We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Palace, Milan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Palace, Milan to your Saves list
The Westin Palace, Milan
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Piazza della Repubblica, 20124 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 432 Hotels in Milan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Macau, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stay in Westin Milan for 2 nights. Milan is my first stop in my Italy trip. I did enjoy my stay in Westin Milan.
Westin Milan is just 10 mins walk from the Central station. I would recommand to reach the hotel by walk rather then by Metro. The front office is efficient and the concierge is excellent. The resturant is great!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starwood M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Palace, Milan, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Teresaufaye,

Thank you for this positive feedback!

We are glad to know that you had a great experience here, at The Westin Palace Milan.

Thank you also for your kind words of appreciation regarding our Restaurant Casanova and our staff, we will certainly report your impressions with the departments involved so they can feel proud of their work.

We hope that you will return to Milan and stay with us again, be well until then!

Guest Experience Team
The Westin Palace Milan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    416
    180
    78
    46
See reviews for
137
419
77
281
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belton, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed here at the beginning and the end of a two week trip in Italy. The room was really attractively decorated in a pleasing palette of navy, white and grey with fashion as the accent. The bed was wonderful-not too firm or too soft and a great place to have jet lag. The bathroom was bright and filled with a tub shower but had a half hard door instead of a curtain and both a toilet and bidet. Everything about it was pleasing and not garish. The checkin staff was friendly but the concierge Patrick was the biggest help recommending 3 restaurants and a gelatin shop that had great food, reasonably priced and glad to see us. They gave you a complimentary bottle of water in the room to drink. The only suggestion I would make to the hotel is please leave one bottle per guest instead of one bottle per room.Their fitness room was a good size too

Room Tip: I liked the room is in the regular tower the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starwood M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Palace, Milan, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Teresaufaye,

Thank you for this positive feedback!

We are glad to know that you had a great experience here, at The Westin Palace Milan.

Thank you also for your kind words of appreciation regarding our Restaurant Casanova and our staff, we will certainly report your impressions with the departments involved so they can feel proud of their work.

We hope that you will return to Milan and stay with us again, be well until then!

Guest Experience Team
The Westin Palace Milan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Very disappointing two nights stay. We were offered a room on the Starwood floor (7) with a view or, a room on 2nd floor with no view. We took the 7th/Starwood for the view and for the assumed advantage of using our Starwood status. Mistake as the room should not be used it is so very old, tired, worn. The thermostat didn't work and the window only opens a couple inches; we were so hot and uncomfortable. Westin should be embarrassed not to mention Starwood that rooms such as ours are offered (for money or points).
The two concierge men we had dealings with were sullen, not cordial, not very helpful. One was so unkempt I was honestly offended.
The comment from "SimoneB" regarding hookers...we agree. Perhaps this is why we had a creepy man sitting in a chair outside our 7th floor elevator nearly 24/7. I had to know why he was there so I asked him and he told me in English, "I am a bodyguard" and pointed to a room across from elevator. Now we were really turned off with this hotel.
Westin doesn't give free wifi not even to their Starwood elite guests. No excuse for this.
We will not suggest this hotel and will think twice before considering another Westin.

Room Tip: Be sure it is recently remodeled if you have to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starwood M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Palace, Milan, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear kathypeter,

We’re sorry to know that you felt your stay was a disappointment. The hotel is undergoing a gradual renovation and the 2nd floor room you were offered was a renovated room while the 7th floor room you opted for is scheduled for renovation next year so it has some signs of wear-and-tear.
At times the hotel hosts visitors whose political or celebrity status requires the presence of bodyguards. They obviously keep a very low profile and have never caused unease to other hotel guests, please accept our apologies if their presence upset you. Wifi is free for all guests in the hotel public areas and in-room it is a benefit for SPG Platinum and Gold members.
Thank you for letting us know about your feelings on this stay, we do hope you will consider choosing Westin again. Best regards

Guest Experience Team
The Westin Palace Milan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Pro's: This hotel is very friendly. The staff is helpful and knowledgeable. They are always smiling. The location is excellent with very good places to eat with in walking distance. There is space around for walking. The rooms were ok to nice. They were kept very clean. The maid service was excellent. The breakfast buffet was really good. The lobby internet service was free and worked very well. I sat in the lobby to work because the room internet was inconsistent, but was fast when it did work. The lobby is very nice. The work out facilities were well kept and perfect. The bathroom was really nice with massive shower. The rooms are large for European standards. Very comfortable and classy. Business services were excellent. It's a 6-10 EURO cab ride to the town center and Duomo. Great shopping in city center.

Con's: Food was too expensive. A glass of juice was 10 EURO. More traditional Italian dishes would be nice for the bar food. As mentioned in a previous review, there were too many hookers in the hotel bar all the time, but this is the same all over Milan I hear. We walked to the hotel across the street and there were more there. In room internet service was too expensive and didn't work all the time.

