We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To sleep, this hotel is Ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Portello - Gruppo Mini Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Portello - Gruppo Mini Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Portello - Gruppo Mini Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via G.Silva, 12, 20149 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #161 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Caracas, Venezuela
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“To sleep, this hotel is Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2007

One night I spend in this hotel, To sleep is OK!...

The personnel has a kind deal with the client and, in my case, they helped me in clarifying some doubts about the city.

In another theme, this hotel is far from the Duomo but the subway is to few blocks.

  • Liked — The bathroom
  • Disliked — The hotel ubication
  • Stayed May 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    69
    56
    11
    3
See reviews for
11
31
9
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

I reserved a double room in this hotel solely for its proximity to the San Siro (it's about a 20 minute walk) a full 2 months before the Italy-France game. Upon arrival at hotel, we were told that they had over-booked and would put us in their partner hotel, which was about 20 minutes away by taxi (thereby defeating the purpose of booking a hotel near to the stadium). I asked to speak to the manager and the manager kindly declined to speak to me - I found this totally unaccepatable, as I knew that they had triple rooms available (the guy behind the desk told me so) and would not give this to us since there was only 2 of us. Since when does a manager decline to speak to a guest? His solution was that he would be at the hotel at 5pm and we could speak to him then (it was 2pm, so we would have to wait 3 hours).

Non-existent customer service

  • Liked — Proximity to San Siro
  • Disliked — No customer service - did not honour 2 month old reservation when I know they had rooms available
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, Berkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2006

I stayed in this hotel on 3 occasions last year, it having been pre-booked by the company I regularly work for in Milano. My first stay was dreadful - noisy and uncomfortable. My second visit wasn't much better - the hotel seems to attract budget travellers whose idea of a good time is to mill about just outside your room until 2am talking loudly about the Duomo. My third visit was the worst - I was given a single room at the back of the hotel that absolutely stank of old ashtrays, boasted the narrowest single bed I have ever seen, had no heating or aircon and featured a window that could neither be properly closed not properly opened. The real problem about this hotel is that you can't really escape it, unless you have a good taxi budget - it is situated in the sort of area you really don't want to be walking around in after dark! I subsequently requested never to be booked in there again.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't
  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2006

As far as quality goes, this hotel is well up to par. Rooms are kept very clean and the bathrooms were the best I'd seen throughout my entire two-week excursion around Italy! The location is a bit far from the main city, but the Metro stop is just a few blocks down. When it comes to being family-friendly the staff is very cordial, however, there seems to be a prostitution ring occuring just outside the hotel doors-- not exactly what I would call the Disneyland Hotel!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Lancs
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2006

4 of us (lads) were going to the Inter Milan vs Ajax match and wanted accommodation in the vicinity of the San Siro, our first choice was fully booked and we tried Mini Portello as second choice. Rooms were clean enough with decent on suite vacilities. Breakfast on a buffet service was very satisfying with good service from the coffee waiter - fresh every time.

We arrived late on first night and the concierge gave us directions to a brilliant pizza restuarant just round the block - best meal we had. The area around is not up to much but we were made very welcome in the Bar Silva just across the road, good beers and plentiful nibbles. Getting to the match was no problem about a 25 minute walk straight up the road.

The standard of this hotel is a bit better than a Travelodge and ideal for a lads break but I would not go back taking our partners. Very good for our trip to the footy though.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Portello - Gruppo Mini Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portello - Gruppo Mini Hotel

Address: Via G.Silva, 12, 20149 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#103 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Portello - Gruppo Mini Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern hotel is located opposite Fieramilanocity and Milan Convention Centre MIC, close to San Siro Stadium and benefits from easy access to public transportation. The spacious rooms are air conditioned, soundproofed, furnished with care and provide modern services. The Superior Rooms have been refurbished and boast large images of Milan. Enjoy buffet breakfast in the new breakfast room. The hotel has a private garage, Free Internet WI-FI connection and an Internet Point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Portello - Gruppo Mini Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mini Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Portello - Gruppo Mini Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.