We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, reasonable price for Milan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Duca di York

Save Saved
You added Gran Duca di York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gran Duca di York
Via Moneta, 1, 20123 Milan, Italy (Centro Storico)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 433 hotels in Milan
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location, reasonable price for Milan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

In Milan for a weekend break, picked this hotel for its location about 5 minutes away from the Duomo. Easy to walk or take the trams to all other major sights and shopping. A lovely little hotel, sparkling clean with great enhanced continental breakfast; go earlier for the most selection, especially on weekends. Comfortable European-sized rooms with good heating/air conditioning. Walls are a little thin but this was only noticeable in the morning when guests were going for breakfast at different times, earplugs should suffice. Would stay here again for overall quality for price and prime location. Booking well in advance on the website gets you the lowest rates which are reasonable for central Milan.

Room Tip: A higher floor towards the back of the building would be quietest. Rooms with small balconies would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    277
    177
    28
    3
    5
See reviews for
69
257
30
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I've stayed at several small and inexpensive hotels in the center of Milan, and this one is by far the best bargain I've ever found in a city where it's hard to find bargain hotel rates. Its best feature is the location, a five-minute walk to Piazza Duomo and Piazza Cordusio, right around the corner of the Ambrosiana library, so you can walk everywhere, and it's on a quiet street. Very pleasant staff and the rooms, while not especially big, are not miniscule either, as you might find at some of the other places nearby. Now I know where to stay the next time I go to Milan.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

First the building is an historical residence nearly 17th century, now is modern and comfortable hotel, a few blocs os the Milan Cathedral, the Scala of Milan and 3 blocks of Cordusio subway station. The staff was very hepful and kindly. The breakfast was incredible, with a great selection of italian food. The hotel´s decoration is really charming and has very good taste. The room was clean and so comfortable, and free bottles of water were available.
I would definetely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Another professor and I brought a group of college students to Milan and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Duca di York. The staff members were very helpful--they made numerous reservations at restaurants for us, they patiently answered all our questions about where to go and how to get there, and they went above and beyond by preparing breakfast bags for us when we left very early for a day trip to Venice. The breakfast bar had a great selection of food...and I'm already missing my cappuccinos that were made to order every morning. The hotel is in a very convenient location--close to mass transit, the Duomo, and the Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II, and within walking distance to both the Brera and the Navigli districts. And, finally, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and free bottles of flat and sparkling water, as well as other beverages, were available.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This modern, clean and efficient hotel is at a great location to walk to the cathedral area. The staff was helpful, the breakfast was generous. I would definetely recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Garza Garcia, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Nice safe bet.
Superb location, very good service, good price, fair rooms.
If it were allowed I would actually give this hotel a 3.5 stars.
Since I need to get to 200 characters in order to post this review, I will take this space to say that it is very important, if you wish to see the Last Supper, to purchase your tickets as soon as they are available for the desired dates.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gentofte, Denmark
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Staff is all very sweet and kind, make you feel very welcome. We arrived at 11 am and both rooms were available. Rooms are clean, nice and functional. Lot’s of space for clothes, and real hangers in the closet.
We asked for dinner recommendations, as we found some of the good restaurants to be closed over New Year, they made an excellent choice and even booked the table for us. The service, comfort, location and facilities of this hotel is perfect, and the price is very good.
All drinks in minibar are complimentary – also complementary Wi-Fi
Very nice breakfast, especially for Italian standard. Eggs, bacon, sausages, 3 different kind of cheese, butter, different yoghurts, fresh fruit, toast, Danish pastry, cereal, marmalade, Nutella, honey, juice tea, coffee all you could want for breakfast.
If you plan on taking a taxi from the airport – don’t. Ask the hotel for transportation. We took a taxi from the airport, old smelly Skoda – fixed price 90 EUR, we asked the hotel to book a taxi for the return, they suggested a private firm for 95 EUR – this was a huge Mercedes, with lot’s of space for all our luggage.
Hotel location is also perfect, nice and quiet and just a 5 minute walk to the very center of Milan.
I will give this lovely hotel my very best recommendations, and will definitely stay here again when in Milan.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gran Duca di York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Duca di York

Address: Via Moneta, 1, 20123 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Milan
#7 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#14 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Gran Duca di York is a little charming hotel in Milan.An establishment set in an 19th century historic palace .It is located in a very quiet street just few steps from the city center.The Atmosphere is very relaxing and the lobby is decorated with a collection of authentic frescoes.33 guest rooms completely renovated with free Wi.Fi.connection and free water and soft drinks in the room minibar.The daily rates always include buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, T4B, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Gran Duca di York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Duca Di York Hotel Milan
Gran Duca Di York Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Duca di York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.