Milan: It's Europe, keep your wallet and cell phone close to you at all times. Don't let people get near you. The pick pockets are pro's. Our friends were robbed their second night out. Make sure to stay at hotels that have safe's and use them. This is for general area knowledge and has no negative reflection of the hotel. The hotel had excellent staff and was in a very safe area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starwood M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Palace, Milan, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Marc W,

Thanks for making the time to write and share this review, it provides many valuable insights both to us at the hotel and to fellow travelers.
It is really great for us to know that you found many pro’s and few con’s and we will certainly look into achieving further improvements.
We’re sorry your friends were victim of pickpockets. Milan is no different from other big cities unfortunately: better pay attention when in crowded areas and make use of safety facilities just like you recommend.
We do hope to welcome you back should you return to Milan, be well until then!

Guest Experience Team
The Westin Palace Milan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Having booked through Last Minute I was a little wary because of previous reviews. We had a little hitch as we had requested twin rooms and had been allocated doubles which were in a side annex and a little old-fashioned though very acceptable. We were moved to twins in the main section and these were absolutely stunning. The beds were so comfortable. Buffet breakfast comprising hot and cold is excellent. Pity there is no coffee making facility in the room.
The hotel is in a good location, yards from the Repubblica metro station, 3 stops from the Duomo
or 1 from central station on the yellow line. There is an efficient bus system between Central Station and Malpensa airport. Do go to the Duomo rooftop at sunset.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starwood M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Palace, Milan, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear CrudenBay,

Thanks for letting us know that you and your friends had a brilliant time at the hotel and enjoyed your visit to Milan. We’re happy to know that the initial glitch about bedding preference was sorted out quickly and that everything turned out satisfactorily. We do regret not being able to provide in-room coffee making equipment but it is a requirement of Italian fire prevention law.
You are absolutely right about recommending a visit to the Duomo rooftop at sunset, it is something special.
Best regards and be well!

Guest Experience Team
The Westin Palace Milan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I just landed form Milan where I spent one night at Westin Palace. Nothing much to say about the facility itself but I spent and evening with colleagues at lobby bar and we have been approached many times by hookers. It looked like to be in a brothel! I don't understand how the management of an hotel like that can allow such explicit sex trade within its facility. We have reserved for a company event and I will report for sure to our mkt dept this in order to avoid in future to use this chain. This disqualify my country and I'm very upset with an American chain to allow it in my country when in US they are very strict regarding this topic.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starwood M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Palace, Milan, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Simone B,
We regret reading that you were upset with your stay and that you felt your experience of the hotel and its facilities was overshadowed by the time you spent in the hotel bar on the one night you were in Milan. Behaviors like you mention are certainly not in order at the hotel, nor have we been made aware of their occurrence. We have had very positive feedback by the organizers of your group event, so we truly sorry that your impression was a different one. Thank you for sharing this review and best regards.
Guest Experience Team
The Westin Palace Milan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Formerly known only as the Palace Hotel, this 1927 solidly built structure, located only 5 blocks from the main station and next to the Metro, offers a high standard of accommodation fully deserving of its five-star rating. Room #104, a refurbished and upgraded deluxe room, is especially inviting and spacious at 45 feet in length, with two large insulated windows preventing most sounds from entering this back of the house room overlooking an interior open courtyard with no views. Eye-pleasing color blends, 2 desks, 46" flat screen TV with full HD. New AC keeps room cool, not always present in older European hotels. Comfortable king bed. Large, bright bath with deep tub and separate shower stall. Separate closet with safe. Knowledgeable concierge and friendly front desk. Restaurant is very expensive with few outside choices in immediate area. Pleasant 10-15 minute minute walk to Galleria and Duomo area in this charming and civilized city.

Room Tip: If quiet is important ask for rear rooms. Refurbished rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starwood M, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Palace, Milan, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear jeromeoconnor,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay!
The detailed description of your room and the words of appreciation you used to share your thoughts about the hotel and its hospitality make us realize that you really enjoyed your time here.

We want Guests to feel special and unique when they step into our hotel and satisfied when they leave.
It is a challenging goal, but even simple things like a positive attitude or a warm atmosphere can make Guests feeling better than when they arrived.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you in your future visit to Milan.

Warmest regards,

Guest Experience Team,
The Westin Palace Milan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Palace, Milan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Palace, Milan

Address: 20 Piazza della Repubblica, 20124 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Milan
#46 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#50 Family Hotel in Milan
#65 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#77 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Palace, Milan 5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where you can be at your best. Upon entering The Westin Palace, Milan, we welcome you with sights, sounds and scents to stir your soul and replenish your spirit. Leave the outside world behind and allow you senses to be elevated. You have found your place to relax, revive and experience renewal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets and Splendia so you can book your The Westin Palace, Milan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Palace, Milan Hotel Milan
Westin Palace Milan
Westin Milan
Milan Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Palace, Milan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.