We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Serena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Serena to your Saves list
Hotel Serena
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Boscovich, 59 | Angolo Corso Buenos Aires, 20124 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #244 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Nicosia, Cyprus
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Rude staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights(11and 15 of February). The reception and the ground floor rooms were nice and renovated but the 3rd floor rooms weren't good. The only pictures you can find about the hotel is from reception and from ground floor rooms. The stuff was rude (especially the fat guy). I ask for extra toilet paper and they told me: "We already give you 2!" and finally they give me the extra one.
Not good experience at all.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    152
    112
    47
    47
See reviews for
75
105
30
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

The supervisor was talking ironically, shouting, crashing pens. He was impolite, unacceptable, selfish just for a misunderstanding about the reservation. Finally we were right. We spent 2 hours to the reception after midnight. I hope that it was just a bad night for him. He destroyed our night.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linwood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

I stayed here with a group while visiting Milan. Generally I had a pretty poor experiance during my visit.

The rooms are decent, with your basic three star amenities. Small TV, small beds, but clean and fairly well renovated. Additionally, the lobby area is brightly lit and cheery enough that my group felt comfortable spending a significant amount of time there.

The big problem with this hotel is the staff. Every single thing I wanted to do seemed to be a problem for them. Whether it was paying the outrageous hourly prices for internet, or shelling out 3 euro for a bottle of water, the gentleman behind the desk looked like he would rather be dead then give me service and take my money. None of my transactions were even followed up with a simple thank you. It really put a damper on my experience.

Seriously... pick a different hotel where the staff actually care about your business.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Hotel Serena is situated right next to Buenos Aires which is the shopping street, and from there on you can walk to the Duomo, which might explain why it's not such a cheap hotel. The room was very small, but yet clean, and the breakfast was not bad for a 3 star hotel. I would not say that the staff are rude, they just have a sarcastic sense of humor which can be offending to some guests and others not.
Overall, Hotel Serena is a good/average hotel, and i would recommend it for short-stays.

Room Tip: Try to get the refurnished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syros, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Hotel in a really good location, nearby train station, close to the center. Not very helpful staff, the room had a really bad smell when we ariived, good only for 1 night staying. poor breakfast, not value for money!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We chose the hotel because of its location and relative good price. I have to agree with the travelers who said the staff is rude: we arrived around 7pm and we had to deal with an unbelievably rude front desk man who wouldn't reply to any of your questions politely unless you were an Italian woman in her thirties. Good thing is the front desk staff on the morning shift was nice and helpful :)

After 2 days I can tell you that the location is really good (near Stazione Centrale, half a block away from Corso Buenos Aires, walking distance from il Duomo), the rooms are fairly clean and the breakfast is good -even though it is poor, as many of the guests said-.

It's a good choice for those who are just passing by, maybe connecting trains or planes, but I wouldn't consider staying in Hotel Serena for more than 1 night.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
como
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

If you`d get a euro for each rude word the employer says to the customers you cold stay there for free!!!
Beside the two spiders living in the same room the hotel was not so bad. The Breakfast is ridiculous too!
Anyway, the service was very rude and I'll never go there again! If you wanna have a nice trip in Mailand you better book another hotel!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Serena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Serena

Address: Via Boscovich, 59 | Angolo Corso Buenos Aires, 20124 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #244 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Serena 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Serena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Serena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.