We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central in the heart of Milan. Good connections. near Brera area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Star

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Star to your Saves list
Hotel Star
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Bossi, 5, 20121 Milan, Italy (Centro Storico)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Emmen,
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
139 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Very central in the heart of Milan. Good connections. near Brera area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

I booked this Hotel last minute at very reasonal price for this area of Milan. The hotel is in the center of Milan with very good connections public transport to both airport Linate and Malpensa. In my case to Linate. From the hotel walk 300 meters to the Metrostation Cordusio (red line 1), buy a ticket for 1 euro and take the metro direction Sesto. then getting of 2 stations later at S.Babila. Then just follow the exit signs for Linate express Buss line 73, departing from C.SO Europa, just next to the MC.Donald (you can use the same ticket you bought for Metro (within 75 minute time). It takes about 40 minutes total.
The hotel itself has good value for money aminties; the furniture however is somewhat out-dated, but functional and kept in good shape. the Hotel staff is very friendly and hepfull finding you around in the City. The breakfast area is small, but assortiment is " more then average italian". Next door you find all the city center stuff from Scala, Duomo and Brera area to go in evening for relaxing terras diner/drink. The only remark I have is that the internet connection is not fast, and does not allow for VPN... so for business to connect to VPN-server was not possible (do not know the reason). For the rest..... nothing then good.

Room Tip: Just in "low season" wait for last-minute offer(s) online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starmilano, Direttore at Hotel Star, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Dear guest,
thank you for your time and for your review on our hotel. Our staff and all of us are pleased and proud that we have managed to be up to your expectations in terms of courtesy, kindness and quality of service.
We thank you also for your appreciation of our efforts to offer an assorted breakfast with foods such as tarts and cakes prepared personally and daily by our staff. We do our best to improve ourselves also thanks to your support and appreciation.
We sincerely hope to accommodate you again for your future visit to Milan.
Kind regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    143
    33
    10
    13
See reviews for
45
117
39
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Very clean, good bathroom, comfortable bed and close to the tourist sites--for me needed very close to LaScala at very reasonable price! Funny decor---someone likes to paint wild animals---and so that was over the bed. Service good. Excellent price for Milan which is crazy expensive town!!! and yes free wifi!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starmilano, Direttore at Hotel Star, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam Folkgroupie,
thank you for your time and for your review on our hotel. Our staff and all of us are pleased and proud that we have managed to be up to your expectations in terms of courtesy, kindness and quality of service.
I wish to thank you also on behalf of all our staff for your appreciation of our professional commitment and expertise. Your admiring remarks and appreciation are part of our work.
We sincerely hope to accommodate you again for your future visit to Milan.
Kind regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stayed 2 times in this hotel in a circle holiday.I like the detailes,they bring for us disposable toothbrush,and other things you need.The staff was very frendly.The breakfast was very good with real cappuchino maker.The place of the hotel is unique,a walking distance to Cadorna and 8 euro cost to Centrale.

Room Tip: 2th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starmilano, Direttore at Hotel Star, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam Haticeg,
thank you for your time and for your review on our hotel. Our staff and all of us are pleased and proud that we have managed to be up to your expectations in terms of courtesy, kindness and quality of service.
We sincerely hope to accommodate you again for your future visit to Milan.
Kind regards, The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flanders, belgium
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Nice hotel in the centre of Milan. We went to this hotel because it is very near to The Teatro Alla Scala. Ideal for an evening in the Scala so you don't have to go far to get back to your hotel after the performance.
Friendley staff, very clean rooms, (more than once a day cleaned)!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starmilano, Direttore at Hotel Star, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam theraven67,
thank you for your time and for your review on our hotel. Our staff and all of us are pleased and proud that we have managed to be up to your expectations in terms of courtesy, kindness and quality of service.
I wish to thank you also on behalf of all our staff for your appreciation of our professional commitment and expertise. Your admiring remarks and appreciation are part of our work.
We sincerely hope to accommodate you again for your future visit to Milan.
Kind regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

