We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Duca di York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Duca di York to your Saves list
Gran Duca di York
Via Moneta, 1, 20123 Milan, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Tustin, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice location and room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This hotel was near city center and walking distance to almost all the sites we had time to see. Before we arrived there we were able to communicate with them by email to find out the cost of getting to the airport and if they new a tour company for Lake Como. They were very responsive and that continued on site. The bed was comfortable, the room a good size and the bathroom was very nice. The hotel was not quite as quaint as some of the places we stayed in other cities but was perfect for the end of our trip. Overall a positive experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    212
    33
    3
    6
See reviews for
86
317
35
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney,Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Perfectly located within 10 minutes walk of the Duomo, this budget hotel is lifted by its quirky charm, the helpful staff and the choice of restaurants within easy stroll. The room itself is small and basic, but scrupulously clean, freshly painted and with a more than adequate en-suite. Located in the financial district, the rooms are nice and quiet at night with good light-excluding shutters. In fact, so successful that we missed the breakfast deadline one morning. However the kindly staff still brought us our choices anyway. The breakfast is included and was very nice.There is a cute little bar with free snacks, very helpful front desk for directions, transport advice etc. Perfect for a few days in Milan.

Room Tip: Two rooms on the second floor have a little garden balcony - great in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Perfect quite hotel close to the Duomo but not too close.

There are so many hotels in Milan that we had a hard time figuring out where to stay without spending a lot of money. Gran Duca satisfied all options.

- The room was nothing fancy, but it was clean and seemed fairly modern.
- There was complimentary breakfast every morning
- Just a short 5 min walk to the Duomo and metro stations
- Staff spoke English and were very helpful

The only thing was that there were not a lot of quality restaurants right near the hotel, you had to walk or go our of your way to find them. But maybe that's just Milan though. Overall I would say it is a great place for the value and you will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Outstanding location, nice and very clean hotel, top staff and very reasonable prices, Very comfortable, free WIFI, excellent breakfast included and free minibar. Really outstanding. What else can we ask for. 3rd time there and not last, whether in couple or with kids.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Not the cheapest for a 3 Star hotel - but very well located right next door to the Ambrosian Art Gallery (set in a great palace building) and within a couple of hundred yards of the Duomo, the Victor Emmanuel shopping centre and La Scala. The Gran Duca was very comfortable and wonderfully clean - with new crisp white bed linen every day. The location alone is worth 3 stars by itself - the fourth was given for cleanliness!

Room Tip: 207 and 307 were both excellent doubles - we did not see any of the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YORKSHIRE
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

5 minutes from the Duomo and all the posh shops/restaurants etc , this was perfect for our three night stay in Milan. Right next door to cake shop and even an art gallery that was actually worth visiting when it was raining!
We hired superior rooms and they were more than adequate for our purposes. The bathroom was excellent as was the air conditioning and the maid service was as good as we have come across.

The breakfast included hot sausage bacon and scrambled eggs - and a nice touch - all soft drinks in the mini bar were complementary -and readily replenished- over the three night stay

We would certainly stop there again!.

Room Tip: Ours was classed as a superior room. The hotel seemed quite anyway even though we were near the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I stayed in a single room and found it surprisingly comfortable, and although compact, not the least bit claustrophobic. The closet/safe/fridge/shelves were in the entrance hallway which also provided extra space, and some nice sound separation from the elevator across the hall. Unaware of any street noise whatsoever. The single bed was wider and MUCH longer than normal singles in the US. Very comfortable, and I am 5'11". Clean, quiet, lots of variety at breakfast, easy walk to the Duomo etc., AC worked, and the fact that they made the entire contents of the minibar fridge (non-alcoholic drinks) complimentary was just the icing on the cake. Great stay. Thank you!

Room Tip: If you are traveling alone the single room is a terrific deal.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Duca di York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Duca di York

Address: Via Moneta, 1, 20123 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#10 Family Hotel in Milan
#10 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Gran Duca di York is a little charming hotel in Milan.An establishment set in an 19th century historic palace .It is located in a very quiet street just few steps from the city center.The Atmosphere is very relaxing and the lobby is decorated with a collection of authentic frescoes.33 guest rooms completely renovated with free Wi.Fi.connection and free water and soft drinks in the room minibar.The daily rates always include buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Gran Duca di York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Duca Di York Hotel Milan
Gran Duca Di York Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Duca di York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.