We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sanpi Milano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sanpi Milano to your Saves list
Hotel Sanpi Milano
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Lazzaro Palazzi 18 | Corso Buenos-Aires/Area Porta Venezia, 20124 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 429 Hotels in Milan
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This was my first time to Milan and stayed 3 nights at the very charming Hotel Sampi. The staff were very helpful and recommended some great restaurants including Mamma Rosa. The neighborhood looked a bit rough on first impression but I didn't have any problems walking around alone even at midnight. It's conveniently located just a few blocks from one of the main shopping areas. The duomo area took about 20-25 minutes to walk. My room was on the 4th floor with high ceilings but the windows were small and high up so there were no real windows to see outside and felt sort of like a basement apartment. Though, not all the rooms on the same floor were like mine. Breakfast was nice and I enjoyed eating in the garden. Overall, a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    270
    80
    23
    1
See reviews for
84
227
35
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We were in Milan for a meeting and wanted a quiet charming hotel, and we definitely found it at the Sanpi. Located on a side street 2 blocks from the Porta Venezia metro station, we were able to stay in the heart of The city and train to the convention center in 15 minutes. Our deluxe room was not-unexpectedly small, but very well appointed, with a nice comfy bed with a great duvet, and a small but well-laid-out bathroom...great shower. Breakfast was very good....order cappuccino from the waiter rather than self-serve from the machine....fruits, pastries, cheeses, breads, cereals, yogurt, all in abundance and served from 7 to 10:30, which is a longer period than lots of other hotels. There's a charming courtyard with lovely plantings where you can relax and have drinks and snacks all day. The staff are wonderful....unfailingly cheerful no matter what you ask of them and extremely helpful for directions, ordering cabs for the airport, and especially for restaurant recommendations. We had one of the best meals of our trip to Italy at Da Ilia, which is only a short walk from the hotel, and an excellent dinner also at Mama Rosa, also close by and recommended. One more thing....wifi is throughout the hotel and free; you get the password when you check in. Next time we're in Milan, we'll definitely be staying at the Sanpi!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Hotel Sanpi is now my first choice hotel in Milan, having tried a few. My main criteria are quiet and comfort given the noise levels in Milan and Hotel Sanpi meet them perfectly as well as add charm and excellent service - staff are really lovely! It is also quite pretty, especially the courtyard. Breakfast is also very good. I really recommend Hotel Sanpi!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My mom, my best-friend and I spent a total of three nights at the Hotel Sanpi. We had the junior suite and we loved it. It was very quaint and we got an amazing sleep! The room was pitch black at night with the shades and curtains and the area was very quiet. We accidentally slept until 11:30 in the morning! Something we never do... But obviously we needed the sleep.

I thought our room was a good size. We had three twin beds which was completely fine with us (plus a couch!) and we never felt crowded or like we needed more space. We also had a good size bathroom with double sink and a jacuzzi bath. They also delivered a fruit basket to our room.

The breakfast was pretty good at this hotel also! It was a buffet with yogurt, fruit, eggs, croissants, etc. The staff will also give you a cappuccino or tea if you ask. We were so sad because we only got to sit down and eat it once because we were either leaving too early or we slept in.

The staff was very friendly, personable and helpful. The staff gave us a map of the city with places to go and see. I did research beforehand and had a good idea of where I wanted to go see in Milan. For example, we took a day trip to Lake Como and Bellagio. It was so beautiful.

We LOVED LOVED LOVED the restaurant we visited across the street, the Il Carpaccio. We went there once for dessert and another time for dinner. We fell in love with the people who ran this restaurant, they were so sweet and funny and were taking pictures with us and giving us shots of limoncello. They had amazing homemade desserts like cheesecake and tiramisu. Everything was reasonably priced too.

We took the train to/from the airport and walked to our hotel from there. It's a very easy commute and I believe it was only 12 euro per person each way. Much cheaper than a taxi! We also walked to all of the landmarks from our hotel. It may be a good distance for some, but if you don't mind walking you'll be fine.

