We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise, surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Star

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Star to your Saves list
Hotel Star
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Bossi, 5, 20121 Milan, Italy (Centro Storico)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 432 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Surprise, surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

After reading several reviews decided to book here for a few days in Milan. Situated 2 minutes from La Scala it was easy to find, although the Via dei Bossi is a dark, narrow street the hotel hides from the outside world what is beyond the front door. We were greeted in a friendly and professional manner and were able to leave our luggage as we had arrived early in the morning. On our return our bags had already been taken to our 2nd floor superior double room. This room was on the front of the hotel but there wasn't a problem with noise (it is a city centre hotel), and the room was excellently equipped - all toiletries, including toothbrush, available in the bathroom, which had a whirlpool bath and shower, also tea/coffee facilities, mini bar (not too expensive but didn't use it), and exceptionally clean. The 1st and 2nd floor rooms have been refurbed in the last 2/3 years on an African theme, which runs throughout the hotel, and definitely worth the extra cost.
Breakfast was self service with everything you would want for breakfast, even more so with gluten free guests catered for - cereals, fruit, scrambled eggs, bacon, pastries, yoghut, cheeses, hams, bread, toast, cake, various juices, several different teas and coffees, and other things I may have forgotten! You will not go hungry! And staff are restocking all the time, not that it ever runs out. Everywhere is brilliantly clean, you must go to the loos in the lobby, even they have a wow factor!, and the service is first class (our key was in Vittoria's hand before we had even wiped our feet! amazing when you think of the number of guests she must see every day)! We have stayed in many hotels, mostly large international chain ones, but this hotel suppasses them all. Well done, and thank you, and can truly recommend this one - just see past the frontage!

Room Tip: refurbed rooms are definietly worth the extra expense
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    149
    36
    12
    13
See reviews for
46
122
44
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Recently stayed at Hotel Star for three nights. The hotel, located on a fairly dark but quiet side-street, does not look at all promising from the outside. But once your are inside you discover a bright, pleasantly decorated lobby with a comfortable lounge area supplied with newspapers in Italian, English, and French, plus many travel guide books. Our double room was of moderate size, furnished with wood built-in furniture, which was both functional and attractive. The smallish bathroom was fine and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was excellent with a coffee machine that allowed you to make your own coffee with various choices for espresso, capuchino, etc. It made surprisingly good coffee. Good breads and altogether an excellent offering. Bruno, the first staff person we encountered was all business, but the others were friendlier and all were most helpful in answering questions and providing information. We could walk everywhere we wanted to go, and many restaurants and cafés were a short walk away. The only downside was that there was very little natural light coming into the room, even though we were on the front of the hotel. A small inconvenience, however, to an efficiently run, comfortable, and wonderfully located hotel. I would gladly stay there again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Great location. The rest of the hotel was just fine. Fine room, fine breakfast. Nothing spectacular, but no problems. Helpful email explaining how to locate the hotel.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

My husband and I were just looking for an average hotel that was centrally located for our 2-night stay in Milan, and the Hotel Star met those expectations just fine. My only big complaint was that the room smelled VERY musty/mildewy. The smell was horrible in the bathroom (especially when turning on the fan). But it's a reasonable price close to many of the tourist sites in Milan, so I couldn't complain. There was a very large selection of items at breakfast, including gluten free items. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Canyon National Park, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Hotel Star is on a side street, just a few steps from a major street, Via Broletto. It is equidistant from the cathedral and the art gallery, both of which can be walked to easily. Modern decor, elevator, AC, 24-hour reception. We arrived in early afternoon so they kindly held our luggage while we went sightseeing. Our room was quiet and the staff was very helpful. We had to leave at 5:30 a.m. The wake-up call came on time at 5:00, and the cab they called for (the night before), arrived at 5:30 a.m. on the dot. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Two attractions: the location in the centre of Milan and an excellently well run hotel. Most of Milan's attractions are literally within very short or short walking distances: the main museums of Brera, the Royal Palace, the Poldi-Pezzoli, then the Scala, the Piazza del Duomo and one could keep going on with many other places of interest. The hotel is decorated with an abundance of paintings, a whimsically idiosyncratic choice of African wildlife; well kept rooms, excellent bathrooms, ample lobby for this size hotel, attractive breakfast room behind a beautiful art-nouveau glass panel. Not least, a very friendly and articulate staff. I am not much addicted to writing hotel reviews, but I believe this one deserves to be recommended.

Room Tip: If you have any special requests, mention them; I always do, with a reasonable amount of success.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

The hotel has a perfect location, just one minute from "Teatro alla Scalla" and 2 more minutes from Duomo. The rooms are quite comfortable and clean (we stayed at a Superior room). The stuff was friendly. The only problem was that our room wasn't very "soundproof". Breakfast was ok but nothing special. If you want to stay in Milan and walk around the classic "Scalla-Duomo-Montenapoleone" try this hotel (the rate/night is also very good for Milan center).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starmilano, Direttore at Hotel Star, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Dear Dr_Tamiman
thank you for your time and for your review on our hotel. Our staff and all of us are pleased and proud that we have managed to be up to your expectations in terms of courtesy, kindness and quality of service. We sincerely hope to accommodate you again for your future visit to Milan.
Kind regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Star

Address: Via dei Bossi, 5, 20121 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#72 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Star 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he location is perfect!Small and original, in the heart of Milan, in via dei Bossi, Hotel Star is the perfect solution among 3-star hotels in the historic center for both business trips and vacations for art, culture and shopping.A two minute walk from Teatro alla Scala, five minutes from piazza del Duomo and 300 meters from the subway, 30 very comfortable rooms, wireless internet, efficient amenities, courtesy and cordiality.An original and pleasant decor typify the 30 rooms at the Hotel Star which, thanks to all the necessary comforts and amenities of a 3-star hotel in downtown Milan, is the perfect solution for both business trips and vacations at a hotel in Milan.With parquet floors, especially important for allergy sufferers, there is an elevator to the rooms which include a choice between the classic, superior and economy categories.The rooms at Hotel Star can accommodate one to two guests in absolute comfort; the beds are large and, in the superior single, there is a full bed. Some rooms have a private bathroom with a shower or tub (multi-option shower/sauna and jacuzzi in superior and classic rooms), telephone, hair dryer and courtesy line. There are direct telephones, satellite televisions, a minibar, coffee and tea maker, safe and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Star, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.