We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Star

Save Saved
You added Hotel Star to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Star
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Bossi, 5, 20121 Milan, Italy (Centro Storico)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 431 hotels in Milan
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This fine little hotel is located in a small street at the center of Milan. It is in walking distance to the heart of Milan, the shopping streets and restaurants. The staff is very friendly and the breakfast is just fine. The next time I visit Milan I will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVMIL5306, Responsabile reception at Hotel Star, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you! You have been very kind. If you will return, we hope to satisfy always your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    122
    30
    9
    11
See reviews for
31
101
33
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The location was excellent very close to all sites. The staff was very helpfuf in giving directions. Breakfasts were adequate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVMIL5306, Responsabile reception at Hotel Star, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
For the location of the hotel we have no merit, we are lucky to be here. Thanks to all the staff who try to commit to the guests of hotel. Breakfast for a three star is perhaps a bit more than normal, but suggestions are always welcome. thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Given it is 2 minutes from La Scala and 5 from the Duomo this is fantastic value. I had a gorgeous room with a huge marble bathroom. Staff very helpful and pleasant especially Vittoria and Bruno. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVMIL5306, Responsabile reception at Hotel Star, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
What to say to you... THANK YOU! <3
We tried to do our best, but not always with good results. We are happy that you enjoed your stay in our hotel. Again, sincerely, Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Very easy hotel to find and well placed for seeing Milan. Staff more than helpful. Room bigger than expected. Breakfast good. Got special web deal so reasonable value for city centre hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVMIL5306, Responsabile reception at Hotel Star, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you!. We remind to all our visitors that rooms are usually small. The price changes, so please do no aspect too much from our small *** stars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I spent only one night in this hotel in Milan extending my business trip. I have to tell I was more satisfied with this 3 star hotel than the 4 star I used on the previous night. Bathroom was lovely, big and very well equipped. Furnitures were little old fashioned, but comfortable. I had no view from my room. Staff was very kind and helpful. Location is perfect, tourist attractions and Duomo in few mins walking distance. Hotel is located in a quite street, safe area. I didn't dine in, so I can't comment on dining facilities. Old town was very close with number of restaurants and lovely ice-cream places. I recommend this place if you need a place for good sleep, and want to be close to the central. Price was very good for the quality.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVMIL5306, Responsabile reception at Hotel Star, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

We spotted this great hotel in passing, but it took us a good 45 minutes to return to it when we decided to stay in Milan overnight. The cleaning lady who first showed us the room (after being packed like a can of sardines in an elevator meant for two, NOT FIVE) was as sweet as honey and barely spoke English...those down at the reception were equally as friendly. In fact, one of the concierges explain to us the postal system and the total required value of stamps needed in order to send postcards to Canada...across the board, it is 1.60€ for each card. A local screwed us up in selling us the wrong francobolli...but thank you Miss Receptionist!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starmilano, Responsabile reception at Hotel Star, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you!
We do hope that the postarcards " sooner or later " will arrive, even with the right stamps amount ;-).
About the lift.... luckily in an old building, like this one ( dating back to the 19-20 century ), there is a small lift that works!
Take care and regards to the whole family.
Sincerely
Staff Hotel Star Via dei Bossi Milano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Star

Address: Via dei Bossi, 5, 20121 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#74 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Star 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he location is perfect!Small and original, in the heart of Milan, in via dei Bossi, Hotel Star is the perfect solution among 3-star hotels in the historic center for both business trips and vacations for art, culture and shopping.A two minute walk from Teatro alla Scala, five minutes from piazza del Duomo and 300 meters from the subway, 30 very comfortable rooms, wireless internet, efficient amenities, courtesy and cordiality.An original and pleasant decor typify the 30 rooms at the Hotel Star which, thanks to all the necessary comforts and amenities of a 3-star hotel in downtown Milan, is the perfect solution for both business trips and vacations at a hotel in Milan.With parquet floors, especially important for allergy sufferers, there is an elevator to the rooms which include a choice between the classic, superior and economy categories.The rooms at Hotel Star can accommodate one to two guests in absolute comfort; the beds are large and, in the superior single, there is a full bed. Some rooms have a private bathroom with a shower or tub (multi-option shower/sauna and jacuzzi in superior and classic rooms), telephone, hair dryer and courtesy line. There are direct telephones, satellite televisions, a minibar, coffee and tea maker, safe and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Star, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.