We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bristol Milan

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bristol Milan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bristol Milan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Scarlatti, 32, 20124 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I stayed at Hotel Bristol twice in January - 3 nights on the first occasion and 1 night the second time. Overall, the property is above average. It is well located within 100m from the central station. Staff are generally helpful but could be more attentive. The property is decorated in a traditional style and is a bit dated. Rooms are clean but small which is typical of European city hotels. For the price it is a reasonable hotel.

More specifically, the hotel has a few of short comings.

Firstly, there is only one electrical charging point in the room and it's located in the bathroom by the sink. Charging multiple appliances can be a challenge.

Secondly, both the rooms I stayed in were dark because the shutters outside the windows were close. This could be a seasonal thing (being winter) and is not a major minus for me.

Lastly, the internet connectivity varied widely between rooms. On my first stay in room 401 the connection was quick and strength consistent. My return stay in room 103 was frustrating to say the least. The line kept dropping and could not re-connect even at 6am (which, presumably, should have lower traffic). I had no choice but to go to the lobby to get connected. The duty staff was sympathetic but could not help, so my only option was to sit in the chilly lobby to sort out my emails. The system also requires repeat log-ins which is a bit of a pain. The duty manager told me they upgraded the system last year to address the poor connection problem but clearly it still doesn't work as it should. I suspect the problem is mainly in the corner rooms so best to avoid them if you want a good connection.

In summary, the Bristol is a decent hotel for the price but not ideal for business travellers because of the lack of electrical charge points and patchy internet connection.

Room Tip: Avoid the corner rooms as internet connection could be poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Bristol Milan, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Google Translation
Grazie del commento. Siamo felici che abbia apprezzato l'atmosfera della nostra struttura e la cordialità e professionalità del nostro personale.
Conosciamo l'esigenza di avere più prese elettriche e stiamo verificando la possibilità di fornire dei supporti per ovviare all'inconveniente di utilizzare anche la presa del bagno.
Saremo felici di averla ancora nostro ospite
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    61
    34
    3
    4
See reviews for
13
24
16
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed here when we visited family. Could not fault anything at all. The location is perfect ... Opposite the main railway station and buses to and from all airports that cost only £5 euro one way.. The staff are all amazing and nothing was too much trouble. A substantial breakfast and clean hotel and very comfortable beds.. Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obihiro, Japan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stayed 2 nights before flying to sardegna and come back to spend the last evening in Milano.

It's close to Centrale station and convenient to take airport bus to Malpensa.
Metro station is also nearby and the Duomo is only 5 stations away.
The room is small and noise from the streets bothered me a little. however it's good value for money.
Breakfast is simple but the brioche is unbelievably tasty and it's the best I've ever had.
When I think about Milano, I will always remember the Fantastic duomo and beautiful chocolate brioche and cuppccino !
Moreover all the reception staff are so helpful and they can even keep my bag while I was away.
I'd like to stay at this hotel again in the next visit.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and I could see this hotel right across the road from the Milano Central Station where the bus from the airport had dropped us off.The location of this hotel was ideal for us as we were going to use the Metro to travel around Milan.The hotel was clean and tidy and our room was spacious and comfortable.The floor was carpeted and the room came equipped with tea and coffee making facilities.The bathroom was large with a big sink,toilet and bidet.However,the shower was extremely small and narrow.The space was tight and we couldn't shower properly.And to add insult to injury,the water was unable to drain off effectively and thus flooded the shower.The only consolation to our predicament is the hotel is aware of this problem and has placed a wooden platform in the shower for us to stand on while we take our shower.On the plus side,the housekeeping department is exceptional as we get a clean and fresh supply of towels daily.The breakfast room is warm and cosy with a lovely spread of breads,warm croissants,tarts,cakes,biscuits,cereals,yoghurt,cold cuts,fruit juice and fresh fruits.You're definitely spoilt for choice here.Last but not least,the staff at the front desk as well as at breakfast could work on their personal relations skills.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

was turnaway from Andreola and the hotel is few steps from the station
clean rooms friendly and professional staff, good Breakfast and very good quality for price i paid almost half the price of Andreoli who is exactly the same hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel is right across the road from the Central Station, metro & terminus for bus to airports. Tidy clean hotel. Very handy. The breakfast waiters could work on their friendliness. They put me off enjoying my breakfast. I asked for scrambled eggs and a plate of chopped up greasy fried eggs were put in front of me. Saying that, the reception staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We had a nice room facing the station and could enjoy the hustle and bustle going on outside. It wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed here for the Italian Grand Prix in September. I was a female travelling alone. I did not find the staff rude and unhelpful, far from it. The location to the station, for me, was perfect. I did not travel into Milan and sight see due to having to travel home. Room was clean and I slept great until the morning when the taxi drivers at the train station started beeping at each other!!!!!

I stayed in a single room, which yes was small, but it did the job!!!

When I return to Milan, I will return to the Hotel Bristol. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bristol Milan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol Milan

Address: Via Scarlatti, 32, 20124 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol Milan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want to stay in the heart of the city. Hotel Bristol is the ideal solution. 4 Star hotel in ancient tradition, directed personally by the Torelli family since 1974. Bristol is in a building constructed in downtown Milan in 1930, appreciated for its convenience in traveling for both business and pleasure, is also located just 1.5 Km from the public gardens dedicated to the journalist Indro Montanelli. The hotel has 68 rooms, including 3 Junior Suites and 4 Suites, all equipped with air conditioning, LCD satellite TV and free Wi-Fi. American Bar - Known and appreciated by customers for appetizers in full mood after business, it is also the place where you can organize, upon request, lunches or dinners with a menu agreed to offer traditional Milanese cuisine and based on seasonality and quality of raw materials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Bristol Milan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bristol Milan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.