I stayed there while traveling with my family and it was the best choice. We found it at a great prize and where amazed by it´s location, the amazing breakfast and how nice the staff as. Definitely the best hotel to stay in the Center of MIlan without paying thousands of dollars.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starmilano, Direttore at Hotel Star, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam Neettraveler ,
thank you for your time and for your review on our hotel. Our staff and all of us are pleased and proud that we have managed to be up to your expectations in terms of courtesy, kindness and quality of service.
We thank you also for your appreciation of our efforts to offer an assorted breakfast with foods such as tarts and cakes prepared personally and daily by our staff. We do our best to improve ourselves also thanks to your support and appreciation.
We sincerely hope to accommodate you again for your future visit to Milan.
Kind regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Walking distance to Da Vinci's "Last Supper and the Duomo, upscale shopping. The owner was most helpful with tourist suggestions. The breakfast was excellent and huge- unable to eat all of it. Have not see such a breakfast buffet in our travels in Europe. Room was lovely, Bathroom spotless and modern, no complaints whatsoever. We would stay again!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starmilano, Direttore at Hotel Star, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Dear guest,
thank you for your time and for your review on our hotel. Our staff and all of us are pleased and proud that we have managed to be up to your expectations in terms of courtesy, kindness and quality of service.
We thank you also for your appreciation of our efforts to offer an assorted breakfast with foods such as tarts and cakes prepared personally and daily by our staff.
We do our best to improve ourselves also thanks to your support and appreciation.
We sincerely hope to accommodate you again for your future visit to Milan.
Kind regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

The hotel is situated about a €20 cab ride from Centrale Stazioni and has proven to be a sound base for my visits to the office, also located in that segment of the City.

The rooms are always nice and clean, and the restaurant staff are very attentive and helpful. The bar was kept open till 1:30 on the evening that I arrived so that I may share a drink with my work colleague who's flight had been delayed. Thank you Carlo!

Hypo Allergenic pillows are available for those who suffer with Asthma, and an adequate mini bar also kept well stocked with nuts and drinks.

My room had no safe, so it may be worth asking at reception if the room has a safety box for your passport.

Around the corner is a cheaper restaurant called "La Plancia" which makes a welcome change to hotel restaurants. The food is also cheaper than the hotel, but of a similar standard, if not better. There is also an underground station in close vicinity, so Milan becomes accessible, but be warned - the trains do not operate all night long. I think that the last one back to the hotel is at about 11:30pm

There are other quaint family run restaurants on the same side of the road, but a bit further of a walk into Milan

Room Tip: Book well in advance. Arrange business rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starmilano, Direttore at Hotel Star, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Dear Mr.Tattysnuc,
thank you for your time and for your review on our hotel. Our staff and all of us are pleased and proud that we have managed to be up to your expectations in terms of courtesy, kindness and quality of service.
We sincerely hope to accommodate you again for your future visit to Milan.
Kind regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Star

Address: Via dei Bossi, 5, 20121 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#79 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Star 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he location is perfect!Small and original, in the heart of Milan, in via dei Bossi, Hotel Star is the perfect solution among 3-star hotels in the historic center for both business trips and vacations for art, culture and shopping.A two minute walk from Teatro alla Scala, five minutes from piazza del Duomo and 300 meters from the subway, 30 very comfortable rooms, wireless internet, efficient amenities, courtesy and cordiality.An original and pleasant decor typify the 30 rooms at the Hotel Star which, thanks to all the necessary comforts and amenities of a 3-star hotel in downtown Milan, is the perfect solution for both business trips and vacations at a hotel in Milan.With parquet floors, especially important for allergy sufferers, there is an elevator to the rooms which include a choice between the classic, superior and economy categories.The rooms at Hotel Star can accommodate one to two guests in absolute comfort; the beds are large and, in the superior single, there is a full bed. Some rooms have a private bathroom with a shower or tub (multi-option shower/sauna and jacuzzi in superior and classic rooms), telephone, hair dryer and courtesy line. There are direct telephones, satellite televisions, a minibar, coffee and tea maker, safe and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Star, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.