We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Star

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Star to your Saves list
Hotel Star
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Bossi, 5, 20121 Milan, Italy (Centro Storico)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Chose this hotel, given information from trip advisor and Rick Steves guidebook, despite the slightly odd pictures of wildlife on walls of rooms. The room was immaculate, the staff friemdly and helpful, and the location perfect. I don't understand revirewers' mediocre comments regarding the breakfast. It was one of the best of our 2 week Italy trip (including 4 star stays), featuring amazing pastries, meats and cheeses, etc. We would stay again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVMIL5306, Responsabile reception at Hotel Star, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you! And THANK YOU from Mrs Cinzia " the brekafst lady".
We repeat to evrybody: we are not perfect and we are not able to be.
But please help us to meet your request and next customer, too.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    143
    33
    10
    13
See reviews for
45
117
39
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed for 1 night to attend La Scala. For me it was perfect. Clean, great location and great staff. Plus, there is a sauna is the shower which was fantastic! After touring for the afternoon, I used it, rested and was set for a lovely evening in Milan. It was a little noisy during the night, not sure what that was caused by.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVMIL5306, Responsabile reception at Hotel Star, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you! We are glad you enjoyed our services and your stay was a pit nicer thanks to those..

For all future visitors.
Let's assume that we are in a city.
The tram and its noise like a train is just a few meters from us.
On Tuesday morning, around 6 am., Large trucks pass to pick up the garbage. On Friday, at the same time, pass for the removal of various recicli (glass, paper and so on). And noise are also in the various internal courtyards (the city agrees to put out the container only from 5 am).
Then sometimes there are the sounds of neighbors, too.
And sometimes the sounds are on our corridors, if customers greet each other and talk and maybe do not care what time it is. And maybe something else.... Sorry we are not perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This fine little hotel is located in a small street at the center of Milan. It is in walking distance to the heart of Milan, the shopping streets and restaurants. The staff is very friendly and the breakfast is just fine. The next time I visit Milan I will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVMIL5306, Responsabile reception at Hotel Star, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you! You have been very kind. If you will return, we hope to satisfy always your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The location was excellent very close to all sites. The staff was very helpfuf in giving directions. Breakfasts were adequate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVMIL5306, Responsabile reception at Hotel Star, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
For the location of the hotel we have no merit, we are lucky to be here. Thanks to all the staff who try to commit to the guests of hotel. Breakfast for a three star is perhaps a bit more than normal, but suggestions are always welcome. thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Given it is 2 minutes from La Scala and 5 from the Duomo this is fantastic value. I had a gorgeous room with a huge marble bathroom. Staff very helpful and pleasant especially Vittoria and Bruno. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVMIL5306, Responsabile reception at Hotel Star, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
What to say to you... THANK YOU! <3
We tried to do our best, but not always with good results. We are happy that you enjoed your stay in our hotel. Again, sincerely, Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Star

Address: Via dei Bossi, 5, 20121 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#79 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Star 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he location is perfect!Small and original, in the heart of Milan, in via dei Bossi, Hotel Star is the perfect solution among 3-star hotels in the historic center for both business trips and vacations for art, culture and shopping.A two minute walk from Teatro alla Scala, five minutes from piazza del Duomo and 300 meters from the subway, 30 very comfortable rooms, wireless internet, efficient amenities, courtesy and cordiality.An original and pleasant decor typify the 30 rooms at the Hotel Star which, thanks to all the necessary comforts and amenities of a 3-star hotel in downtown Milan, is the perfect solution for both business trips and vacations at a hotel in Milan.With parquet floors, especially important for allergy sufferers, there is an elevator to the rooms which include a choice between the classic, superior and economy categories.The rooms at Hotel Star can accommodate one to two guests in absolute comfort; the beds are large and, in the superior single, there is a full bed. Some rooms have a private bathroom with a shower or tub (multi-option shower/sauna and jacuzzi in superior and classic rooms), telephone, hair dryer and courtesy line. There are direct telephones, satellite televisions, a minibar, coffee and tea maker, safe and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Star, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.