We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ostello Bello

Save Saved
You added Ostello Bello to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ostello Bello
Via Medici, 4, 20123 Milan, Italy (Centro Storico)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 129 Specialty lodging in Milan
Cape Town, South Africa
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We are still staying at Ostello Bello as part of a 3 day visit to Milan. Leaving for Verona tomorrow. This is the first time we have ever stayed in a hostel and we love it. We booked on advice of TA and from the time we made our reservation up till now we have received fantastic service. We have a room with a double bed and en-suite bath. Outside our room is a nice sized verandah for communal use, plus a very well equiped, clean kithen on the floor above us. The street level entrance to the hostel has a large open area with lots of tables where meals are served. As mentioned by many other reviewers, there is a comp drink on arrival and in the evenings from 7-9pm one only pays for a drink to get a free meal. Evening meal therefor only costs 4 or 5 Euro. Consists of pastas, salad, crisps. If you want additional protein, simply use the communal kitchen to cook- herbs, spices and olive oil free for use. The bar is well stocked and we were impressed to find Oban whiskey- difficult to come by in South Africa. The rooms have storage space under the beds and includes room-cleaning daily. The staff are friendly and helpful. CCTV cameras in all the comunal areas, so one feels very safe. We like it so much that we are considering sending our kids here on their own once they are 16 and 18yrs old respectively. If you do not like a viby, at times a bit noisy atmosphere, this is not for you. If, like us you travel by car, there are parking areas close by- details provided by Ostello Bello if you ask for it, but remember: it's always only for 24hrs at a time. We were lucky(after driving around for 30 min looking for parking- not space for a mouse in city) to come across a parking garage in Via Olmetto (looks for blue P sign). Run as a vehicle repair garage, they have parking bays at 20 Euro per night. They ask for your key (presumably to move your car to a different space whithin garage if needed)- but we refused and they were fine with it. Need to pay cash up front- worth it just to know that you do not have to worry about car and parking fines. They open at 6:30 am in morning so nice if you want to leave for next stop after stay in Milan. Hostel is right in centre of Milan and we walked to all the historical sites. Nice supermarkets- Billa- in Via Palla (2 floors, one below ground level) and La Coloniale Di Pogliani in Via Cesare Correnti. Both less than one kilometre in either way from H/Bello and very reasonable prices.

Room Tip: We are in Room 5. Close to lift and our window opens on the verandah. Can be bothersome if people si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    52
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
29
58
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Great hostel, probably the best I have ever stayed in. The location is great, the staff were so helpful and the facilities were brilliant. Free drink when you arrive, guided tour, very relaxed. You need a computer? Just use a laptop which are all around. Or you can use the WiFi in the rooms. The terraces were amazing and it was easy to meet people. This hostel has everything. You can tell they have travelled and stayed in loads of hostels, they have taken a bit from all the best and made first class hostel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

For my most recent travel, I had the opportunity to be with younger relatives who are quite open to try out hostels but not quite adventurous to try a dorm room. We stayed in private rooms with an en suite which is almost similar to booking in a 2/3 star hotel but just the basic necessities. It kinda defeated the purpose but it's our first time so we tried to test the water first. Who knows the young ones might like it - which was the general consensus after this tour.
The reviews here are succinct and rated in comparison with the other hostels we stayed at - Barcelona, Rome, Florence, Milan and Venice. Enjoy and happy travels.

+ Big and clean room/bathroom
+ Lovely terrace and kitchen
+ Bar/Restaurant on site with apperitivo every afternoon.
+ Modern and chic renovation
+ Location - 15 minute walk to Duomo or Cadorna station where you can catch the Malpensa Express to airport
+ WiFi signal is strong - we're on the top floor and WiFi reception is still great.
+ Easy to meet people and socialize

- Breakfast needs improvement
- Check in wait time is a drag as they show guests the room and all the facilities in the hostel.
- Shower water pressure is weak

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

So easy to find 5min walk from the duomo and cetral downtown. Staff were more than helpful. Atmosphere was lovely, friendly, relaxed.
If you buy a drink from 7-9 you get to help yourself to different flavours of pasta and bread. Breakfast is the best iv had in a hostel, better than ones iv paid for, scrambled eggs, toast, granola, honey and yogurt. So yum. Great value for money.
The luggage storage in the rooms and also a room in the basement for storage are secure, i felt fine leaving my things as the staff are always there if it is opened.
Loved my stay, wish i had longer than a couple of days. Will be back if im in Milan again.
Thankyou :-)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

As a first time hostel go-er I was spoilt by Ostello Bello. It's exceptionally good value, the location is perfect, I never felt unsafe and it was always clean.
On arrival we got a free drink, breakfast is good and there is always free tea or coffee to guests (a lifesaver at times) for the price of a drink between 7 and 9 there's food on offer too and the bar/restaurant area has a fab atmosphere. Handy guide books are on tap and laptops to borrow make it a brilliant.

Cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stayed in Ostello Bello for 3 nights. Everything there is excellent. It's right in the center of Milan. Everything is very clean. The atmosphere is very live. The staff are super friendly and super helpful. I want to thank:
Lavi
Eugenia
Sara
Gulia
They make the place great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Ostello Bello is easily one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in, in fact it probably beats staying in a budget hotel. As soon as you step in you're made to feel at ease,with a free drink and relaxed atmosphere there are plenty of people to chat too. The rooms are clean, and I was especially surprised by how nice the bathrooms were.
The only downside for me was the breakfast was a little bit too basic, but I would definitely come back again, its in a great location, and its genuinely a really nice place.

Room Tip: I have stayed in the 6 mixed and 8 female room, both were nice, but with the mixed you had the benef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ostello Bello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ostello Bello

Address: Via Medici, 4, 20123 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 129 Specialty lodging in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Ostello Bello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ostello Bello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.