Our only complaint was the neighborhood. As you may have read in the other reviews, there were a lot of minorities in the area as well as graffiti. However, it was only for a few blocks of an iffy neighborhood. I'm sure the area isn't that bad though because no one actually bothered us and we were three women traveling alone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We are a family of 4 adults, and spent four nights in a two level apartment with two bathrooms. The hotel is perfectly located, close to everything, staff is friendly and helpful. Best breakfast in Italy, huge variety. The hotel has a beautiful courtyard. Close to amazing restaurants, one of which is La Locanda Dell'Amore, just across the street. Highly recommend. We would definitely return !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clyde, Central Otago, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

A delightful hotel with interesting décor. The rooms are on the small side but adequate for a short term stay. The courtyard at the rear is a lovely spot to enjoy a wine or light meal. There was a good selection available for breakfast. Hotel staff are pleasant and helpful.

The hotel is located in a back street and has a couple of restaurants very close by. We were reluctant to venture too far after dark as it is not necessarily in the best area.

About 10-12 minute walk to the railway station and 20-25 minute walk to the main shops and cathedral square.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed one night at Hotel Sanpi after my arrival from the US. The hotel is lovely with the peaceful garden and comfortable rooms for a very reasonable price. I arrived quite early in the morning and I was able to check in and take a rest.

The staff is extremely friendly. My only complaint was the evening front desk person was actually not helpful or friendly. The rest of the staff made up for it though.

Will definitely stay again!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sanpi Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sanpi Milano

Address: Via Lazzaro Palazzi 18 | Corso Buenos-Aires/Area Porta Venezia, 20124 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Milan
#32 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#39 Best Value Hotel in Milan
#42 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#42 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sanpi Milano 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sanpi Milano is a modern 4 stars boutique hotel member of the international chain Worldhotels. The hotel is made up of three buildings built at the end of the 19th century, and it has recently been renovated in accordance with a catchy design. The common spaces are inspired by a refined artistic taste thanks to the paintings of contemporary artists.The Hotel is located in the city center, exactly between Piazza Repubblica and Porta Venezia Corso Buenos Aires: the railway link stops in both and it connects with the nearby cities. The Duomo (Cathedral) and la Scala (Opera House) of Milano are reachable on foot. In fact in 10 minutes you will be there and in the Galleria Vittorio Emanuele and Montenapoleone street. The hotel is located in Via Lazzaro Palazzi that is a side street of Corso Buenos Aires, the longest shopping street in Europe. In addition the Sanpi is 200 meters far from the main subway lines (red line MM1 Porta Venezia which arrives directly to the exhibition center; yellow line MM3 Repubblica; green line MM2 Centrale). In 5 minutes on foot you can arrive to the Central Station (Air Terminal) and in the surroundings you can find as well the Garibaldi Station (High speed train terminal).The room experience offered from the Sanpi is just unique: 79 rooms one different from each other with atmospheres that range from the modern style interiors conceived by a famous architect studio, to the classic style of vintage furniture. Different rooms are provided with balcony that overlooks the beautiful internal garden, at shelter from the city noise. All the rooms are soundproof and equipped with air conditioning, parquet floor, free satellite TV, telephone, Wi-Fi and in the Suite and Deluxe type there is the hydro-massage bathtub.Within the hotel the guests have access to the modern fitness room Technogym wellness, to the lovely bar on the interior garden where they can be lulled by the silence: the ideal place to taste a cocktail and relax at the same time. In the light restaurant a selection of the best Italian tradition is served together with vintage wines. The small villa, which was once a crossing keeper box, represents now an exclusive house in our private garden. The Business corner is equipped with a PC with internet connection, a printer, fax and a photocopier and it is always at the guests' disposal. The Venice meeting room of 85 sqm can host corporate meeting thanks to the natural light and to all the necessary technical devices such as stereo surround, tv projector, board with changeable sheets.The Hotel Sanpi Milano is member of the international hotel chain Worldhotels and it is identified by the code WW in the GDS systems. The reservations can be done directly or using GDS or internet or mail.thank you for your attention and time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sanpi Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanpi Milano Hotel
Sanpi Milano Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sanpi Milano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.