We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Small

The Small
Via Paganini Niccolo 3 | Angolo Piazza Argentina, Milan, Italy
0220240943
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #514 of 5,332 Restaurants in Milan
Price range: $34 - $61
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: the small; bistrot, tè, infusi, vettovaglie e suppellettili.the small è creatività, cura, stile e qualità. una grande ricerca per un lifestyle internazionale e contemporaneo - via paganini 3(MI)
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A true dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This place is an absolute must! Suffering from jet-lag we turned up a bit earlier to see if we could grab some nibbles and Alessandro was more than welcoming bringing us tapas to share and wine. He shared light-hearted conversation with us even sitting down to enjoy a wine before the first few reservations arrived. We continued into our night here and went with his recommendation for dinner which was fantastic! The restaurant is the cutest thing you will come across and was truly a unique dining experience!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    100
    26
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The perfect dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

The Small was recommended to me by a friend in Australia who tried to explain the restaurant and the owner and the whole dining experience but I couldn't even begin to imagine how fantastic it would really be!
Alessandro was more than accommodating considering we did not have a booking and took the time to carefully explain his vast menu (all hand-written by himself). He also suggested we choose from a few of his recommendations which is another great side of his service.
He took the time to then show us each meal that came out of the kitchen, explained it and even included us (we are non-Italian speaking) in showing the patrons of the restaurant the Milano Club magazine his restaurant featured in for January - February and let us keep a copy.
The food was AMAZING! We had a bruschetta type entree which after seeing us struggle to halve it he came and asked if he could serve it (much to my delight).
Our mains consisted of a pasta dish as well as meatballs and were equally as pleasing.
The Small is a fantastic dining experience combining a great atmosphere, quaint interior, exemplary service and perfect food, a must for dining in Milan.
Do keep in mind it is now Winter which we dined and did not need to make a reservation, however I can see why reservations are necessary for summer.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vejle, Denmark
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ohh yes!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This cozy place is definitely worth de-tour! What makes this little place special is Ale (the owner). He is simply amazingly sweet and will treat you as an old friend, will chat with you and call you all the sweetest names available in Italian. Food is great! Really! The interior is a bit crazy but definitely cozy.
I will go back. Highly recommend to visit!
And if you wish for a dinner, please make a reservation min. a week in advance. Lunch is easier.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended, highly addictive.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The place you don't expect, you don't know about... but just around the corner of a busy square in Milan you enter it and immediately find yourself at home with friends. The nice owner with catering background and his partner formerly in the fashion industry filled this cosy and intimate restaurant - undoubtedly suitable for a romantic date - with few small tables, some interesting vintage pieces and a lot of old grandma-style pottery, reminding you of that little house you went on hols as a child. I had a very pleasant dinner with a friend on a Friday evening, after 2 weeks spent over the phone to find an empty table. The place is really tiny, so reservation is essential. Great comfort food, Italian specialties with a touch of unexpected, all from producers the owner personally selected and knows everything about.  There is only one menu, written by hand, passing from a table to another in a very friendly atmosphere. Special wording for the excellent desserts, contemporary variations on traditional cakes. A small culinary world to bring you apart from the hectic life in the big city for (too) few hours.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Everything is good about this tiny restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Decor is eclectic and quirky with the food served on old stylish crockery. Water served in old decanters; a nice touch.

The owner/host is filled with personality. As the restaurant is so small, all the guests became involved in the fun. Realizing my lack of Italian he recommended the dishes I should try.

I had a main course and sweet plus a glass of red wine and a dessert wine. All were correctly served and of a high quality.

I will be in Milan in a couple of weeks and plan to revisit The Small.

Regards,
Geoff

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Small also viewed

 

Been to The Small? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Small, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.