We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Duca di York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Duca di York to your Saves list
Gran Duca di York
Via Moneta, 1, 20123 Milan, Italy (Centro Storico)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Anthem, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Reviewed this hotel on line before making our reservations. We were definitely not disappointed. The location was perfect. We were within walking distance of everything we had planned to see in Milan. The staff was very accommodating and assisted us in locating sites and restaurants. The hotel offered free Wifi and breakfast that included scrambled eggs and bacon. I will recommend this hotel to friends traveling to Milan.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    209
    32
    3
    6
See reviews for
85
310
34
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

The staff is outstanding -- friendly, helpful, and gracious. The room felt brand-new, so very clean, and had everything we needed. The bed was very comfortable. There was enough hanging space although no drawers. The bathroom had an American-style shower with nice pressure and plenty of room. In-room wi-fi was free, which is something we look for. The breakfast was very good and there's a bar where you can get a drink in the evening. The location is terrific -- just steps to the Duomo and the Castello. We lived in Milan long ago and we go back frequently, and find the hotel scene generally pretty disappointing. The value here is among the best.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Hotel is next to pinoteca ambrosia, in financial area. Great common areas, room was nice with typical european shower (small) but had a ceiling shower spray. Free Wifi, OK breakfast included, easy to walk to metro, galleria, duomo and of course shopping. Staff helped arrange dinner reservations, would stay there again when in Milan

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights in late May 2012, and paid about $226 per night including taxes, breakfast, and free wi-fi. I enjoyed the stay very much, and would strongly recommend it. The location, about 10 minutes' walk from the Duomo and close to metro stations Cordusio (with direct service to Cadorna, where the Malpensa Express arrives and departs) and Duomo (with direct service to the central train station), is unbeatable. The hotel is in an old palace on Via Moneta, so named because of a Bank of Italy branch (with heavily-guarded currency distribution facility) next door. It's a short street that may be hard to find on a map. The hotel has been nicely renovated, and my room was not large, but clean and modern with a small balcony leading to an atrium. Free wi-fi worked well and fast. The bed was comfortable and had high-quality linens and pillows. The breakfast had great pastries, fresh fruit, and coffee, but could be improved with eggs cooked to order (the only eggs available were the powdered scrambled kind). My only minor complaint about the room was that there was only one wastebasket, in the bathroom. All in all, it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Quiet small hotel 3 minute walk to Duomo and shopping district. Friendly, limited staff. Private setting, calm atmosphere, no real amenities, and not much to do inside hotel. Basically it's a 3 star hotel that also gets 3 stars from me.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

This hotel was a great find. Starting with excellent customer service at check in, the rooms and their amenities, and delicious complimentary breakfast to the smooth way everything worked...this is one to go back to.

Room Tip: From what we could tell, the rooms were all great. Both our room and our friend's rooms were on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Top Contributor
612 reviews 612 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

One again TA reviews came through for my family. We stayed at this hotel for four nights in April and have a great experience. Located just a few blocks from Duomo Square on a very quiet side street, we were impressed with the service at the front counter, better than average rooms, the small bar with reasonably priced drinks, and the amazingly complete breakfast buffet (included.)

The rooms are not large, but the beds, desk, closet space, electrical outlets, and bathrooms (quite modern) were more than adequate. It was never crowded or bustling, just quiet and comfortable. It is, in fact, located literally adjacent to the Pinacoteca Ambrosiana.

For the quality, price, service, breakfast and location, it was perfect and I would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Duca di York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Duca di York

Address: Via Moneta, 1, 20123 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#10 Family Hotel in Milan
#10 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Gran Duca di York is a little charming hotel in Milan.An establishment set in an 19th century historic palace .It is located in a very quiet street just few steps from the city center.The Atmosphere is very relaxing and the lobby is decorated with a collection of authentic frescoes.33 guest rooms completely renovated with free Wi.Fi.connection and free water and soft drinks in the room minibar.The daily rates always include buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Gran Duca di York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Duca Di York Hotel Milan
Gran Duca Di York Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Duca di York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.