hotel in the area was fully booked. In retrospect, that should have been a warning sign.

PROS: the location is indeed great and the rooms are very nice. Unfortunately, that wasn't enough to overcome the cons (see below).

CONS: Let me count the ways:
1) As another reviewer mentioned, there are no irons in the rooms or anywhere else in the hotel. What they do offer is sending out your shirt for ironing. All it takes is a whole day and 10(!) euros. Absurd.

2) Rooms on the upper floors get very hot. When we inquired about the non-functioning air conditioner we were told that it's broken and will be repaired the following day. Needless to say they had no fans and couldn't offer any alternative. When we called reception the following day they told us that air conditioning isn't turned on until June 1st. Why not simply open the windows, you ask? Easy, because the one time we tried we were ravaged by giant Milanese mosquitos. The windows have no nets on them, you see.

3) In theory, the hotel has Wi-Fi internet. In practice, I've been to hostels that had a more stable connection. Voice/video chatting is out of the question, so is anything other than basic email checking. And that's being charitable. Certainly not adequate for any business purpose.

As the title says, this hotel is certainly not what you'd expect from a 4 star hotel. Caveat emptor!

Room Tip: Stay on the low floors since upper floor rooms get hot and there is no air conditioning until June.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I was here for the Salone del Mobile and stayed here as I liked the neighbourhood. The hotel is in an excellent location just steps away from the metro and there are many services nearby such as a supermarket, pharmacy, fast food, etc. Price was understandably higher during the period of the Salone.
Hotel room was a bit small (ok for me though) with mirrors on every wall (need to get used to that). Room was clean, good housekeeping, and front desk was friendly and helpful, but service could have been more attentive during breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Couldn't fault the hotel, exactly like the photos - reception friendly and helpful, the room was spacious and clean. Couldn't understand why they put a tv in the bathroom though as there was only a shower cubicle! The breakfast was the usual continental selection. However at 198 euros for a twin for one night I did think it was overpriced, especially as there was no car park or garaging for our motorcycle.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on a business trip. The hotel is in a fantastic location, surrounded by bars, restaurants and cafes and just yards from the Wagner underground station. The keener people may also walk from Cardona railway station. The Opera house is just around the corner too.

The staff are very friendly and keen to help although experience would suggest enthusiasm doesn't always get the desired result. Breakfast offers a wide selection of cold cuts, fruits, cereals and other staples but the only thing served hot is the coffee - very good coffee.

The rooms are clean and comfortable. Geography limits the amount of natural light but they compensate well with excellent lighting. The aircon also seems to work well and without the need for an advanced degree in Thermodynamics, which is a pleasant bonus.

Despite being in the heart of the city, there is no noise to be heard in the rooms. Free wifi is also a standard feature.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed at the Wagner for 5 nights whilst working at a congress in Milan. The metro station is just outside and all local facilities, as well as nice bars etc.
Massimo is great on the front desk and the staff all friendly. Breakfast has a wide choice on the buffet. Rooms nice and clean.
The hotel is very brightly lit and nearly every wall has large mirrors on them. Bit of a shock first thing in the morning!
Would I return? Yes I would.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wagner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wagner Hotel

Address: Via M. Buonarroti, 13, 20149 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#137 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wagner Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wagner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wagner Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wagner Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.